December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Robo Jerks

by SFX - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Not all robots are jerks, but you most certainly are. And do you know who needs to be knocked down a peg? Orpahns. Other robots will try to stop you, so make sure you give them, and the orphans, the business. Crush their orphange before they take out your base!

"Disclaimer":
I stupidly decided to go for a turn-based strategy game and ran out of time before I could do things like make more music, balance the game play, make more levels, make the game not suck, etc.

How to play:
You need to build a robot army to take out the orphanges. Building a robot army requires energy. Luckily for you, your base generates energy, but you'll need more energy than it produces. You can produce tech drones only from your base. Tech drones don't attack, but they can build power plants (more energy production) or factories (used for building actual army units).

Units:
Infanty: Moves far and cheap to produce. Has decent HP, but doesn't hit very hard.
Tank: Decent movement and damage. High HP, but expensive
Artillery: Kinda expensive. High range and damage, but poor movement and HP.
Tech drones: They don't attack. They exist to build stuff!

Structures:
Base: Protect this or die! You can build tech drones from there. Generates some energy.
Power Plant: Generates power for you. Takes two turns to build and become active.
Factory: Creates units for you. Can only build one unit per turn.

Controls:
WASD/Arrow keys - Move camera
1/2/3 - Use ability 1, 2, or 3 (ordered by how they appear in command list)
Left Mouse - Select
Right Mouse - Cancel
Escape - Menu
Return - End turn

FIXES:
v0.1.1 - Fixed crashing on Backup level

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#489Audio2.00
#536Overall2.69
#570Fun2.38
#614Mood2.27
#655Humor1.68
#656Innovation2.23
#687Graphics2.00
#709Theme2.12
#776Coolness45%

Comments

tompudding says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:35pm

The control system was kind of frustrating, the audio was basic and it was tedious crawling over to the enemy base to spend a few turns shooting his base, but with all that it was really quite fun! Good work getting a turn-based strategy done in 2 days.

SFX says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:03pm

@tompudding:

I wouldn't say I really got the game done, unfortunately.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:17am

I was doing so well! Then I pressed ESC because that's what I thought cancel would be! Noooooooooo

Like the game though!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:42am

Good to see a turn based strategy done in two days. The pace is very slow though in the crawl over to the orphanage.

Gazok says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:50am

Very nice. I feel like it could have done with more onscreen cues, though? For example, it took me a while to realise it was turn based :P

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:14am

"An error has occurred that caused RoboJerks to stop working" on 'Backup' level
Aww, I was just getting into the fight too
Was a lot more of destroy the enemies and then free for all on the orphanage, would have been nice if they built more bots too.

SFX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:07pm

@moomoo112:
A bug!? Oh no! And the original plan was to have more bots be built by the good bots, but I ran out of time.

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:31am

A fellow lover!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:18am

It's a functional turn-based game - great job on getting that working. It would have been nice to have buttons or text in the game to help figure out the controls. I was a bit annoyed by the enemy infantry surrounding me before I could even build a factory, but I could still got rid of them. I also got the error on the 'backup' map.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:16am

It was a nice idea. Reminded me a bit of Advance Wars, but it was just executed too slowly. Having to press move and then attack, things being too far away and tanks not being able to move far enough, and I don't feel like the money system was that well balanced.

Having said that, it would be really hard to make a fun, well balanced game of this genre in 48 hours, so kudos.

SirJson says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:17pm

Reminds me of Advance Wars! Nice game!

ceronman says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:01pm

I really like turn based strategy games. This one was a bit slow, but interesting. Theme could have been applied better IMO.

h.attila says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 8:58am

Nice idea, congrats on finishing a turn-based strategy game. I think the player should win when every enemy unit is destroyed, instead of having to approach and destroy the orphanage. I couldn't finish the last level, it just showed that an error has occurred.

wally2069 says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 2:06am

Even after looking up the controls ( which really should be in game ), it just wasn't fun. Too slow and needed a different spin on it.

Jan 1, 2013 @ 8:16pm

I think we had the exact same game idea ;) I feel your pain, but you've crammed a hell of a lot of work in here so nice one!

Jeremias says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 8:25pm

I played through all 3 levels and it was fun. Here the things you should improve:

- Better graphics / GUI
- Balancing (it's too easy to kill them without building power plants or multiple factories)
- The player should win if all the enemies are killed. It's annoying to move the units to the enemy's base ^^

Good job anyway!

leafo says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:18am

The amount you got done is really impressive. I had fun defending my base, did not have fun moving to the enemy base at the end, took forever!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]