December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Viking Life

by Joeslayer97 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Finally finished for once, as I wasn't so crazy with the ideas, didn't have many for the theme...

Controls: W,A,S,D
Reload: R
Pillage: Space (Spam the space bar)

Note: Should work on all platforms (It is made in Java)
Requires: Java 7

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1123Coolness14%

Comments

lando walters says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:20am

It throws me an error :P
could not find the main class:game.LD25 Program will exit

Joeslayer97 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:39pm

You will need java 7

Joncom says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:42am

I found it confusing. I spammed the space bar while hovering over and clicking all sorts of things. It didn't appear to have had any effect.

strong99 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:28pm

Nice idea but I never seem to manage to take the fortress! hey always have way more units :( event hough I had 80 and they 60? Enjoyed it nevertheless :) poor spacebar :D

Joeslayer97 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:45pm

Yeah, you really do need to spam the spacebar like crazy! and be lucky with farms (they give you free troops)

Joeslayer97 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:06pm

Fixed a bug causing canvas not to be focused on start-up

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:41am

I liked it. I took two castles. Second one required created a spasm with my hand in order to press the space bar fast enough. Everything you need for the start of a nice game is here. A quick, cartoony version of a marauding army simulation.

Joeslayer97 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:05am

Thanks! :)

Falkreon says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:55pm

I didn't like how the fortresses just gain people over time - it rapidly makes the game impossible to win.

StMatn says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:14am

Cool idea. Its really hard to get the castles. Maybe you could save many space bars, if they would grow just a little slower ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]