Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Copyright Criminal - BNeutral - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A highly randomly generated game about doing some HIGHLY illegal activities!
Hacking wi-fi networks!
Uploading goat related stuff to the net without owning the rights to them!
Maybe not so much of a villain game, but whatever, still illegal by the current laws and you get shot by the police.

View BNeutral's journal. | View all entries by BNeutral

Ratings

Coolness76%
#54Innovation3.80
#68Humor3.57
#139Theme3.73
#167Overall3.37
#238Fun3.10
#293Mood2.92
#317Graphics3.05
#588Audio1.31

Comments

Nehmulos says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:35am

Really an amazing short fun game.
I really enjoyed it's great humor and the hilarious randomly generated Network and filenames. The graphics also have a nice style to them.

Sometimes it feels a little bit unfair when I just find way too slow networks, but as each game is very short it doesn't really matter.
I always get a thrill when I see a cop coming near.

It's a simple concept, but very well executed.
I really like this one. Good work!

Falkreon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:09am

Found a rather fast, open network, and still couldn't complete the game. Too much random and not enough skill.

suve says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:12am

Short and fun. The controls are bit confusing at first, but it takes a try or two and you're all set. I like the graphics and the humour.

ecool377 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:14am

good.

surpy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:18am

I thought it was very nice, I liked the file names and I thought they were pretty funny. I didn't like how slow the internet speeds were, I thought there was going to be a gold mine one where it would be super fast, but I would look around and then I would run out of time.

BNeutral says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:37am

@Falkreon @surpy
Well, I did fail quite fantastically at the random distributions.
But also a tip: After you find a connection with a good upload speed (since download speeds don't really do anything because deprecated features) you have to move around until you get an optimal signal reception. And also cops are pretty dumb.

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:07am

An interesting concept. It took me a while to figure out what I was actually doing - I think changing up the interface a little would help (maybe have the laptop automatically pop up when you're stopped, tie hacking and network selection to keys instead of using the mouse).

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:40am

I think you've earned a five star in innovation! A really interesting and funny game, a bit hard in the beginning when i didn't know that the police wouldn't shot if you didn't upload. A fun game!

Biped says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:42pm

Really cool idea.

Dioiminik says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:10pm

Great work man, simple concept but yet quite a lot of fun ;)

joekinley says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:11pm

Tough game but really original. I liked the wireless mechanics. Looked good. But these cops were really annoying and hard to avoid. I kept dying :(
Overall a nice little game. Very innovative. I liked your approach on the theme. The graphics were okay, unfortunately no audio at all. Good humor and nice mood. Good job on finishing something.

iiAtlas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:56am

Really fun (and funny!) little game. Innovative concept, well executed.

MichaelJLong says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:14am

Fun and Different, nice one. Could maybe use more instructions?

h.attila says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:25am

Fun little game. I really have no complaints, maybe some music would've made it better, though.

gameXcore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:24pm

Rather amusing game, there is no bigger villain then those evil pirates, think of the poor musicians, they may only be able to afford one yacht this year!

mcc says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:03am

clever concept, and the random network names/stuff you're stealing is priceless. but i feel like this could've used a little different approach for to the execution

Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:42pm

Great idea! Honestly, I didn't succeed uploading that stuff, but I've got a lot of fun trying :)

Nolan C says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:48pm

Nice idea and actually good intense gameplay.

GameRespect says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:30pm

Neat (and weird) idea, gorgeous aesthetic, though it was alittle confusing at first.

Rabbits... says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:47pm

I found this game to be very fun because you have to keep changing between the keyboard to move and the mouse to hack, good job

chrisamaphone says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:49pm

felt authentically clumsy trying to manipulate my laptop while running around.

sometimes i lost for unclear reasons.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 2:37pm

Not only the idea is great, but you also managed to make it fun AND relevant! I think the controls are fine, and the difficulty well balanced. I failed 3 or 4 time, then I won very easily with a great open network. I love it!

laaph says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Fun and cute! Did not manage to upload anything. :(

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 2:01am

Haha nice take on the theme.

Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Interesting idea, though could have used more polishing and some sounds.

After couple of tries managed to find quick connection and upload and win quite fast. Ha.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]