December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

My First Ping Pong Massacre

by Martin Vilcans - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The name My First Ping Pong Massacre was randomly generated by the Video Game Name Generator, http://videogamena.me/. It fit the theme and the game surprisingly well. It's very loosely related to ping pong, but very much about a massacre.

Can you find the hidden enemies? It takes cunning and superior firepower to find their dwellings. The only way to tell how successful you were is to count the bodies after the attack, when you're out of ammuniton.

War has never been this fun.

Thanks for everyones feedback! The post-compo version now shows the kills in the game so it's easier to know what you're doing. I'll add audio too. http://pingpong.librador.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#108Fun3.42
#266Graphics3.18
#310Overall3.09
#338Theme3.27
#409Mood2.70
#468Innovation2.64
#494Humor2.16
#694Coolness48%

Comments

monomanio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:11am

Very cool! The physics are really nice, and adds to the experience. Had to keep playing until i managed to destroy everything!

hypp says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:49am

Quite funny! Where is the goat?

saampahlavan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:28pm

Particles and physics are pretty cool. Needs more of a "game" to it though.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:37pm

I blew some buildings and guessing what sound it'll make, it was fun !

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:43pm

As the other said, the particles and overall response to the shots are nice, but the games feels a bit arbitrary in how it awards points. Could be a little more explicit. But nice start!

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:52pm

Very fun :) I love the burst particles and gameplay

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:25pm

@hypp: (SPOILER ALERT) The goats are in the small buildings closest to the cannon.

boena says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:46am

Nice work! Love the particles and overall action :D Too bad you didn't have the time to add audio. Nice meeting you this weekend.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:23pm

Particle physics are nice (although weird they destroy things?) Shame I couldn't really see any of the things it said I destroyed. Sound would have gone a long way.

SirJson says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:02pm

The dynamic destroying of the world is really cool and is running very fast! You are using WebGL right?

Freakill says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:08pm

Nice particles and graphics, I really liked the race of destruction in the scenario. Really cool.

About the correctness or not about content... I think that we must be capable of distinguish fiction and reality, and despite one could say these games we are playing these days could be a banalization of what destruction and violence is, I think one does not mean the other, so playing this does not mean we are less aware of how bad world is going in some places...

So, good game, good representation of theme, and no problem, in my opinion, about the content :)

recursor says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:09pm

As I was firing salvos at the city I began to wonder why the citizens would allow a giant turret to be built right next to them. I wish you were able to control the power of the shots too, but even without that it was pretty fun.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:17pm

@bradleypollard: Yes, the shards from the primary explosion are explosive and cause a chain reaction. The last 10 shells are even more explosive.

@SirJson: Yes, this is made in WebGL. I used raw WebGL without a framework because I'm a masochist.

@Freakill: I hope you are right that we aren't desensitised. I think most people aren't. It's the weirdos that we should be worried about. And there's a lot of weirdos in this world.

jmaasing says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:27pm

Weeee particles :)

Per says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:06am

Nice explosion effects.
Yay, I killed a lot of women and children! Made me feel evil ;)

doos says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:22am

Pew pew pew!

Milo says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:32am

I liked the physics and it was a fun thing just to watch. As far as gameplay, the slight randomness in the bullets and them changing power during the game kind of threw me off, along with the fact that there was no indication of where the people were.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:38am

Good job here! Let's break this down.

Bad:
-Not much gameness to it
-Shots sometimes hit some pixels in the way of other buildings, and it's quite annoying when they do.
-Aiming can be a bit off sometimes

Good:
+I like the overall premise of it. Trial and error cannonading. Yes.
+I've seen the code for these sort of dynamic pixels, and wow, not simple stuff. Good work on putting it all together.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:59am

Simply - bot much to do - but quite fun, and nice particle fx.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:13pm

disappointed that shooting straight up didn't kill you...

marudziik says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:47pm

A little pretentious, but I don't mind. Regarding your post about it being controversial, IMHO the game fits the theme all right, though it's disputable whether it itself touches the problem of people not being sensitive to war. War isn't a game, amd killing in real life isn't like killing in a game, especially at this level of abstraction. There are no similarities between not feeling remorse over invisible characters in the game and not caring about war IRL.

The execution of the idea is quite good, though there's no real challenge, besides destroying everything. Well, maybe that's the point. The destruction effect looks really awesome and using raw WebGL is really something to be proud of. I would like to see some more gameplay, but I also get what you're aiming at here and that it must've been a lot of work as it is. Very good entry!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 8:07am

Incredible work! I actually did enjoy bombing the heck out of the buildings and trying to increase the kill count which makes me, among others who also enjoyed playing, very much the villain.

I think the fact that the buildings don't have any visible creatures and no blood is spilled upon the destruction of said buildings that the player can't exactly connect with the mass murdering they are doing. It feels more like you are destroying a condemned and empty town.

Still, I wouldn't be surprised if some people were genuinely traumatized by this game. The creator of Missile Command, Dave Theurer, has said that he had nightmares about cities being destroyed while creating the game.

More to the point: The game has good execution, very amazing graphics, and a good use of the theme. Well done sir, well done!

haxpor says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:08am

The explosion of the bullet hitting the building and stuff is fun to watch really. It reminds me to the day of learning riemers's xna tutorial project at http://www.riemers.net/eng/Tutorials/XNA/Csharp/series2d.php.

At first I think, there will be human or something hidden in the first floor or after we banished those building. But no, it's actually summarized in the result screen. After I saw that, well man, I'm a real badass :)

csanyk says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 6:22am

Pretty fun! Needs sound.

bentog says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Good game to relax.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]