Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Cinders - Nick Cash - Jam Entry

Cinders the Bear likes to burn things. With a flamethrower. Rampage through the forests as you hunt down humans to cook for dinner!

Remember, only YOU can start forest fires.

Notes:
- If you want to play with the source you'll need Python 2.7 and PyGame.
- This game is Stephen Colbert's nightmare.
- We use the Tiled level editor which you can download from www.mapeditor.org. I'll be making a video on making levels for this game in case anyone wants to try crafting their own levels to burn.

View Nick Cash's journal. | View all entries by Nick Cash

Ratings

#19Humor(Jam)3.76
#43Theme(Jam)3.90
#67Audio(Jam)3.41
#93Mood(Jam)3.20
#96Overall(Jam)3.35
#118Fun(Jam)3.05
#136Innovation(Jam)3.00
#205Graphics(Jam)2.95
#867Coolness39%

Comments

Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:08am

It looks fun, but you will get a lot more plays if you post a compiled version due to the sheer fact that not everyone is going to want to compile the source code to play.

Nick Cash says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:27am

Packaging right now. I'll update it shortly :)

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:28am

love the idea (especially the Cinders graphic on the main menu) and how the difficulty ramps up. At first I was wondering what the challenge was, but then you added a timer and it started getting interesting

Joncom says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:46am

That was awesome :)

blob says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:25am

Hehe fun idea.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:29am

The game is quite entertaining, but would benefit greatly by having mouse control for aiming the flamethrower.
The fire-spreading mechanic is the most redeeming factor in my opinion.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:37am

This was sick. And fun. Loved the animations and the scream-sounds. Also liked how a burning tree could grow into a burning forest :) Well done!

Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:48am

Burning trees required a lot of patience and was a bit boring. Some screams were a bit too long and annoying buy burning people was fun.

Xgor says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:07pm

Really fun, very similar to a concept I've been working on but this is much more action packed

caranha says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:55pm

This game taught me that trees burn up faster than humans! :-)

The screams! The screams with the tranquil song in the background! And is that the bear laughing that I hear? This game made me FEEL evil - I enjoyed the screams!

A few things that would have improved the game:
- A minimap?
- Some variation in the human sprites

A small bug:
- The game did not close when I clicked the "close window" button

Awesome game, made me laugh! Thanks :-)

caranha says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:55pm

Running humans in flames would have been awesome too :-D

01101101 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:02pm

Really fun ... burn burn burn ... but some controls are weird.

Hume says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:20pm

God, that bear is the worst thing I have laid eyes on this month.

Is that organ grinder music?

I don't think the fourth level can be completed. It seems like the trees don't burn long enough to damage the people they're surrounding.

I am so glad my formative years are over.

raincole says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:15pm

The mechanism based on fire is good. I hope that I can make better use of mouse.

Nick Cash says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:51pm

We did have plans to make humans that evaded you, but we didn't quite get that far. Also, all levels can be beaten, you just have to light fires in the right places :)

Cyboot says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:35pm

nice game and really nice graphics and startscreen :D

The game itself is fun to play but gets a little boring after a few level (for example I almost quit after the second "introduction-level", because it was almost exactly the same thing as the first one).
One thing I learned about Ludumdare-games. Make them short and interesting in every level.

But nevertheless, good game.
Nice Job all of you!

psychopsam says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:21pm

Perfect! Except it would have been nice to have some flow across from one tile to another. The first truly fun game I have played so far. I will come back to this one. I loved the bloody curdling screams. The timelapse was insightful too. Nice work.

csanyk says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:44pm

Good, clean fun.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]