Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny Sorceress

by L - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the wicked nemesorceress Damnatia Malefacula. In the wake of the king's death, you have kidnapped the rightful heiress to the throne in an attempt to seize power in her stead. Now prevent one foolhardy peasant from rescuing her with the help of your flawless deathtraps, and, if those fail, your flawed backup deathtraps. And, of course, at the worst you can draw on your incredibly deadly spells. You'll make short work of him!

Left and right keys: Move.
Up or Z or Space: Perform actions.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor4.62
Coolness57%
#6Theme4.44
#17Overall4.00
#26Mood3.81
#26Fun3.77
#54Innovation3.80
#100Graphics3.78
#587Audio1.32

Comments

monomanio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:52am

This is very interesting, good job :)

headchant says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:53am

Wow :D Really a funny entry. Good job.

Arakade says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:53am

Excellent humour!

Psytew says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:56am

This was extremely unique! Pretty fun too.

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:57am

Plan A and whatever the second last Plan was were my favourite! Loved the artwork. :D

thristhart says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:59am

Wow, this was remarkably charming! At points, not very fun per se, but I was smiling anyway. Totally blew my expectations out of the water. Love the art style, everything is smooth. Some points were needlessly frustrating - ESPECIALLY the deadly pendulum.

Overall: 4/5
Innovation: 3/5
Fun: 3/5
Theme: 5/5
Graphics: 5/5

spolvid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:00am

Made me laugh the whole way through!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:27am

The timing is beautiful. Awesome work!

rylgh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:55am

Your last LD game was great, but this is beyond great.

Porpentine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:56am

This is a great companion piece to Terra Tam

i always look for your game first when Ludum Dare is done

crashbanito says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:44am

The best thing about this game is the sheer amount of variety. It was short, but I enjoyed every second of it. It's unfortunate that you couldn't any audio in there, however.

auhsoj_ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:14pm

Really nice, really funny.

Draknek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:04pm

Loved this. :)

Pity there's no audio, it would really improve the experience.

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:21pm

Had fun. As planned :)

amidos2006 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:49pm

Nice game :) I like it a lot :)

Cosmologicon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:50pm

Charming and hilarious!

surpy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:39am

I really really enjoyed this game. I thought it was really funny.

vrav says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:29am

I laughed throughout. Awesome work.

Tyren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:33am

That's pretty funny! Well done!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:34am

Cutting the rope was fun!

Udrian says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:51pm

Really great game! Loved the story, art and the progression of it! Small, simple and fun!

Andrey Pradun says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:54pm

Great idea! Nice ending :)
Though I'd like it to be more dinamic, it was very funny.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:06pm

The part with the knife was fun! Interesting little game.

angrygeometry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:16pm

i really like this! excellent graphics, really good and well executed ideas. just a damn good game

mcc says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:44am

this was clever and very funny. it's also the closest thing i've seen in game form to playing as a villain in a warner brothers cartoon. nice job, L!

mcc says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:53am

Aww, a happy ending!

I literally typed "This is a good companion to Terra Tam." before looking at the other comments and noticing Porp said roughly the same thing. I think I could happily play another 6-8 Ludum Dare entries along these lines. I did like the feints toward Wario Ware-ism in this one.

It's not really that often you find a game you can honestly say has a good sense of *comedy*, and understands things like comic timing...

-- other mcc

Pierrec says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:11pm

This is very funny, in a quite poetic way. It reminds me Little Nemo books!

SiENcE says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:41pm

Haha funny job! I like this game. Very good ideas and a good gamejam entry. Next time please add sound effects or music, thi swould give a bit more immersion.

AhNinniah says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:42am

It was really fun to play :)

Logun says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:32pm

A very cool game ! Very funny, i wanted more plans !

Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:05pm

Really really neat graphics wise, but there isn't really much gameplay involved ;/

Faust says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:08am

This is epic, I can't stop laughing.

Houly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:25pm

Really great game. Had fun and laughed a little bit. The mechanics and the timing feel very polished.

Dec 26, 2012 @ 7:59pm

Looks like you're going to win the humor category again this year! This game made me smile. Great job!

tomvert says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:06pm

Great ideas, the spider made me laugh.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:58pm

Solid game and visuals. Love the ending :D

Van Merwan says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:49pm

Hahaha, this was quite unexpected. :D

saguaro says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 10:43pm

Very fun, great job.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:58am

Hilarious game! I love the little details you added to interactions and things that happen while you're playing, such as the spiderwebs and the "falling-into-the-mouth" business. Took me by surprise and was really enjoyable. Great work! :)

BNeutral says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 10:52pm

Hilarious!

ilo says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 1:54am

Absolutely brilliant! :)

eli says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 2:28pm

A wondrous experience. Slapstick timing done right, all the way to the end.

Datw says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:39pm

I liked it a lot, really genius. My only complaints are: no music and it is more like an interactive movie than a game. Still, awesome!

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:19am

Awesome game. Some really interesting and funny ideas! I absolutely loved the ending. Make a post-compo and add sound! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]