December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Subterranean Farm Maniac

by jmaasing - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Requirements
This game requires a graphics card supporting OpenGL2. It also requires Java 6 or later installed. LWJGL does not working on OS X with Java7, sorry about that.

The Cavern
The cavern is a happy place, there is food for almost everyone since the mushroom farms are abundant. There are no wars, famines, conquests or death. Well, there is death, but no tradegy, the peoples of the cavern die happy after a full life.

You are the villian
You are the villian, specifically, you are "Famine". You loath the people of the cavern. You want to make them suffer and die of starvation.

You gain points when people die of starvation, you loose points when they die happy.

Game play
When you look at a mushroom farm you can make it burn with left clicking your mouse. Which causes the village to harvest less food, which makes them starve.
When you look at the village you can send them a goat as gift by left clicking with your mouse. Which makes them have more to eat. Which makes them have children. Which makes more of them.... more that can starve.
You can fly around using 'a','s','d','w'.

Visit the project page at http://code.google.com/p/subterraneanfarmmaniac/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#147Theme3.71
#240Innovation3.13
#364Graphics2.96
#469Humor2.22
#474Overall2.79
#478Audio2.05
#517Mood2.50
#619Fun2.25
#742Coolness46%

Comments

scriptblocks says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:23am

Runs on Ubuntu I had to put quotes around the jar name because it has spaces:
java -Xmx512m -XX:MaxDirectMemorySize=512m -jar "Subterranean Farm Maniac.jar"

Freakill says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:04am

Quite funny game, tricky at the beginning to search the equilibrium between population and starvation.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:59am

Nice waters ;)

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:19am

Cool idea for a game. I was happy with it and engaged but perhaps a quick tutorial or even a "tip" for maximising starvations would more quickly engage newbies. A tad more visualisation would be good too but this was wholly adequate for a 48hr game. Well done.

deathray says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:07am

I was confused the first two times I played - I didn't even realize they had all died at first. But I finally figured it out, and it's pretty fun. I like simulation games like this. Maybe it would be good if there were some graphical representation of the population? (I like bars - filled my game with 'em).

dekart says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:36pm

Nice concept

Cabral says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:13pm

My highscore was 128 starved people, and this game gave a new meaning to "You reap what you sow".

It was really fun to figure out, I wish it wasn't so completely luck-based after you've got the strategy nailed down, but I understand that it needed to be simple to fit in 48 hours. It's nice to see what happens when you try different things, like not intervening at all or trying to stabilize the population to make it go forever (it appears to be impossible).

Besides that, the game could use a bit of polish, like a restart button, in-game instructions, music, etc. I think the graphics were fine, though. The sound effects were nice too, but they seemed to become bugged after the game restarted (the burn sound always played, no matter where you clicked).

Like I said, it was really fun! Great job!

Freakill says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:41pm

There is now a Linux version and soon will upload Mac also :) Had problems porting and just discovered it was sound issues, so I had to disable it for Mac and Linux versions :(

jmaasing says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:54pm

Thank's to all of you that have taken the time to try out this game. As you say, the sounds becomes bugged after replay, didn't manage to nail that bug before submission. Also, I totally agree with all the comments. More GUI elements would be nice, a bit of tutorial, fine tuning the simulation numbers and some more effects.

It is open source, if anyone want to continue building on it you are welcome. I don't plan on doing so but I'll help out if there is interest.

blob says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:19am

Original concept. You should explain the goat thing on the main page here. Its hard to understand withing the game.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:11pm

Nice. I didn't understand it at first.

FrederickK says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:03pm

Very complex but nice idea.
Made an instructions for my game to you be able to play.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:29pm

As mentioned before, try to make a kind of representation how many people are alive (as people in the world or progression bars). Hard to figure out what is going on.

Joozey says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:54pm

Interesting concept. Couldn't play it for too long though as jMonkey eventually crashed with an error.

Dec 31, 2012 @ 8:28pm

I enjoyed this entry. I think there is definitely something here. I like the simplicity, although; I think it might be slightly too simple. I would assume that this is only because of your time constraints, and I would imagine that you had plans to take the game further. The engine is nice and satisfying to move around in. I think with a little more work this could be a really interesting game.

eli says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 2:01pm

I love how this game looks!! The tiles are extremely expressive. I'd like to see a more fleshed-out version.

Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]