Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Villain Glance - Evilion - 48 Hour Compo Entry

VILLAIN GLANCE



Be the Villain.
Shoot your peers.
Be discreet.
Be quick.
They become suspicious.
They feel your guilt.
If you get caught red-handed they'll make you pay.


WASD to move.
Left button mouse to shoot.
R to restart.
M to back to menu.
X to mute/unmute.


Tips :

-The red ones are suspicious, they have a larger angle of view.
-Global suspicion increase their rotation speed.
-You turn dark with your guilt, and they tend to look at you.


View Evilion's journal. | View all entries by Evilion

Ratings

Coolness100%
#86Mood3.41
#106Audio3.28
#123Fun3.39
#142Overall3.42
#145Innovation3.38
#174Graphics3.48
#186Theme3.61
#412Humor2.37

Comments

emveyh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:30pm

Wow. That's a very creative idea :) That animation when you get caught is AWESOME! :D But ZQSD for movement? My hand hurts now :(

Jiyko says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:33pm

Fantastic game. Got binding of Issac mixed with the old MGS games.

Would make a game IOS/Andriod tablet game if you beefed it up.

solidplasma says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:34pm

Was very confused by the control instructions, until I realized you meant WASD. Good fun, and looks nice. Is it possible to defeat any of your peers though?

Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:38pm

Why don't you just make a web version? You will lose a lot of players by not providing one. The controls are a bit awkward too on a qwerty keyboard. The idea however is very nice and it is very well presented.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:39pm

Oh just found out wasd can be used too.

someone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:42pm

That was really cool.
Why not add an online version? it being flash.

Evilion says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:51pm

xD yes sorry I just realised that I wrote ZQSD instead of WASD (french reflex !). It's fixed now.

Yesterday the Web version (swf) had some lags so I thank it was better just providing the Windows version. But in fact I just tested it again and it seems that it's not lag too much anymore. My computer was certainly as tired as me last night ! So I added the Web version.

Thank you for your encouraging comments !

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:15pm

Nice simple mechanic combined with consistent art and fitting music.

pereubu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:31pm

loved it 3:

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:54am

love the death animation. I would suggest that the character be a different color or something, he gets lost in the crowd very easily.

Evilion says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:57am

Yup, the point is can you easily find out who in a crowd is a villain ?

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:08pm

I am a very dead villain :)

again and again and again...

kannas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:09pm

pretty neat

berareu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:15pm

Fantastic idea! And so hard too! Great work!

stigmawall says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:19pm

Oooh that's a good idea. You have to continue with it.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:47am

Very smart concept! Implementation is very good as well, with fun graphics and good sound. :)

ahnt says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:32pm

I got stuck when I hit the left wall, otherwise quite okay game

Lashiz121 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:51pm

Thats a pretty great idea and good mechanic it took me a pretty long time to figure out how all this works but its still great

delpes says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:54pm

Wow. Cool Game :) Was able to beat easy and medium. Failed on hard because my hand started to hurt :D Moved to replay folder!

Fireblend says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:55pm

Nicely done! It took me a while to figure it out, but after that it was lots of fun. Pretty original concept, it seems stealth-like games are popular this time around. Great job!

ArkadyDracul says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:58pm

Good entry!

Nolan C says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:28pm

5 stars on mood anyway, even if I didn't quite understand what was going on.

Bullseye8841 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:48pm

Had a great deal of fun with this. Good job!

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:34pm

Very good game. Congratulations.

jerrre says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:56pm

Very nice game! it would be nice to see a score while playing!

Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:02pm

Really cool. The music fits nicely.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:47pm

Very dirty and nasty ! Excellent :) I like the way you have to hide you for killing, walk as if nothing has happened, make a headshoot, and walk again quietly. Congrats !

aare says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:14pm

Very well executed idea. I love the dead animation :P The controls of the gun are a bit irritating though.

mmorphinee says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:37pm

Nice idea. Aiming is a bit hard though

Ditto says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 11:46pm

This was very fun! Is it my computer or is there a slight lag in the crosshair? Hard game, but very fun! Great job!

brantkings says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 3:33am

I liked the idea a lot. Took some time to understand what you should do (because the light coming from people's eyes aren't that obvious). Loved the entire urgent feel to it. It just felt strange that the game is easier with your progression, but other than that, awesome job!

Pierrec says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:07pm

Very cool idea, and it just works well! I had a lot of fun, and really felt evil! I'm glad this game now exists!

Jeremias says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:28pm

Rembers my of Isaac ^^

Sometimes I aim on someone and shoot and the shot doesn't hit him. You should check, if the visual cursor meets the real cursor position :)

Gornova says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:10pm

Music and graphics are awesome, but aiming is difficult to use.
concept is really good IMHO! well done!

Evilion says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:17pm

Thakns for all your awesome comments ! About the target cursor, it follows the mouse cursor, I mean it moves to the mouse cursor with a little latency instead of always being at the mouse cursor position. The shot is efficient just under the target cursor, and not just under the mouse cursor, so it's a bit hard, but intentional =3

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 3:48pm

I was often almost continuously covered in viewing arcs so I had to wait for them to disperse. Maybe start out with fewer peers and then in waves increase their number / base viewing angle?

Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:11am

Fun idea!

Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:36am

This is great. Nice one!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]