December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

P.H.D of Evil

by Verrazano - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What if you were doctor wily from megaman, how would you use the knowledge you gained from evil school to stop megaman - or in this case marines.
--
this is a 2d side scrolling tower defense.

--
this game has a moddable side
you can add your own towers/turrets to the game
you can also make your own levels and custom "heroes"
or creeps.

--
I've cut it really close, 30 minutes until the end of ld so I'm gonna post the game in it's buggy state :) but sinces it's moddable i can add content in the form of a map pack and new towers.
--
to install the dlc unzip it in the root directory with the .exe and click yes to replacing levels.config

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#439Graphics2.76
#447Audio2.17
#505Humor2.11
#523Innovation2.52
#594Mood2.32
#618Fun2.26
#698Theme2.16
#708Overall2.24
#817Coolness42%

Comments

master4523 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:41pm

Hello, the game freezes whenever the first enemy gets near my turret. I'll wait for a fix before voting.

Verrazano says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:52pm

Yea, I forgot to put a sleep at the end of my render cycle so it was hogging quite a bit of the cpu time not releasing any. That should be fixed now - for the most part. For anyone wondering hence forth this was developed on a asus k53e with 4 gb of ram and dual core 2ghz processor.

iiAtlas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:05am

Fixed on my end! Fun little game, surprisingly nice art style. Well done!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:51am

Yep, having the same problem as master4523, the game freezes for quite some time as soon as an enemy gets in range of one of my units.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:54am

Love that intro riff... The sound effects were funny. Took me a few rounds to properly figure out unit placement.

Razion says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:25am

Unplayable due to freezes. Holding off on rating.

Wukkopi says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:27am

Fun game, but maybe a little unbalanced :). Intro song was something awesome!

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:43am

Yeah. I just get a crash and not much else at the moment :/ .

THe main page is confusing, too. I don't see any text.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:55am

turret placement seems rather clunky..

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:06pm

Game lags and crashes early, not rating right now.

Harrk says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:25pm

I had trouble turrets and I definitely had enough money for more. When failing to place one it would have been convenient to be able to continue to find another place for it instead of clicking the turret again. (Or a ghost on the icon would have helped)

The sound effects were pretty awesome :P

TylerJones says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:20pm

Couldn't read text on main screen. Turrets often wouldn't place. A background and visible bullets or even muzzle flashes would go a long way to improving the look of the game.

strong99 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:31pm

The game freezes quite a lot, didn't get very far playing.

kevincorrigan says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:31pm

The game freezes as soon as I click anything on the menu, I'll wait and vote later.

jmaasing says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:37am

Sorry I can't rate, I don't have windows.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:52am

I tried running it in Wine, but between no sound and the unresponsive UI, I think it's doing something wrong. Too bad, since the game looked like a fresh idea!

SuperDisk says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:12am

It's a really buggy tower defense. The text was unreadable and the game crashes when an enemy passes my turret.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]