Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Fortress Keeper - CMaster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A defence game, where peasants attempt to overthrow you, the cruel, overtaxing lord of the fort.

Didn't have time for sound, traps or escalating difficulty, but the core game is there. Hope somebody can get some fun out of it.

View CMaster's journal. | View all entries by CMaster

Ratings

Coolness63%
#505Graphics2.58
#518Fun2.52
#561Theme2.74
#576Overall2.61
#601Innovation2.36
#629Audio1.00
#648Mood2.18
#671Humor1.59

Comments

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:28pm

Nice concept. A little hard to tell the difference between units, and also had a few "swordsmen" kill my shields with arrows. Good start, I think you could definitely make something out of this.

Arowx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:51pm

Nice. Needs a move to command for the defenders.

ElScootro says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:52pm

Good work! Fun and playable. I was a little confused by the starting viewpoint, I didn't realize where my villian was for a bit.

Aswissrole says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:55pm

You're onto a really good game here. I would love to see you further develop it. At the moment it is quite nice but repetitive and full of bugs.

CMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:37pm

@Aswissrole I'm sure some of them will become obvious if I plau a little more, but mind listing the bugs you found (can email them to the contact details on my site if you like)

jerrre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:18pm

A death sound or animation would really help get you more in to the game i think

gilesa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:19pm

The interface for buying units is a little cumbersome. The buy button feels unnecessary. It would be a lot quicker if just clicking on the unit type would buy it. But otherwise, good job!

Zazibar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:46pm

Neat concept and makes for a fun little game. Further development could lead to something great.

CMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:56pm

@jerre
Yeah, definitley. Don't knw much about animating yet though, and ran out of time for sounds.

@gilesa
Yeah, that was a reason for that originally, but I forget what it was now. Definitely worth looking at replacing.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:33am

Just needs a few little enhancements and this could be a very cool game. Still, had fun with what is there already.

Mago says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:55pm

little bugy but still fun game

someone says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:01pm

There is no text in the linux versions which makes it tricky to play.
Good start though.

CMaster says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:19pm

@Mago
Details on bugs would be good
@Someone
Ouch, that's pretty serious. I just used standard Unity stuff - is it possible you are missing some common fonts? Any idea what fonts WOULD be a good idea to use?

Codexus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:49am

Mice little tower defense!

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:25am

Concept is cool. The controls are pretty rough. Scroll was inverse of what I expected, and took too much effort. Placing units felt like it could have been 1 click instead of the extra buy button. Overall good work - keep it going.

AlexFili says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:29am

The animation of the arrows is great, and I like the way the units move. My main criticisms are the lack of instructions, no option to speed up the game or call waves early. It's a great little game though, good job :)

wademcgillis says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 6:35pm

This is great. I spent a while playing this, but was disappointed by the lack of a timer or some sort of score.

CireNeikual says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 1:25am

Fun game! I noticed that I cannot seem to buy items if I have exactly the right amount of gold though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]