December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

You are the Villain... or not!

by Boiúna - Jam Entry

This is our third time in the competition, and we reached a record making this game in less than 7 hours. =D
Hope you all enjoy.

Team:
Gustavo Silva dos Santos
Pablo Alexandre Salgado Nascimento

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#245Theme(Jam)2.81
#297Graphics(Jam)2.18
#307Fun(Jam)1.94
#313Mood(Jam)1.62
#314Innovation(Jam)1.88
#318Overall(Jam)2.06
#930Coolness33%

Comments

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:21am

A lovely little start to the game

would love to see a post-comp version with finesse like auto-restart on death, and the antagonists jumping properly too, and innocent bystanders on platforms that you have to jump too and then they follow you too etc.

jujule says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:52am

There are not enough crates generated. I had a run with only 1 crate !
Also, jumping all the time sometimes make you go forward. Bug or feature ?

stigmawall says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:29am

@jujule i think it's feature.
If you're not jump, they reach you, even if you're just run, you lose speed at time. A good idea, actually.

brantkings says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:34am

It seems it's like ski free, youre doomed from the start. Well for 7 hours its a VERY GOOD GAME, and congratulations.

Boiúna says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:23pm

Thanks everyone for the compliments and feedback, it's very important to us. Actually the jump really is a feature, stigmawall is right.

Bullseye8841 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:55pm

Hmm. I can't help but feel that you could have done just a little more within the 7 hrs. It's a nice start, but I'd really like to see more in it.

pereubu says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:27pm

nice job for such a short time, i think adding a scrolling background ( with different speeds for the layers ) would have added a lot more rythm during the game :3

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:28pm

Good start. Wasn't sure why I was losing pace to villagers while just running. Would love to see them jump properly. Needs more gameplay elements. Add some audio.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:29pm

It's zombie hurdles :D

That was quite fun for a 7 hour job. Felt the zombie was only making it hard for himself; the townsfolk seemed to just run past the crates!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]