December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Villainscape

by Sylence - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a convicted criminal and your goal is simple: Escape the prison. Sneak your way to the exit but don't let the guards see you.

Controls:
WASD to move
Hold space to open doors

Tools:
Visual Studio 2012
Paint.NET

Written in C# with the help of XNA (Runtime included in download package)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#321Theme3.30
#604Humor1.86
#620Overall2.50
#644Fun2.17
#654Mood2.16
#659Innovation2.22
#668Graphics2.09
#817Coolness42%

Comments

h.attila says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:38am

The idea is good, but I would've liked it better if instead of ending the game as soon as a guard saw me, I would've had an opportunity to outrun them, only failing when they actually catch me.

kevincorrigan says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:00pm

Nice game, but it is annoying that it ends as soon as your seen.

calzoneman says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:02pm

I like the idea of escaping, but I wish there was an easy way to start over when you get caught. Also the collision detection seems a bit strange.

Beerman says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:01pm

Collisions seem a bit off and it could do with some warning of when the guards are about to turn to give you a chance to hide.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:02pm

In escape games with guards, the only way to make it really playable is to have guards walk fixed paths with perhaps a few random pauses etc. Because their paths are completely random here it becomes essentially unfair to the player. Also, a guard saw me through a wall.

otus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:37pm

The idea of game is good, but the collision and the path to escape need to be improved. Good work, cool game!

Encircle says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:24pm

Cool idea, but tiling system is horrible and guards move way too slow to enjoy the game.

AdricZero says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:40pm

Like the concept. Couldn't get past guard, or I was too close to him. I also had to quit and restart application to restart game.

Retrac says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 3:33am

I think having a field of view indication would be extremely helpful, as the guards had really wide vision. The guards also moved pretty slow and could occasionally see me through a wall (in an opened cell). As others have said, ending the game when you are detected was a bit annoying. A simple restart upon failure would have been immensely better. Well done overall and good luck on future submissions.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]