December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Complacency

by zacaj - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Yes I know it doesn't make sense.

Game is HTML5/JS based, view via web & ignore windows link

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#449Innovation2.67
#514Humor2.08
#680Theme2.28
#689Mood2.00
#705Fun1.94
#731Graphics1.71
#734Overall2.11
#1027Coolness24%

Comments

Blooperly says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:50am

Weird, but kind of cool.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:52am

As short and simple as it is, I love the mechanic of blocking a drain to exit a room. This could be the beginning of a really cool game if more was put into it!

Cosmologicon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:55am

Hey the instructions say Z to jump, I think it should say Up instead.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:21am

Short, Different and I killed some people nice try ^.^

Zed says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:54pm

...Did I just kill a bunch of astronauts?

h8urf8 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:27pm

I lol'd.

azurenimbus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:30am

Hahaha, I feel this is a very zacaj game. I literally laughed out loud when I got to the end.

It might surprise you, but I actually thoroughly enjoyed it. And I have my own philosophical interpretation, so...

A simple suggestion that I think would add an interesting element of challenge to it would be if there was a time limit, so that you drown if you don't swim fast enough, making it seem even more that there's an exit. I think the effect at the end will be amplified this way.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:20pm

I'm not sure to catch why I'm a villain, but nice work on the water particles.

Raptor85 says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 11:35pm

interesting, the swimming was frustrating though, would have been cool if there was more to it than just pushing the ball in the drain.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]