December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

You are the VLAN

by myachin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#50Innovation3.82
#55Mood3.59
#95Audio3.33
#128Overall3.45
#140Humor3.22
#237Theme3.49
#317Graphics3.05
#358Fun2.85

Comments

soupy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:52am

I cannot figure out what to type in to check my network interfaces. I tried every permutation of that command I could think of. I like the intro, even though it was a tad long for me.

Generally speaking I think parser-based games (like this) are a relic that designers should avoid. For this kind of story without a Parser see Analogue by Christine Love. Emily Short wrote a good essay about the perils of parser-based games, which you can read here (http://emshort.wordpress.com/2010/06/07/so-do-we-need-this-parser-thing-anyway/)

Rabbits... says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:46am

Not really sure what to do here...? but it does look really cool and the music really matches up well...

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:48am

Stuck on network interfaces. Is this game finished? Nice work on the massively long intro. A HELP command would be supremely useful.

Xheis says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:49am

Certainly one of the best entries I've played so far.

soupy, the command is SH INT

Diventurer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:50am

Uhm, I didn't understand what to do when I got to the networking interface thingie, but the game looks really cool either way. Too bad I couldn't get past the network interface command.

rylgh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:51am

type SHOW instead of check for interfaces (SH INT). confused me for a minute too.

too tired to beat this right now but WOW, this is really polished and very cool. love the way you disrupt packets. great job.

hints says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:54am

I found pressing enter with nothing typed in to give you hints at what to type.

The minigames controls are a bit frustrating, especially with how stuttery the framerate is.

Hume says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:54am

I disagree. I love the parser. And it's SHOW INTERFACES.

ZwodahS says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:57am

type "show" to show what can be displayed.

i figured it by accident as well. I think the fact that I can't type "Help" before the "tutorial" is finish is quite bad.

Hume says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:57am

I found the minigame shown in the screenshot ran way too fast for me. But I really loved the feel and execution.

I want a skull glyph in all my fonts.

ZwodahS says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:03am

I hate g6 , the double or nothing game

myachin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:43am

Sorry, no help about SH INT - its bug:(

_Auria after 2 tries in early versions tells about SHOW INTERFACES, but she doesn't do that here...

Thanks for comments!

camdensegal says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:40pm

Nice idea and I love a good pun. The network interface minigame ran way to fast for me to do much though.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:27pm

Awesome ;)

atraxgames says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:52am

Brilliant!

Maristak says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:40pm

Totally disagree with soupys' first comment. This game is just brilliant, and the fact that it is parser-based just add loads of feel into it. I do understand that someone who has never done console setup for routers might not quite get this game but wow, I loved it soo much

BNeutral says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:01pm

Amazing!

h.attila says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:11pm

Cool idea, but I got frustrated when I got to the g6 stage which has a totally random outcome. I had to go back to the first stage over and over again to farm energy but if you get hit by the red security thingy once you can lose almost everything you gathered so far.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:09pm

Eerie and interesting! The music and text from a previously enslaved computer with several references to past and present computer systems evoked an eerie mood. The F1/0 TCP game of walking around and intercepting packets got me moving. If you continue to develop this, do you imagine that portraying the TCP packet interception exercise in something that might evoke the nature of network router might engage me further?

lotusgame says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:38am

Wow ! Excellent game entry ! Very very moody. But very hard to figure out what to type. A HELP command or the possibility to read again the text is necessary. One of my favorites entries ! Too bad the pac man stage is a little too laggy ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]