About | Rules and Guide
ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 7 days, 3 hours, 20 minutes, 58 seconds
  • October Ends: in 8 days, 3 hours, 32 minutes, 58 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 43 days, 4 hours, 20 minutes, 58 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Doctor Spandex - Cássio Eduardo - Jam Entry

    HOW TO PLAY

    Press UP to toggle down/up stairs(this will disable the floor above the stair)
    Press DOWN to crouch(crouch behind the furniture to become invisible)
    Press "S" to jump
    Press "A" to attack(attack the buttons to destroy them)
    Press "W" to throw the Sound Emitter
    Press "D" to shoot
    Press "Shift" to run

    To complete the level, you must collect all the RED spandex and return to the starting point.

    Credits

    Cassio Eduardo - Programmer
    Markus Hanka - Artist
    Tuan Le - Artist
    Lars Dobbertin-king - Composer

    View Cássio Eduardo's journal. | View all entries by Cássio Eduardo

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #34Humor(Jam)3.55
    #35Graphics(Jam)4.15
    #42Fun(Jam)3.52
    #42Audio(Jam)3.60
    #53Overall(Jam)3.59
    #70Mood(Jam)3.37
    #74Theme(Jam)3.73
    #132Innovation(Jam)3.04

    Comments

    DaGamesta says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:55am

    Very nicely done! Best game I've played so far, I knew right from the beginning I'd be giving you a 5/5 for Humor, and the game is actually pretty fun, if hard. The only downer was the stair programming being very... odd. But 72 hours, blah blah blah, yada yada yada, pretty good game!

    valeroth says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:22am

    Awesome game. Loved the style and music :)

    RatDog_Adam says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:34am

    Very cool game, loved the art style!

    brantkings says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:18am

    Loved this game! The style, and the complexity! Great!

    farmergnome says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:49am

    One of my favorites so far.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:08am

    Stair concept I actually really enjoyed. Got through the game all melee. Leaping down from the stairs mid climb was helpful.

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:57pm

    Loved it!

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:19pm

    Humorous and excellent execution of the theme! My only complaint would only be the control mechanism. For a fast pace game, the control scheme in this game is not very nifty

    SirJson says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:14pm

    Great game! But the Controls are not easy to learn. I had often trouble with it ;)

    lucky.luddite says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:15pm

    Killer title screen! Got a little frustrated with the timing of melee hits, but that is probably because I am too slow.

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:46pm

    It was fun-ish, I guess the difficultly levels ruined it a little for me.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:05pm

    I think this kind of game is better played with a joystick, so i had no idea how to map the controls on the keyboard. The controls are good for some(me >_<) and bad for others(everyone else), love/hate situation.

    ramoncb says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:00pm

    Awesome! The mood is pretty cool, the music is fantastic!

    Justin Kibbe says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:52am

    I really enjoyed this game. The main problem was having the game become so hard after tripping an alarm. Also would be nice to have some kind of indicator on what stair climbing state you were in.

    Faust says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:16am

    Really nice sneaky game, the only problem is the difficult control.

    dalbinblue says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:21am

    Very interesting an nice looking. As others stated I as able to get by just on melee, ans did have a lot of trouble with the stairs, and often triggered the alarm with a guard off screen (I know there is a line of vision light, but the cue of an actual guard is easier to see and grab your attention).

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:53am

    Quite fun! Though the controls are a bit awkward since pressing up for the platforming was a toggle when it feels more like a works-while-button-held type mechanic.

    Trying to sneak around was really cool, I discovered late in the game that I could bash the alarms to disable them but I don't think I'd have ever used it. I like to clonk the guards on the head before they can activate it for some reason. You actually made burglary feel like a lot of fun! :D

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:15pm

    Took me a while to get working because the text on the main menu doesn't render on my computer for some reason ^^;

    The graphics are fantastic and the audio is good too. However the gameplay is somewhat frustrating. Melee is impossible and I wish there was a way of turning off the alarm - I didn't see one.

    Pretty a pretty accomplished game overall!

    DragonKN says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:55pm

    I really enjoy the graphics... but the game play, i think that i already play other games like that xD

    ps: spandex haha

    Beerman says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:42pm

    Took a few goes to get the hang of the controls but it was worth the effort. Fun game, the title screens really added to the comic-book vibe :)

    FrederickK says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:02pm

    Loved, but as they said, the controls are very hard to master.
    Liked a lot the music, and the hero guy is really funny!
    Awesome job guys!

    rinaka says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:14pm

    Very nice graphics! I especially like the old comic book style of the title screen (and other static screens.) The "stairs mode" takes some time to get used to but it allows some quick escapes.

    Fun game, I loved popping from behind furniture and smacking down the guards while they were surprised :)

    I only wish it was possible to continue from the last stage played instead of having to start over once you get caught (or did I do something wrong?)

    Darkfrost says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:48pm

    Absolutely awesome! Controls let the game down a tiny bit, but it was great fun! Loved the art style, only complaint is having to start over when you lose a level, should restart the current level :)

    Good work!

    wombatica says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:54pm

    love it

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:12pm

    Well done. The game is quite hard, but playable. Great art.

    youdonotexist says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:18pm

    Is it possible to get a Web/Mac version of this?

    TyrusPeace says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:29pm

    Wow, this is really high quality! Great work, guys!

    This has very good gameplay! Sweet arcade stealth with an amusing number of moves that are all meaningfully different from each other.

    I get the retro style, but it's kind of slow feeling to replay a level in a stealth game to get to the next level again after you lose.

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:30pm

    youdonotexist: I'm working on the Web port.

    youdonotexist says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:20am

    Cassio Eduardo: I'll keep an eye out. Ping me on Twitter (@youdonotexist) if you need help testing/verifying the Web port on Mac.

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:40am

    Haha, really good. Love the art of the main menu. I wish the rest of the game was more like that!

    maiev says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:20pm

    Amazing art, music and humor. It took me a few plays to understand the mechanics though. Otherwise I absolutely loved the comic book feel of the graphics and everything about the game felt really polished.

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:27pm

    Really nice well polished game. Particularly like the graphics! Definitely one of the better ones.

    HeroesGrave says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:50pm

    Nice!

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:31pm

    Cool concept. Like the art and sound. Dr spandex is hilarious. Controls around stairs are a bit janky. Otherwise great!

    JaJ says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 9:04pm

    Fun! A bit complicated at first with all the different things you can do. It was a bit weird that you could hit enemies while standing on the stairs on the floor below, made the game a lot easier.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    [cache: storing page]