December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

A gory Slime

by kivifreak - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Thanks for looking this game up.
It is about a gory slime (gore you know ;) ) that loves to smash other cretures to feel itself big.
Gameplay: You have to move with LEFT and RIGHT Arrow keys.
Smash wolves and bunnies. Though the wolf can attack you from the side! Get as much blood as possible
Oh and the game wont run if you don't have audio output.

I have included both 32 bit and 64 bit for Windows/Linux verions.
The game was programmed with Processing and used Sketch Book, Pro Paintbrush and GarageBand to make the GUI and the Audio.
(bla bla i'm Kevin De Keyser and i'm from switzerland bla bla)
I'm only 15 and i thats why i probably slept 50% of the competition.

Have fun in gaming!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#110Audio3.25
#471Graphics2.69
#514Innovation2.54
#545Fun2.46
#573Theme2.69
#620Overall2.50
#1048Coolness22%

Comments

Freakill says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:10am

Cool procedural trees in the background. At the end the game bugged two times for me, it starter to accumulate the drawing buffer and no more enemies appeared :(

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:12am

fractals are super cool. Couldn't tell from the screenshot but the movement is incredible. Bouncing is fun too - surprised more games don't have that

kivifreak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:26pm

Yeah it has a little glitch :(
Out of memory sadly

Sergey Mohov says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:42pm

It's a neat concept, and I'm assuming you used Processing for it? http://processing.org/learning/topics/tree.html

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:55pm

Loved the trees..

ratking says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:59pm

Very nice audio and trees.

kivifreak says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:27pm

Yes i used processing :D
It was an experiment with the trees. It is also on their learning processing page as you see. Now i now how to rotate radians plus lines XD

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:36am

Made with processing! I've used it before. I like the song and the fractals. I think that the screen starts side scrolling a little too close to the edge, making it difficult to prepare for incoming wolves.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:20am

Good job, but I had the same problem running into the wolves because of having to get too close to the edge of the screen to make it scroll - couldn't see what was coming. Music was well done.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:33am

Nice fractals! Music is also well done. But the game bugged for me also by running out of memory.

mokujin says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:43pm

Step by step gameplay is interesting, but hero is too close to right side of screen.. Love fractal trees)

KevinWorkman says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:21pm

This is a nice start, and others have said, the trees were a nice touch but the player is too close to the right edge so it's hard to control. But everything worked great for me, so great job.

By the way, if you're looking for a better host than dropbox, you might consider the free Processing hosting I offer at http://StaticVoidGames.com. Either way, happy coding!

fishbrain says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Violence, and real-time recursive trees... nice.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]