About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 10 days, 10 hours, 47 minutes, 2 seconds
  • October Ends: in 11 days, 10 hours, 59 minutes, 2 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 46 days, 11 hours, 47 minutes, 2 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    GLORPLAX III - Pacifist Games - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    DESCRIPTION:
    GLORPLAX III is a destructor, a professional destroyer of worlds. Help him guide his Doomsday Drone deep enough into the planet's crust, so he can explode it and cause massive damage.

    Unfortunately for GLORPLAX, there's a 1 second delay between when he presses a button, and when his drone reacts... Will you be able to help him reach his goal?

    CONTROLS:
    Space = Jump
    Left Arrow Key = Go Left
    Right Arrow Key = Go Right
    Esc = Quit
    F4 = Toggle Fullscreen
    F9 = Take Screenshot

    DESIGNER'S NOTE:
    I would love to know how far you get!
    There's a really nice ending scene for those who make it!
    Please leave a comment if you've played/rated.
    I'll try to play the games of everyone who comments.

    View Pacifist Games's journal. | View all entries by Pacifist Games

    Ratings

    Coolness71%
    #61Humor3.62
    #63Overall3.66
    #66Innovation3.71
    #96Fun3.45
    #105Mood3.33
    #160Graphics3.54
    #256Audio2.75
    #346Theme3.26

    Comments

    Blooperly says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:11am

    Best game I have played so far! Great job!

    Datw says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:37pm

    Loved when the drone died. Unfortunately there was a place where I simply couldn't progress, because the spikes would always kill me.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:05pm

    Might have uploaded the wrong build initially, one of the last fixes I made was removing a few spikes that could cause an infinite death loop. The game is definitely completable now. Take a screenshot if you have any issues!

    bitbof says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:37pm

    Nice :)
    I made it through, though on of the spike holes was pretty thin.
    Also you are quite the daredevil for intentionally introducing input delay.

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:14am

    Fantastic, and going against the #1 rule of platformers, input needs to be sharp is risky... but works so well, you have to adjust to using the clicks of the buttons to time things.

    Unfortunately I got stuck at -356 at what I'm guessing is the same too-thin gap other people mentioned, which was a little rubbish =[

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:44am

    I ran my debugger to make sure that room was working correctly, and it is. You need to slide along the wall to line yourself up with the hole. If you hold right for too long before you make the jump, you'll slide into the hole, but then slide right into the spikes. It takes a few tries to get the timing right.

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:39pm

    A great game to deliver very believable situation of what happens when alien want to blow earth up! They have to compensate for the lag!!! Hahaha

    Nice voice acting and animation when the drone dies too :p

    suve says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:50pm

    After losing for a few times it starts to be annoying, but I kept playing mainly for the moans of Glorplax. Input delay is one hell of both annoyance and challenge. The game isn't much, but I can't say I wasn't satisfied with beating it.

    Faust says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:32pm

    Excellent job, I can totally understand how people in NASA treat curiosity on Mars. BTW, I think most of the time, my face is like the alien in the game...lol

    calzoneman says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:46pm

    Good game. I must admit, the input delay was interesting idea but it was pretty frustrating. Graphics were great.

    Falkreon says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:28pm

    Sometimes the movement was unreliable; this was masked by the latency. For instance, the first long drop onto spikes, sometimes I would hold left the entire time and hit the spikes, sometimes I would hold left the entire time and make it. I'd recommend as a developer, playing in a 1-msec latency mode to iron out any bugs related to (or masked by) the latency calculations.

    Other than that, I really appreciate the innovation of the drone latency - I just felt that it wasn't very *fun*. Maybe if the latency started out small (since you're close to point of origin) and increased with depth, that would have improved things.

    csanyk says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:01am

    Mood == FRUSTRATION ;)

    I liked the graphical style. I think you found JUST the right amount of controller lag to inspire fury. Really difficult and shouldn't have been, but if that's what you were going for, you nailed it! I got to -356m before I gave up.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:23pm

    @Falkreon I developed the controls without the input delay and added it afterward. I buffer all of the input into an array then feed it to the player character 60 frames later. While I was able to recreate the situation you mentioned, I can't seem to figure out why it's happening!

    I had originally planned on having variable input delay, but found that when I implemented it, it was nearly impossible to properly time jumps! I figured the game was already frustrating enough, so I scrapped that idea. As it turns out, a 1 second latency is exactly long enough to frustrate without making the game impossible.

    Glad it's causing everyone a bit of frustration, fury and annoyance! I set out to explore the effects of latency in video games and found that generating fury is what it's best at. So I built the game around that idea! I think it's hilarious how hard it is to jump over a single spike or pit with input lag!

    ceronman says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:24pm

    Very nice game. Very challenging. It took me a while to get down the 500m. Nice ending. The lag of the controls is a bit frustrating, but it adds an interesting mix to the gameplay. I wanted to see more of the theme in the game mechanics. But the story is simple and nice. Nice graphics and sounds too.

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:43pm

    Hahahaha nice work on the game :D the Alien is funny xD

    caranha says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:23pm

    It is a very novel idea. And very frustrating, perhaps a bit too much.

    I got stuck at the 356m room, the one with three spikes in a row. After spending almost 4 minutes there, it started to get repetitive and I gave up.

    Cheers,

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:24pm

    Haha, I loved see Glorplax pushing the buttons. The 1 second delay was interesting and challenging, sometimes frustrating. Some parts took many retries, but I managed to get to the end. Nice grin. :)

    pl0xz0rz says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:20pm

    Great idea, and exxecution. Best game I'veplayed there so far.

    farmergnome says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:57am

    Quite liked this one, I thought the input lag was a nice touch, I got stumped but it definitely has promise.

    Tom 7 says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:57pm

    This is great!! It was quite frustrating but the difficulty was right and I liked playing a new kind of game. The on-screen character made all the difference for me. Reminded me of some lagfests playing DOOM over IP in high school, so maybe that's why I was able to make it through. :) One of my favorites so far!

    DST says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:31am

    Using lag as a game mechanic is very interesting! I made it through the first 5 screens, then I lost my cool and went into a fit from fustration, nice game! :)

    Zelen3d says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:11am

    OMG The way the alien yelled when the device was destroyed was hilarious. This was a really nice and complete game, congratulations. And the idea of a lag was good and went well with the concept.

    moomoo112 says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 7:26am

    very interesting mechanic, managed to make it to the end after a Lot of retries

    Patrick64 says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 2:22am

    Loved it! The graphics and level design are nicely done, it feels like a well polished game. I got to the end when the earth explodes and the alien has a cheeky grin on his face. It's a good touch having the alien guy at the bottom to emphasise the lag is intentional. The lag can be frustrating until you get the hang of it, maybe you could have some kind of indicator to show the progress of each movement to make timing easier and then you could take the indicator away for harder levels.

    fishbrain says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 12:24pm

    Looks great, awesome style, found it a bit tricky to control.

    Ed Okonik says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:47pm

    Fantastic game. I kept playing right through to the end. Nice level of frustration thanks to the 'latency' and cool ending.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:17am

    Bwuuhhhaaaaglgl. Made the full stretch. *Obligatory joke about laggy controls* Dare I say the antagonist is sort of cute? Loved the little controller sounds and the faux-terminal graphics. Game had just the right length and difficulty. Nicely done.

    Msquirrel says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:44am

    I quite liked this... I'm tired so, not much more to say right now, but I liked it.

    zompi says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 1:45pm

    Wow. Very hard but very addictive! The ending is rewarding, the villain is cute... Just.. wow :D

    Jezzamon says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 6:14am

    it's funny, having difficult and awkward controls is typically a rookie mistake lots of people make on ludum dare, especially so when people say "They're not bad, that's the challenge of the game". But you managed to actually pull it off! Good job!

    I played this game with a friend and we both had fun playing it. :D

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]