December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Goblin Fortress

by AtkinsSJ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Build and manage your own goblin settlement! Goblins are the perfect starting point for your nefarious empire: They eat, they sleep, occasionally they do some work... Wait, let's not focus on that!

Your goblins can:
* Dig holes!
* Build ramshackle huts!
* Breed delicious goats!
* Butcher delicious goats!
* Eat delicious goats!
* Sleep!

Your goats can:
* Eat!
* Sleep!
* Wander aimlessly!
* Be carried off by hungry goblins!

This was an attempt at a Dwarf Fortress-style management game. I'd wanted you to be able to send marauding goblins to pillage nearby villages, but that was more than I had time for. Whoops!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#141Fun3.33
#169Audio3.00
#173Overall3.36
#178Mood3.16
#187Humor3.07
#366Graphics2.94
#421Innovation2.72
#587Theme2.66

Comments

har_g says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 7:44pm

Nice.

munchor says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:19am

Everything was working fine until all the goblins just froze and I couldn't get any more stone to spawn new goblins. They all just stopped on the middle of my map.

Nice game, though...

drakfyre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:25am

Nice work, love the sprite work! Reminds me of the good ol' days of warcraft!

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:37am

munchor: It's not made clear, but goblins go to the campfire (Looks like a ring of rocks, notably lacking any fire) to eat. If there's no food, they just wait there. I'm guessing that's what happened.

bwdevel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:54am

Very nice sim.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:19pm

Good Job I liked having to get my own stuff and whatnot.

joekinley says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:48pm

Nice game. Overall it was fun to do stuff and watch your goblins do stuff. Although they were very lazy breeding new goats until they had to.
Nice work, had much fun playing it.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:49pm

Very nice. I enjoyed this. Especially the sounds effects.
Pixel graphics for the sprites were great, backgrounds could use some work.
I'd like to be able to lead a goblin raiding party! Please keep working on this!

celeron55 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:11pm

A good start for a strategy game. Any plans to make a more complete version, some day?

myachin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:06pm

nice but where are villains?

boxerbomb says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:02pm

this is one of the best game so far

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:45pm

A game with a lot of potential. But without a real goal it all seems pointless. I really love the sounds though, nom nom nom!

h.attila says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:08pm

I liked the game, especially the sound effects.
I understand that you didn't have the time to finish the game as you originally wanted to, but I still think it could have had some simple goals (like get X amount of resources, raise your population to Y members, etc).

Mava says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:42pm

This is a nice relaxing game, fun to play and watch the little goblin go about his life.

They felt like living characters and that was very enjoyable :)

Well done!

atraxgames says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:21pm

It's a very good start. I hope you continue to develop it.

wzl says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:57pm

Thumbs up for nomnom sounds :D
Cute rts like. Would be nice if you could assign jobs to goblins. Looking forward to the pillaging part of the game. Loved the animations aswell :D

minireview: http://ldmr.wzl.vg/#AtkinsSJ

pighead10 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:18pm

Awesome feel to the game. An objective would have really helped, I didn't really have anything to work towards. Also, I felt as though there should have been music.

huhwhozat says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:57am

I'm sad there wasn't any time to add a goal. Just building up is surprisingly fun though! I love the sounds! Although the sprites were very cute, having the gobbos walk behind buildings really detracted from the experience for me. Even if you didn't have time to implement pathfinding, I'd have prefered them to appear on top. I'm afraid I can't give you much for theme, as all there is at this point is a loose tie-in to Dwarf Fort. Overall, I enjoyed it!

Porpentine says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:03am

i love the freeform nature of this, designing cities in the goblin plains, watching it slowly grow

i wanna play a version of this with more stuff

Norgg says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:15pm

A nice start to something, it becomes a bit easy once you've got a stable source of food and stone though, would be nice to have something to be fighting against. The omnomnom sound is great.

aare says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:49pm

I like when the gnomes make "OMNOMNOM!" sound xD

fishbrain says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:38am

"Nyum nyum nyum nyum nyum" lol
Nice work!

mcc says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 7:44am

didn't get very far, but i liked what was there (and i enjoyed the sound effects)

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 5:06am

Interesting elements in this strategy game. Nice use of the goats, too, one of the best I've seen :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]