Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Maniac: Total Darkness - Ulixava - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ever wanted money?
Well, here is your chance to get some!

In Maniac: Total Darkness, you get to kill people and sell their body parts in the "Evil Shop". With the money you're getting you can then buy new weapons to kill more people!

How to run the game:

1. Extract zip file.
2. Run "run.bat" if you're on Windows, otherwise if you're on Linux or Mac you may run the "ManiacTotalDarkness.jar".

Controls:

A and D to walk,
SPACE to stab (If holding a weapon),
E to open bag, and get into shop,
the rest is explained in game.

View Ulixava's journal. | View all entries by Ulixava

Ratings

#21Theme4.17
#114Fun3.41
#128Mood3.28
#133Overall3.44
#154Graphics3.56
#247Innovation3.12
#262Humor2.85
#539Audio1.67
#930Coolness33%

Comments

vanZeben says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:28am

Love the game! Style and all :D

boxerbomb says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:43pm

This was worth the download! I was playing this game for almost 10 minutes before I remembered that I need to rate it. No bugs or glitches the only thing he could add was music. The art style made it just so much more fun to play

theanprocks says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:03pm

Cool Game!! Love the concept

jerrre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:40pm

Really nice game! Not sure if it was intended that you can not walk for a moment after you stab, but got used to that real quick. Too bad there was no sound (except for that one effect:P)

hints says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:48pm

Was fun for a bit, I might have missed something but the beginning is way too slow.

lorancou says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:51pm

Nice one, just a bit repetitive. Also the difficulty curve is inverted, it's damn hard to kill people with a wooden stick!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:53pm

It's fun but the sound when you hit them hurt my ears and it could have used some music

ananasblau says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:53pm

Sorry but I didn't manage to slay anyone, thus didn't get anything to sell in the shop. Graphics are far too dark, some creepy music would have been nice for the mood.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:55pm

I totally had this eerie little Halloween-type spooky theme in my head while playing this! The pacing is a bit slow, but it is rewarding to get the better weapons.

boxerbomb says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:07pm

i got the laser sword!

boxerbomb says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:38pm

are there any other games like this?

numpad says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:46am

Great game. I loved the dark graphics style. In my and, as I read, many others opinion, background music would've made it better. The bad thing, after playing it for some time, the game became boring, because you were just slaying these guys with some weapons you bought from killing them and selling their body parts. But still a nice game to play for some minutes. Good work, Alex ;)

barigorokarl says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:31pm

Haha! Liked this! Although I had doubts about the flower ;-)

schnerble says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 12:38am

I like the style and idea. There didn't seem any competition, though (unless I didn't play long enough), so there wasn't any real pressure - and nobody seemed to notice people nearby getting stabbed, which may have been better for gameplay, but seemed a bit strange :)

delpes says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Love it :) If you would add some more content/competition and some music i could play this for hours ^^

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]