Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Bad Puppy - csanyk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NEWS: OS X Build is now available through the Mirror site.

You are a bad puppy. Being that you are a puppy, all you can manage to do is bark at people. So, bark at them. Bark, bark, bark! The more you bark at people, the more points you get. Get all the points! But if people pet you, you can't be mean. Don't let them pet you! Bark! Bark, Bad Puppy!

Controls: Arrow keys to run, Z to bark. Alt+F4 to exit.

You get points if you bark at the people. You lose meanness if a person pets you.

Build with Game Maker Studio, graphics done with Paint.net, GM sprite editor, sounds with Audacity, bfxr.

This game was originally conceptualized as "Puppy Hitler". Puppy Hitler is canceled. Here's why:

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/15/puppy-hitler-offensive-to-some-people/

Post-compo enhancements:

1. Bonus pickup system
2. You can press Esc to exit game at any time.
3. Multi-colored sweaters.
4. Some added variety to the barking.
5. Female persons.
6. Person skin color now has variety.

View csanyk's journal. | View all entries by csanyk

Ratings

Coolness100%
#70Humor3.55
#274Fun3.04
#312Audio2.57
#426Innovation2.71
#450Theme3.00
#490Overall2.76
#526Mood2.47
#636Graphics2.18

Comments

John says ...
Dec 15, 2012 @ 7:12pm

My favorite <3.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 6:34pm

The story was good !

deathray says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:39am

Pro: Funny game, funny concept, funny instructions, cute dog
Con: Wish there was a way to exit the game; also a way to break free from a petting, background is boring

csanyk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:52am

Alt+F4 exits the game. I'll add a more obvious control to the game in the enhanced version.

When you're getting petted, you can just run away. If you get petted too much and start wagging, the game is over.

h.attila says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:28am

I liked your original idea better, but I understand why you dropped it.
The game is still funny though and your interpretation of the theme is definitely unique.
I think some backgrounds and goofy music would've greatly improved the game.

csanyk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:40am

Thanks, h.attila. I hope someday to not suck at music. I tried making some but it just didn't come together, and rather that put something in that didn't fit the game, I decided to omit it.

peggiosoft says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:47am

is it compatible with kinect?

Neonlare says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:12pm

Wasn't quite sure what the gameplay mechanics of this was supposed to be, and trying to close the game crashed my entire system. Seemed pretty funny though~

csanyk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:17pm

peggiosoft: no kinect support.

Neonlare: You have to be facing a person and close enough for a Bark to register on your score. If a person gets too close, they will try to pet you; if you get petted too much, you stop being a villainous puppy and the game ends.

I'm not sure what to say about the crash, if you can send me any information that might help diagnose what happened I'll try to look for a solution.

shatterhand says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:36pm

Liked the idea. I love dogs, it makes me like the game more :)

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:55pm

I think you should've been able to sh*t on the carpet.

- You should've added in the game itself to press Z to bark, first time I was confused as what to do.
- Some alternative actions ;) would've been nice.
- It's a bit too simple in my opinion, but I see what you're trying to do :P
- Quitting and restarting aren't obvious.

csanyk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:11pm

Gemberkoekje: That's a good suggestion about in-game instructions. I can add a message to tell the user how to play. It's explained in the Instructions screen, but I guess people might not go there or feel like reading.

I like the simplicity! I would consider adding more actions to the game if it improved the game. I did add bonus pickups to the post-compo edition, which I think helped make the game a little more interesting. I'm sure there are probably other things I could do as well.

Manest says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:15pm

hard for the system. Windows was near to crash

It's fun but little repetitive I think. Need more gameplay, like poo :)

csanyk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:34pm

Manest, what are your system specs? It runs fine on my 5+ year old laptop.

BipolarMike says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:44am

I herded the humans all into one meta-human and scored TONS OF POINTS WOOF WOOF

Needs more to the game, but was definitely entertaining!

pikmin4000 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:43am

Wow this is one of those games, with just a little more polish, it would turn into something great. The gameplay was real addicting.

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:33am

The game mechanic is interesting. I think the art could use some work though.

derdragon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:56am

I would probably do a lot better at these things if I could think up concepts as simple yet rewarding as this.

Bravo! :)

csanyk says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:13am

BipolarMike: You seem to have hit upon the winning strategy. No wonder dogs are good herding animals.

Dmitrix: Thanks:) I struggled a lot with doing a walk animation for the first time on this game, and ran out of time to do better art.

derdragon: Thanks! =D

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:51am

I really didn't think this game would be as interesting as it was! I really like the mechanics, but the game could still use a lot more polish. Really neat entry. :)

fishbrain says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:29pm

lol!!... that is awesome! i had fun!

Amos Wenger says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:24am

Although simple, a very nice entry in my opinion. Loved the voice acting at the beginning :D So dramatic! Wished there was more.

Of course I wish there were more actions: how about biting? And I wished the percentage of naughtiness increased if you don't get petted for a sufficient amount of time.

I'm also sad that you had to censor the game for your friend. Back then I saw the name of your entry and thought "Yessss! Someone dares to do it." (Couldn't do it either because my teammates opposed to it..)

Anyway, good one, keep going! See you next LD :)

mokujin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:38pm

People animations is so funny xD

Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:46pm

Ha ha! I couldn't exit it, and I nearly shouted bad puppy! Great craic, cheers!

Maple says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:57pm

Hahaha. I hoped this would be good, after your dramatic reading of the title, and the humour held up. A rather short experience, but damn. I could barely be much of a bad puppy. Also I had to laugh when some guys were patting me and I was facing the other way, and it just looked like they were shaking their hand at my tail, lol.

azurenimbus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:06am

Gotta say, I fell in love with this game. Such an original idea. Incredibly simple, but very engaging. One of the ones I liked the most so far.

Nicely done!

metadept says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:59am

Best 15 seconds of my day, hands down.

stigmawall says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:17am

I'm afraid of this people who wants to pet it.
The game have your creativity potential. Like it.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:04am

The sounds get a little repetitive when you're button mashing like Takahashi Meijin.

Funny to watch when he can't bark anymore and the puppy is being petted; it's like he gave up being evil because being petted felt too good, haha.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:19am

Too much fun. And very cute :) The gameplay graphics are perfect for what it is. Thanks for playing our game too!

char68 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:56am

Funny concept. I always love the professor chaos "evil but not really evil" style.

Patrick64 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:01am

Good story, it's fun keeping distance from the people coming to pet you. though it's easy to fly off the screen, maybe the camera could move with the dog to keep it in view.

csanyk says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:34am

Patrick64, you should wrap around to the other side of the screen if you go off the edge. Is that not happening?

Nick Cash says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:43am

Any game that gets some real lolz irl is good to me :)

ddionisio says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:33am

Pretty good game and fun. Kinda hard to get away when you get petted. It wasn't clear that it's all over. It's good that you made this game. In fact, to me personally, it turned out better and more subtle.

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:14am

Bahaha I liked this quite a bit. Running my puppy through the gauntlet of pettin's was surprisingly exciting and fun.

goerp says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:02pm

Haha great! The opening picture was already a winner for me, but it was fun to play and the idea just brilliant.
It was just the right lind of dog, the people were of the nice friendly kind.
I'll download the postcompo version now

goerp says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:05pm

update: after playing the post-compo: I liked the original bark better, but the other improvements I like

Kenaron1703 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:14pm

It's a good game, but the people got lagged on my screen TT.TT (I'm using Windows 7)

Jeremias says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:56pm

Fun idea. Just add some further gameplay mechanics like proposed in the comments above.

Encircle says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:25pm

It was fun, but the original idea was much better.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:36pm

That there is a bad puppy, yes indeed. My thoughts on the compo version:

Bad:
-Lacks just a little bit of polish to put it over the top.
-The idea that you have to face someone to bark at them isn't quite clear.

Good:
+It's kept nice and simple, and the gameplay is charming.
+You have an instructions screen. If you had months to make this game, that'd be a bad thing, but for 48 hours it adds a lot. Quite impressive.

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:11am

I like the voice of the people. They sound sincere!

Pierrec says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:44am

This is surprinsingly fun and innovative! I loved it!

Xavier says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 8:01pm

Can't download the game. Can you check/fix this?

csanyk says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 5:58am

Xavier, download seems to be working. Try again, or try the mirror. If you're getting an error, let me know what it is & I'll look into it.

Xavier says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 5:01pm

Ouch! I only see a blank screen on a virtual Windows 7. I'll try to port your game to Mac OS X, if you don't care.

Xavier says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 5:07pm

It works perfect on Mac OSX :-) I enjoyed your game. Truly funny!

csanyk says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 10:26pm

Xavier: Cool! I'm unable to make OS X builds because I lack a Mac to build on. If you want to post the build somewhere for others to download, I'll put a link up to it from this page.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 6:06pm

Your mirror link is a link to your own dropbox folder, so if I click on it, I get an error saying LD25 dir doesn't exist.

jackspinoza says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 7:14pm

fun on a bun, quite inspired really. Observant, every-puppy game.

csanyk says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 7:29pm

zenmumbler, thanks for pointing that out. I just fixed the dropbox link, so please try again.

GameRespect says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 10:13am

A simple (though weird) game. Had fun with it. Liked the sound effects!

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Ha! This made me laugh. Feeling like I'm being chased by maniacs who want to pet me is probably exactly what a real puppy feels like sometimes. You could call it a bug that the humans do not respond at all to my barking but that effect makes the whole thing more twilight zone-esque and it adds to my feeling of helplessness that that is the only thing I can do. I'm in puppy-hell!

csanyk says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:56pm

zenmumbler, actually if you bark at humans enough they should run away. It takes 3-6 barks to scare someone off, and you have to do it while they're close enough, but if/when you manage to do that it should be fairly obvious.

Datw says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:22am

I usually hate everything dog-related. But I kinda liked your game. Telling the truth, I thought the dog would need to poop when he was being walked.

JaJ says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Nice twist on the theme, exploring if it's a person's actions that make them 'evil' or their character/ nature.

Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:23am

Nice entry! The animations looked odd and fun at the same time.
Loved the "baaad puppy!" intro: Sounded like American wrestling fight intros. :D

csanyk says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:23am

Thanks to all who played & rated my game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]