December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Be the Villain

by Digitalduck - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game you are a burglar who is going to rob someone's house! But watch out, you only have limited time!

Thanks to Arkeus, for the amazing Axel framework!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#91Theme3.84
#107Graphics3.75
#242Audio2.79
#269Mood2.96
#330Fun2.90
#334Overall3.04
#410Innovation2.75
#413Humor2.36

Comments

wademcgillis says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:42am

A little difficult to control.

Burgle was executed far better than this. mattfoxgames.com/Burgle/

kulhajs says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:06am

Took me a little time to get to controls, but once I did it was great! good job

amassingham says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:06am

Music should totally be more Twin Peaksy : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DF43b38k0Mw

Neat though. Id love this concept to be fleshed out.

Meep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:09am

I like the art style, but feel the gameplay was very repetitive. It seems like it could have used something to avoid while robbing the place.

tumoxep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:09am

Awesome. But I find out that levels repeats itself (maybe it's a firefox problem). Anyway, five in all fields.

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:09am

I enjoyed playing your game. A bit short, but this I can understand ;)

hints says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:13am

Fun little game. Maybe should be called Steal the TVs?

LucaPavone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:39am

There's a bug where the music plays again after you try another level or restart a previous one due to not meeting the cash goal.

Maybe a secondary thing to worry about would've made things a bit more enticing.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:07am

This is a great game very enjoyable for all :)

bugninja says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:03am

I was putting stuff in the truck, but my time kept running out. I must have been doing something wrong, but I couldn't tell what. The sounds were cool, and the graphics were fun. The background tripped out a bit tho, it turned into triangles once I jump off the truck. ?

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:07am

Great artwork, I would have made the audio sample a little longer and the difficulty curve slightly shallower.

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:01pm

On my first attempt, the burglar was floating in the air. The second time I was able to play. Fun game!

raincole says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:02pm

I start looking forward a longer game in this genre:)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:10pm

Fun game and great art, but some levels are really unfair.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:30pm

I like the graphics, though the stages were bit unfair and were mostly just about stealing tvs as quickly as possible. Perhaps this could have used bit more time?

Digitalduck says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:28am

@AdventureIsland yeah, i needed to create a lot more stuff.. But 48 hours, you know :P

infernet89 says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:13pm

Very nice game! More objects and more level (and maybe some obstacles, like guard dogs or something) will make an awesome game! Upvoted :)

aeveis says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:29pm

Interesting concept! It was nice to have figure out to steal the more expensive items before time ran out. You could build it out more and see if that goes anywhere. It would be nice to see what happens if you get away vs when you are caught, and also if there were more expensive-ish items so it was harder to choose what to steal (other than the TVs).

Norgg says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:17pm

Nicely executed in general, although making the item values random makes the difficulty vary wildly. The first time I tried level 2 I felt like it was completely impossible because the TVs were valued very low, the second time I passed the level on the 2 TVs alone.

caranha says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:22pm

Very interesting concept, and nice graphics and polish. I wish there were more than two levels!

I don't like that the prices vary between two items with the same image - since you are limited by time, it should be possible to have a more accurate evaluation of price just by looking at what is available.

But thanks for the game!

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:00pm

be the buglar! Steal the TV sets!

Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:01pm

I think it would be nicer with a few more seconds on the clock, so that you can really enjoy the nice graphics and get a better feel for the house. It would be fair to also increase the target $ amount as well, but also maybe make his walk speed just a touch faster.

Not bad overall!

Dec 27, 2012 @ 6:44pm

Enjoyable game, thank you! Was the amount of time available random or related to the level size? I couldn't read the between-level text because I tapped space to offload the stuff at the inopportune moment a couple of times. Feel some kind of threat (other than the countdown clock) would have added to it. Love the graphics and the piano muzak ;)

schnerble says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 4:16pm

A good idea, but needs a bit more time and tuning. The only winning tactic seemed to be to steal all the TVs first. Maybe having the owners come back after the time limit could've made things more interesting - but yes, I know the competition is always a rush! Sound and graphics are both pretty good :)

Markavian says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Good concept, but really difficult. I noticed the stuff to steal has random prices, but the timer it made it way too difficult. Really cuts the game play down to no fun at all. There wasn't much choice in what to steal, no real challenge, just blind pot luck.

Gornova says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:51pm

nice stealing game, too much gameplay empasis on run around :(

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 2:32am

This is really charming. Loved the graphics and sounds. Fun experience!

Jan 6, 2013 @ 2:10pm

I really enjoyed this I loved the music especially

Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:26am

The music wasn't quite right for this game. Would have wanted a more tense one, Ocean's Eleven style! :D Nice game though!

ahm99 says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Sometimes the items don't give you enough money and then it's impossible. Pretty fun though. Nice job :)
Maybe you should make a post-compo called: TVs begone!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]