December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Picker Pocketer

by Kuulog - Jam Entry

A game where you play as a pickpocket, whose name just happens to be called 'Picker Pocketer'.

Use the WASD keys to move around, and press space when you're behind them to start pickpocketing. Press the arrow keys in the correct sequence to successfully steal that person's money. If you make a mistake, or run out of time, the person will run away, and you may have the old bill on your tail.

Hold down SHIFT to sprint. Beware, you'll sprint slower if you've pickpocketed a load of people, and avoiding the coppers will be harder.

Tools used:
IDE: FlashDevelop
Framework: Flashpunk
Graphics: Paint.NET
Sounds: Bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#31Theme(Jam)3.97
#40Innovation(Jam)3.56
#71Fun(Jam)3.26
#91Humor(Jam)3.07
#92Overall(Jam)3.36
#179Mood(Jam)2.76
#195Graphics(Jam)3.00
#231Audio(Jam)2.15

Comments

TheCze says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:28pm

Pretty hard game but I enjoyed it!

raincole says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:52pm

easy and fun. I hope it to be trickier to escape the police.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:55pm

Fun little game. It puts a spin on quicktime events. :)

zompi says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:08pm

Quite too easy but fun. Guitar hero for pickpocketers :D And the crowd "simulation" is very neat thing.

rxi says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:14pm

The best pick-pocket game I've played this Ludum Dare. Pip pip.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:23pm

cool game! i like the concept. i think there is bug when pressing arrow keys to fast your game miss some hits

7Soul says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:24pm

Not bad. I found a glitch though. If I get the last button right when the time runs out I get the money AND the person screams "Thief!"

Niki says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:40am

Yes! 1975£! I've got the highscore :D Really nice idea! I was so fast, that the policeman couldn't catch me :D

dek says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:23am

The idea is pretty sweet and I liked your way of implementing the pickpocketing. it requires skill, just like it would in real life! Nice.

PapyGaragos says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:10pm

my ears are bleeding, but the game was fun enough to keep me for a few minutes :)

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:39pm

Feels like I'm playing FF X and doing Auron's overdrive all the time :)
Quite fun. Maybe to difficult to perform the sequence. The speed could increase with time instead perhaps?

agumaster says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:49pm

very addictive XD. Keep like this

Darkfrost says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:35pm

Nice job! Took a simple idea and executed it well! I have no idea how you chose your timing for the button presses, but it seemed pretty much perfect, although it might've been nicer if you started it easier and gradually made it harder!

Mase says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:01pm

The plaza is a little sparse; it could use some Henry Moore bronzes, to be scrapped for bonus points.

monobo says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:14pm

Good one, liked the challenge, but managed only 2 picks.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:45am

Love the stealing-mechanic! It does get my heart punmping

Cryovat says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:12pm

The quick time events were a bit too quick for me. I would have liked to see more distinction between types of "marks" (risk in terms of qte speed/reward).

Apart from that, it's a fun concept and nice implementation. :)

hadesfury says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:10pm

quite fun, even if pretty hard, some challenges is quite vilain ^^

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]