Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Fisticuffs - SiENcE - 48 Hour Compo Entry

'Fisticuffs' is an ICE HOCKEY brawl game for 2 Players!

First serve first comes? | Is the luck on your side? | Who knows the winner?

Fisticuffs is not a real game, but rather a simulation where you can bet for the winning team. Fisticuffs is a so called Meta-Game.

Pussies are working as team, where dicks are lone wolfs. Dicks are proactive, where pussies are reactive.

The only thing you can control is the spawning time of your team members. So take care!

1st Gamemode
------------
If you choose to play on keyboard, all team members spawn at their team location.

2nd Gamemode (advanced mode)
----------------------------
If you choose to play with mouses, you need to connect a second one to your Computer. Players can place thier team members directly on the ice hockey field. Only use your Teams Mouse Button!!!

Controls
--------
TEAMS

PUSSIES: 'left-alt' or 'space' or left mouse button

DICKS: 'rshift' or 'return/enter' or right mouse button

f - fullscreen

esc - quit

--------
Developed with Love2D, Love2D-Webplayer ( HTML5 / WebGL / Chrome / Firefox / Opera ).

View SiENcE's journal. | View all entries by SiENcE

Ratings

Coolness65%
#278Audio2.68
#301Innovation3.00
#320Humor2.67
#492Graphics2.63
#670Mood2.11
#685Overall2.33
#695Theme2.18
#714Fun1.91

Comments

Crimsoneer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:05pm

Okay, it's nice and polished, but I have no idea what or how you're meant to try and win, beyond just spawning everybody.
Also, did you make that crowd noise during the compo? Because I'm sceptical.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:46pm

I reworked the crowd noises as i wrote in the included readme :).

It's a betting game. You have to find out how to spawn the players to win the game. It's well balanced and there is only a minor chance to win with the same team again and again. It's a so called META-Game :)

Digiraze says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:39pm

Good drinking game =)

Mava says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:53pm

It was fun seeing what they would do to each other...nicely done :)

daredevildave says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:31pm

The webplayer worked the first time, but doesn't seem to work anymore.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:34pm

Chrome and Firefox have some problems reloading WebGL content. Try to restart the browser if it hangs. Sry.

NuSan says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:21am

Realy strange, but fun to see them fighting.

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:00pm

Mom!! There is blood on the internet!!
Fun entry.
Would be even more fun if you could control the players a lot more :)

SiENcE says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:06pm

Thanks :) ! I'm glad you enjoyed watching the fights. Yes i'm really thinking about a POST-compo version. Where you can choose Players for your Team and bet Money on them. Or maybe Coaching functions.

voidstar69 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:37pm

Interesting game. I like the idea of not having any direct control of the players, acting like a manager of the team. Excellent background sounds.

illugion says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:57pm

The crowd sounds are so weird XD but the game is well done

juaxix says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:53am

The idea is a fight... you need to add a lot of gamification to this...

SiENcE says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:05pm

Hm not really.

The idea behind it's some kind of meta game. So it's not a game for a player ... but hey it's a game with rules and a chance :).

juaxix says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:17pm

Thanks for the explanation, this year you are doing some really good games, and you are improving a lot with LÖVE but you have to admit that, and we all know this... you can make a better and amazing game!

juaxix says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:17pm

LOVE2D
*

timtipgames says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:09pm

I really like the visual style, but I think that there is not enough possibility to influence the game beyond pushing your button. Or to put it different: Maybe there is an interesting way of "playing" this game, but than the "rules" on how the spawn timing influences the game-play are far too difficult to discover (at least for me). It's unclear who wins a duel once two players start fighting and under which conditions. If I had known that, I would at least be able to decide what kind of "meta-game" strategy would be beneficial to me. Don't get me wrong, I really like the idea of an indirect game-play through some kind of meta-game, but I just miss knowledge of the rules that would make it work here. Maybe add some more guidance? :) If its all random, it still makes a perfect drinking game :)

SiENcE says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:45pm

timtipgames thanks for your critic. I know that an intro screen explaning some rules of the mechanic would be nice, but i run out of time, because i started on the second LD day. So i had only ~12hours to make this. Thanks for trying :)

michax says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:53pm

Hehe made me laugh :) Thought didn't know what to do to win :P I just watched dicks getting owned by pussies. Enjoyable enough!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:01am

Completely pointless and violent... love it! :)

davidwparker says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:52pm

Yeah, I also had no idea what to do beyond spawning guys.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:31pm

Please read the text above :)

Zelen3d says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:35am

This is one of those games that make you go WTF. It seems that there are alot of games like that in the current compo. Interesting...

goerp says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:32pm

haha, German hockey players "AUA".
Funny one. Like it when it ends in a draw.

Dec 30, 2012 @ 6:02pm

Not sure how the actual fighting works besides just spawning everyone and watching them beat the crap out of each other, but the sounds made this really hilarious!

Raptor85 says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Not much to do really, innovative but could have used some gameplay to it, didn't really see how it related to theme.

leafo says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 6:04am

I wish I had more control over what was going on. The graphics were nice though, I enjoyed the blood effects and the speech bubbles. The motions of the skaters looked convincing enough.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]