December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Le Chasseur

by Quarry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the Hunter, you crave for blood and hunt the people of the city to feed your hunger.

The instructions are handed to you at the beginning of the game, that's all you need to play. The game is highly skill based and takes some time to get used to, you also have to manage your money carefull in order not to die due to lack of a vest or spare ammo.

MAKE SURE YOU PUT BOTH THE JAR AND THE NATIVES FOLDER IN THE SAME DIRECTORY WITHOUT RENAMING EITHER. POST CONSOLE OUTPUT IF IT DOESN'T OPEN AT ALL.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#329Graphics3.03
#453Overall2.82
#460Audio2.13
#505Mood2.53
#518Theme2.87
#553Fun2.44
#628Humor1.79
#633Innovation2.27

Comments

Dec 16, 2012 @ 8:52pm

That was hard as all hell, if I played it right.

Tobias Wehrum says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:29am

I like the looks of your entry! I have a lot of trouble playing it though - I'm not used to WASD directional to the mouse pointer. I'd really prefer W always moving upwards on the screen...

Quarry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:10am

I know the control scheme might be hard to use for some people but the normal N/W/S/E for WASD didn't feel right for the game

burtlo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:31am

I am not able to download the fire with the provided mediafire link. Windows informs me that the archive is corrupt.

Scott McBee says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:31am

MediaFire won't let me download your game.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:31am

I can't download the file. Mediafire gave me the following message:

"The file you attempted to download is an archive that is damaged or possibly encrypted. MediaFire does not support unlimited downloads of broken or encrypted archives and the limit for this file has been reached. This file may only be distributed from a premium account."

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:17am

Use dropbox

ddionisio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:31am

Getting this error trying to download: "The file you attempted to download is an archive that is damaged or possibly encrypted. MediaFire does not support unlimited downloads of broken or encrypted archives and the limit for this file has been reached. This file may only be distributed from a premium account."

Quarry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:11pm

Extremely sorry about the inconvenience! Updated the link

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:18pm

:) Very Interesting game.

Quarry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:19pm

Thanks!

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:21pm

It's really hard !

Quarry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:23pm

I hoped that the description clarified that lol, a quick tip would be to try to predict the moves of citizens and them from a distance. You can also grab hold of briefcases, run and get some gear to make killings easier

Puffi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:34pm

Liked the graphics, but the game was extremely hard (or I missed something completely).

The game crashed once on me after I died and tried to shut down the game.

Dump here if you want to check it: http://146.255.37.150/puffi/random/hs_err_pid2832.log couldn't reproduce the crash.

Took a while to get used to the control scheme and weapon being unequipped every time it was reloaded.

Nice work none the less!

Quarry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:36pm

I'd related that to your JVM installation

HardScore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:37pm

Its hard to control the player.

Quarry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:47pm

I thought that this scheme was the best for a game that requires you to quickly dodge bullets, the classic udlr wasn't good enough

schnerble says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:48pm

The controls are a bit confusing, with W going towards the mouse - and the keys are tricky when using a mouse left-handed (as I do). Looks like some interesting ideas, though; the shops give it a bit of variety.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:49pm

Pretty hard game. Liked the visuals, the accuracy penalty when moving was pretty nice too.

Quarry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:50pm

@schnerble I never thought of lefties, very sorry :d

@DBS I think that when you run and shoot, that's the realistic way to go

lorancou says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:03pm

Nice minimalistic game. Love the graphics. A bit too hard for me, couldn't kill anybody! Ah and no restart key? Or dis I miss it?

Also next time if you use French for your title, try to also support AZERTY keyboards. It's just a matter of mapping Z to W and Q to A ;)

Quarry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:10pm

I'm not even French, the guy you are playing is French. Everything criminal sounds better in French

zzForrest says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:39pm

It didn't want to run, I don't know why. Sorry, couldn't play this awesome looking game.

Quarry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:44pm

What was the problem? Did you extract both the jar and the natives?

Logun says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:46pm

On my computer, the window opened and closed instantly when I double clicked on the .jar :/

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:47pm

Control scheme was a little off but nice graphics!

lorancou says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:04pm

@Quarry if you say so! "Bien joué". Also: Solaris? Whoaah, this is some nice exotic OS support :P

Quarry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:07pm

Well LWJGL natively supports it so it just "automagically" supports solaris

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:32pm

I liked the Display size it was different from most other games which gave it an orignal look. The graphics were good although there was not much sound which could have improved it further. It was also really hard and it didnt look like there was much way to improve.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:34pm

Memories of Mission: Impossible for the NES! The controls, like in the NES game are hard to get used to and it's very hard. This perspective + control system isn't used very often, kudos for trying.

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:19pm

Unfortunately I the game won't run if I double click on it. I've tried to run it from command line and I get an error:

org.lwjgl.LWJGLException: Pixel format not accelerated

I'll try it again later on a different computer

Quarry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:25pm

That error is caused by your PS version not being high enough, afaik

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:58pm

hard, but fun game :) Pretty unique!

Freakill says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:19am

The control scheme is difficult to master, but after a lot of tries :P I managed to get a little bit used to it and started what I would call, a bullet dance :D. It was my game that got nuts or every time you finish a bullet clip you have to click again E? Given the pace of game and that one may be already pressing S+A and Shift, it was difficult to change clips. Despite of that, I liked the game, it is really difficult! :)

by the way, is there sound? On my laptopt (windows 7) did not play :(

Quarry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:06pm

I had some issues with OpenAL, otherwise there was music AND sound...

Also you have to press E again, I made it so that you actually couldn't just spam click to win

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:36am

There seems to be a graphical bug that prevents me from playing properly: http://i.imgur.com/pyKCy.png

If you have a solution, let me know, I'll check back because it looks like worth playing.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]