Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Keep our Dungeons EVIL

by hadesfury - Jam Entry

Those idiotic friendly knights are ruining our dungeon ! The demon inspector will be here any minute. Beware if your dungeon isn't evil enough after he leaves!

Goal:
You need to build a dungeon that will be inspected by the demon inspector... But it seems happy and friendly knights have decided to make it prettier... with pink paint ! You must stop them at once to please the inspector !

Controls:
- Arrow keys to pan
- Mouse Wheel to zoom
- Mouse to lay blocks around
- Right click to deselect

Team :
Chevalier Quentin : Programmer
Kalinowski Fabien : Programmer
Mauge Francois : Graphist
Schneider Vincent : Graphist
Coudert Romain : Sound

Edit : There's a little glitch going on with the score. It seems everyone's a winner. Why don't you post your score in the comments, in the meantime to see who's truly evil?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#22Theme(Jam)4.06
#24Graphics(Jam)4.32
#40Overall(Jam)3.68
#52Mood(Jam)3.44
#63Humor(Jam)3.23
#69Audio(Jam)3.40
#70Fun(Jam)3.27
#116Innovation(Jam)3.11

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:43am

pretty cool

zerebruin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:16am

A wonderful dungeon keeper remake! No noticeable bugs, really nice atmosphere!

lorancou says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:58am

Sweet! Except I don't find my score of 11.68673 truly evil. Not even a multiple of 666. Very nice music, SFXs, art, evrything! Congrats :)

Cell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:01pm

I love dungeon keeper, and i loved this one.
For some reason it feels a bit glitchy

Manest says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:33pm

Love it

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:37pm

Looks great and feel great. It got a high quality feel and it really sticks out. Great job!

har_g says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:50pm

Cool, score of 34.09376 I'm not sure if that's good or not. One missing feature is a tool to remove room you build by mistake. And i suffer some freeze and lag. Not sure why.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:03am

Incroyable! A dungeon keeper clone in 3 days! I miss that game...

I'd like to be able to sell rooms, but that's just me.
Fantastic work guys!

dray says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:19am

Impressive work in 3 days!
was really fun!

got a bug with the thunder, the light wasn't destroy and my dungeon was pretty bright at the end.

Grouflon says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:30am

Graphics and controls are pretty cool, it may have been better to be able to rotate the rooms instead of having one room for each orientation. Maybe it lacks a little bit of challenge too, but this is good work anyway :) !

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:31am

I'm glad to see another DK 'clone'. Excellent models, lighting and music. I'm very impressed.

gre says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:05pm

Good game. It actually reminds me some Warcraft 3 Tower Defense :)

I find a bug, it crashes when you try to "cheat" by putting blocking walls in the 4 sides.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:01pm

Yeah, the way pathfinding works in the game prevents you from completely closing rooms under penalty of freeze. That issue probably was our toughest challenge and it's the best we got working in three days, what with ALL THE REST to do...
The bug with the lightning bolts happens on some systems but not all. And only in the webplayer, it seems. Not sure why. We'll try releasing post version to address that.
By the way, a score of over 30 seems to be a pretty good score.
Most times I get around 20 ;)

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:52pm

Hmm, I think I managed to crash/freeze it by blocking the rooms (which I seemed to be able to do)? That said, what a beautiful looking game! Feels very polished. I agree that having a block for each orientation is a bit frustrating, particularly when up against the clock, but it's not a dealbreaker. Nice work everyone!

michax says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:04pm

Really nice!

Managed to crash it as well :) Probably some loop when trying to get navigation points for unreachable locations. Great job guys!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:06pm

Impressive builder! Love the style and the atmosphere. Takes a while to figure out what to do, though.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:44pm

A tutorial was planned, at first, but we never got to it... Maybe we'll post some tips and tricks for first time players

someone says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:45pm

Very nice

ratking says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:03pm

Nice idea! Could need a bit more feedback, and more editing options, though.

Loren says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:18am

so cool, loved the art and music!

ddionisio says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:31am

Pretty good. There were a couple glitches (mostly jittery movements and pathfinding) and it was hard not to go broke the first couple of plays. Music is great!

doos says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:53pm

Some nice resources.

Dew says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:14pm

Very nice game!

jackspinoza says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:19pm

pretty fantastic,incredible work considering the time frame. I think this has great potential. Thanks for the game.

Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Great game! Congrats!

My Score was 325052

Only bug I had was lightning effects not clearing out after using the thunderbolts

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]