December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

StarRunner

by Bobrocket - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game was made in C# with XNA 4.0.
Backstory:
Wanted in almost every galaxy ever, you play as a ruthless intergalactic theft. Having being caught by the police, he needs to fight them all off! Little does he know they never stop…
Everything necessary is in
README.txt
Make sure you have XNA 4.0 Redist installed! (http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#237Audio2.81
#604Graphics2.28
#678Fun2.06
#689Mood2.00
#734Overall2.11
#758Theme1.61
#762Innovation1.50
#898Coolness36%

Comments

deathray says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:29am

I get "Debug.zip appears malicious" when I download in Chrome.

Bobrocket says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:09pm

deathray: all that is in the zip is the exe, a readme and the content.

awppy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:34pm

The game lacks any sort of challenge, from what I can tell. It's as intense 10,000 points in as it is at the beginning. The enemies could use some properties, such as HP, speed, or moving in a wave pattern to make some of them harder to destroy.

Noticed my ship started firing blanks after a while. Was that intended, or due to stress on the garbage collection? I was mashing the shoot buttons like a madman.

goulding57 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:14pm

Can not play windows games :( Screenshots look pretty cool though. Good luck!

ceronman says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:17am

Nice game. I couldn't see how is related to the theme.

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:23am

I think the game needs to become gradually more difficult. It seems always the same. Try to offer more variety and new challenges. Note: The ship is not centered. Is the bottom-right corner of the ship that is centered.

h.attila says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:29am

It's not bad, but it's too easy and doesn't get any harder as you progress through the game. Nice art and music, though.

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:38am

I suppose it says you're a villain in the description, but it doesn't come across as clear enough in the game. Perhaps an in-game introduction of sorts? The controls were pretty fluid, and the graphics were all right, as was the music. Why did you include someone else's game (LD25.exe) in your folder as well, though? That all being said, I think this was a good game in every other aspect, keep up the good work.

Also, just out of curiousity, are you the same Bobrocket from the Terraria forums? If so, fancy meeting you here as a competitor at these competitions. Though I guess not so much, since I took part in the Jam, not the Compo, but still. XD

BrothersT says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:14am

I didn't see that getting any harder any time soon so I quit. But it's a nice start.

Mieville says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:48am

Fun asteroids style game, I really liked the music.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:53am

Crashed when I tried to launch it :(

Bobrocket says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:59am

sclark39: Make sure you have XNA 4.0 installed! The link is both in the readme and on this page.
DaGamesta: I'm pretty much Bobrocket everywhere, and in the .zips I don't see a LD25.exe.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:15pm

Solid effort for graphics and sound, but game-play needs some more work as it's too easy... eg speed up approaching spacecraft over time.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:45pm

Game remains at a constant difficulty level, same throughout :(. Did like the art style though.

Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:16am

The game feel was really good, but the game lacked any sort of challenge. I would have been able to play forever if my ship hadn't started firing blanks. It also seems that some of the enemy ships wouldn't register being hit. I also found myself wishing that the player ship was actually centered in the window. That aside, I did like the graphics and audio. Did you actually do the audio yourself?

Bobrocket says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:43pm

i'm not sure why the ship fires blanks after a while, and the positioning is weird (sorry), and the collision is all a bit messy with rotations.
i did indeed do all the music and sound effects.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]