Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Super Space Goat Thief Standoff!! - Jezzamon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pilot a rogue ship in order to steal the space police's noble goat king! Rebound bullets off ships for combo bonus and the highest score!

- Controls -
Space: Fire/Restart game
Left/Right: Turn Ship

View Jezzamon's journal. | View all entries by Jezzamon

Ratings

Coolness63%
#162Graphics3.53
#257Humor2.86
#302Fun2.97
#381Overall2.95
#447Mood2.64
#472Audio2.08
#538Theme2.81
#673Innovation2.18

Comments

angelk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:06am

I like the explosions! It got pretty hectic until I realized I could hold the space bar and the arrow key and go nuts.

RylandAlmanza says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:14am

The turning could've been smoother, but overall great game! Good work! I screwed up the link on mine, so you couldn't play it. I've since fixed it. Mind taking another look? http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=15134

jmk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:14am

Ahh, you could hold the space bar? Nice graphics, and like the color palette.

One very minor gripe, though ... it would be great if you could skip the intro. Nicely done!

jamesca says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:19pm

I liked the graphics, but I did get 9000 by holding down right arrow and space

Bemmu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:47am

It was a great idea to have the bullets bounce from destroyed enemies instead of just vanishing.

blob says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:11am

Interesting idea to have the lasers bounce. I wish it could be used more strategically in the game.
Nice particles effect.
Final score: 13100 :p

illugion says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:13am

I really liked the intro and the graphics ! :D The sounds were kinda loud to me ( i dont know if it was just my computer ) but it was really cool XD

Spelchan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:14am

Liked the background story. Needs better explosion sounds and a high score.

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:17am

Final score: 10200, but I can do better. :)
I love the graphics, particularly explosions. Bouncing bullets are very useful!

LucaPavone says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:23am

Reminded me of asteroids somewhat. I didn't even notice the bouncing bullets until later and I thought that was quite novel!

lur says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:33am

Bouncy bullets are cool. Intro is really nice.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:46pm

Smooth! I like the feel of the controls, and the explosions are very satisfying. The sound effects are a bit annoying though. Also, I got away for quite a long time (22100 points) with just spinning and shooting. The closer the enemies get, the more effective the bouncing becomes.

HackThePanda says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:37am

I absolutely love the aesthetic in this game :O

crashbanito says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:24am

Very simple, but very promising. I can see the rebound mechanic being further developed to create some type of meta trick shot game.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:17am

Loved it... The bullet sound did make my ears feel like they were going to die.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:20am

Nice and simple arcade style game. The bounce mechanic was cool and helps with the larger crowds but it still feels a little rough. I like the art and the humor.

~AlucardX60

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:12pm

Great graphics. I liked the extra hits you could get from the ricochets.

zerebruin says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:01am

Very nice. Love the look & feel. Absolutely needs cool music!

Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:05am

Cute little game, I liked it!
If you work on this more, definitely change the bullet sound.
It was hard to get the bullets to deflect in the way you wanted them to.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:10pm

The story makes it so much better :)

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 5:25pm

Haha. I love these graphics. I sort of wish I could move, but the hopelessness does add something to the game, and it's not as bad as it seems with the bullet rebounds.

For games with pixely graphics like this, it helps a lot if the game link has some fixed size container for the SWF where the size is an integer multiple of the number of game pixels. Otherwise there's a distracting (to me) and probably unintended effect of sprites having their pixels change size as they move across the screen.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 4:10am

Wow. That villain you drew is eerily reminiscent of the one in the sort of secret dream project I have off to the side for now. Except mine has a monocle, of course! Thoughts:

Bad:
-The ship's turning is a bit finicky.
-The intro could use some skippabilty.
-I wish there was a restart button.

Good:
+The story makes it good, even if it didn't have goats.
+Bullet rebounds are an ingenious concept! (It would be cool if there was a combo counter for them!)

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:06am

Hey guys, there is a restart button btw, press space (fire) once you have died

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Cool stuff, especially the graphics and feel of the game. I love the idea of not being able to actually fly the ship. The feeling of being cornered is great. It kind of reminds me of Ziggurat for iOS.

Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]