December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Bank Robber2.5D

by Kix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So, unfortunately due to the nature of this compo i didn't get time to fix to rather serious bugs in my code. The first one is ridiculously noticeable, SPRITES RENDER THROUGH WALLS??? To be honest i don't know why but thats how it is. The second is if you touch the wall on this one angle it crashes the engine, so just don't run the player right up against the wall and you should be fine.
CONTROLS:
Arrow keys:move/rotate
Spacebar:shoot

The idea was that your a bank robber trying to rob a bank, and the evil/good guard rats(huh?) are trying to stop you. Find the chest to win

P.S I did all the code on Linux and haven't tested on windows or mac but,it should be good.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#612Graphics2.25
#651Theme2.42
#652Overall2.42
#743Fun1.75
#1012Coolness26%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:18am

It looks cool, but it's maybe a little bit too buggy for me to play.

dan.jeffrey says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:35am

It needs a lot of optimization, pretty much unplayable.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:02am

renders things that are behind walls. Not criticizing - I know how hard depth testing can be when it's only kind of supported in the API's. Good luck working that out, fellow coder!

Kix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:14am

With the performance problems, you may want to try assigning java more memory. P.S It works fine on a 600mhz cpu running linux so idk??

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:30pm

Unplayable for me. Decided not to rate to be nice.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:03pm

I couldn't even turn.

loren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:01am

FPS in 48 hours is quite a feat. It plays for me when I run from the jar (Win7 i5 processor). Great attempt!

singpolyma says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:34pm

Gets pretty slow when there are enemies around.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 5:46am

I think I won, it said I robbed a bank?
incredibly buggy play though

Aslai says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 3:28pm

The 2.5D was kind of cool, but the closer I was to a billboard, the slower it ran. When I got to the chest at the end, by the time I was close enough to trigger the win message, it was well below 1 FPS. The second I passed through it, it rose back up to over 60.

Jan 1, 2013 @ 5:28pm

needs bug fixes and it needs to be faster, to laggy

Cthulhu says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Yeah! I stole the bank and I am a greedy bastard! :D
These guards are pretty scary.

What library / engine did you use?

If you need any help to fix some bugs I would be glad to help. You didn't send to source files so I can't do anything :(

Raptor85 says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 8:17pm

gets slower the longer it runs, quickly locks up with
Exception in thread "Thread-3" java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: -1933
at org.kix.graphics.Raycast.render(Raycast.java:271)
at org.kix.graphics.Room.render(Room.java:22)
at org.kix.main.Component.render(Component.java:101)
at org.kix.main.Component.run(Component.java:75)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:662)

Kix says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 5:58am

@Cthulhu No library or engine everything was made in the 48h, so that's probably why it's so buggy!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]