December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Bah Humbug

by maxking1234 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have been recruited by the Easter Bunny to destroy Christmas. You must go around Santa's grotto destroying everything, but the elves try and repair your damage.
WASD To move and Space to use items, pick up items and destroy items.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1150Coolness10%

Comments

dan.jeffrey says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:31am

There's no DL link...

Amadeus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:38am

Please add link.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:17am

Yep, no link for the game or for the source.

maxking1234 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:34pm

Sorry, added them now, forgot to add the http:// bit :) Thanks

Joncom says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:48am

Points to you for falling snowflakes this season!

Spelchan says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 6:26pm

Interesting concept but needs work. I would have had the elves working faster to repair your damage so that there was more of a struggle to reach 100% and would have sped up the movement speed. Should also have a better indication of how damaged items are as it took me a moment to realize I had to attack items multiple times before they would be destroyed. I do understand that you didn't have time to have multiple damage state images, but that or a damage bar would have helped quite a bit. Liked the background story with the rivalry between Santa and Easter Bunny.

Beanalby says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 7:34pm

Could use some speedier controls, the slow movement and slow attacking made things feel more tedious than necessary. Love the theme idea though!

Benjamin says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:07pm

The control are weirds. Rather than using the keyboard keyrepeat you should make your hero moving even since the key is pressed until it's released. I know nothing about java but maybe someone here will be able to say more about this issue.
The game itself is cool, there's everything : scoring counter, a bit of leveldesign with key and doors, and a nice ending screen. I would not have spent so much time on destroying presents if I had known that reinder was 8% each :)

namuol says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 1:17am

What @Benjamin said! Those controls need fixin'. It seems like you're only triggering a single-pixel of movement whenever a "keypress" event occurs. Instead, you want to change the _velocity_ of the player whenever a key goes from being up, to being down, and vice-versa.

What I learned today: elves with red hats? Good. Elves with green hats? Bad. Bonus points for snowflakes. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]