December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Lunar Frenzy

by Fireblend - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I wasn't be available for the last ~15 hours or so of the competition, which forced me to reduce the scope for my project quite a bit. However, here's my submission, of which I'm very proud: Lunar Frenzy!

"After years of living under the shadow of puny planets, an oversized moon goes rogue, in a revenge-fueled trip across the universe with one goal only: smash all those planets into tiny little pieces. Will it succeed? Or will it fall to the many space-mines that litter the galaxy?"

The game was made with touch controls in mind, so I strongly suggest you play the Android version if you have the chance. All comments are extremely appreciated! And don't forget to post your highscore!

Greetings from Costa Rica!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#271Fun3.05
#282Humor2.76
#284Audio2.65
#340Overall3.03
#390Graphics2.86
#409Mood2.70
#437Innovation2.69
#593Theme2.64

Comments

kivifreak says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 1:29pm

i like the idea of shaking them off :P

Fireblend says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 4:25pm

Thanks! I'm glad I had time to add those mechanics, or it would've been an awfully generic game. I'm not extremely happy with the execution, but I think makes it a little bit more original and justifies the "frenzy" part of the title when you've got 5 mines stuck to you :P

SkyWolf says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 4:41pm

i like the art style very much, and i have to quote kivifreak on the shake-shake. Good job. :D

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:11am

The ability to shake off mines by actually shaking the device would have been cool beans. Otherwise, great little game.

Only real complaint is that sometimes it's a little hard to tell when you're covered in mines and just one mine away from death. Visual feedback of some kind would have helped.

Scott McBee says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:31am

A nice feeling game, and it's hard to hate a moon with a hat.

vrav says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:00am

Amusingly strange concept! I'm glad it's too hard rather than too easy, though I think the giant moon is just too hard to handle with so many little mines. Maybe it's easier on a touch screen? Great art style, very clean, could see this working for a variety of projects. (:

joyboxed says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:09am

liked your game it just felt a bit unbalanced, the shaking off mechanic is cool though =D

jmk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:42am

I found it really interesting that shaking off the mines would often lead to hitting MORE mines. Well played.

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:34pm

Fairly generic idea but made more fun. And he has a moustache :) 4/5

timtipgames says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:49pm

to many miiiiines! Performed well on HTC DesireHD. Nice idea. Especially the shaking part. Very difficult though because when you hit a mine and need to shake, you hit so many other mines that eventually you'll have a yellow one on you. Could be circumvented by requiring you to shake the actual phone instead of the avatar. That would only work for android though. Love to see a touch-controled game in LD.

Norgg says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:55pm

Argh! Mined. Do the gold ones do more damage? I keep dieing when I seem to have one gold one and several others on me, but I'm frantically waving the mouse but not shaking off the others successfully.

cardboard says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:36pm

Unfortunately this didn't work on my crap Android device. Fun game for making it in such little time, and it looks really good. The only problem is shaking the mines off with a mouse, because I ended up just collecting even more mines than I first had.

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:29pm

Damn rogue moons, messing things up.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:05pm

the gameplay behind shaking them off was a really cool mechanic, and the difficulty level was pretty satisfying.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:23pm

I do quit like this game even though it's pretty basic. The shaking mechanic and amount of mines made it difficult but not impossible. A round of the game seems pretty short but the end score make you feel like you've played for a longer time, which is perfect for a compo version. But in the postmortem I reccomend lowering the mine count and maybe score received from planets to make the game longer.

~AlucardX60

krutech says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:03pm

Hah, this threw me off. A man in a hat shaking of mines in space, nomnoming on planets.
Good job =)

Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:27am

I played the Android version and when your controls said to "shake" I literally shook the tablet. ;p It took me a minute to realise I had to scrub my finger around to simulate a mouse shake. :)

I agree with the others. Tophat and moustache make this really kind of charming. :)

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:12pm

I do like the concept, but agree with others that there are too many mines. Pretty much as soon as you get one on you you're screwed since you need to move up and down to get it off, which will force you to collide with even more mines.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:41am

very nicely put together, looks great
would have been nice if there were more to it, like a way to get the health back

goerp says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:49am

This works a lot better on an android. And its very well suited for phone or tablet because of the simple game mechanics. I think you used your time well.

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 8:28am

Nice moon-moussche

voidstar69 says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Fun to play, on both Android and PC. Funny too! :-)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]