December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Hide 'n' Seek

by totalspelnerd - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is to kill everyone that there is (except yourself of course). To kill press space and to climb ladders and hide press W or S. To move press A or D. You can change number of "enemies",floors, width, hide places in the option. Hide bodies inside closets by pressing up. Was hopping to get more done but I've actually learnt a lot from this. Thanks Ludum Dare for this competition. Hope you like my game. This is also my first entry FYI.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#374Graphics2.92
#387Theme3.17
#410Innovation2.75
#584Fun2.33
#652Overall2.42
#1012Coolness26%

Comments

dan.jeffrey says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:26am

Won't run, says it can't find the main class "Frame"

Zazibar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:28am

The Game Over condition is very sudden, I had no idea what happened at first. Fun little game though.

Felix20 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:49pm

Pretty good, but it would have been nice if it was a little faster.
It was fun though.

Sam Driver says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:03pm

Doesn't run for me, "could not find main class: Frame"
I extracted the contents of the zip file out into an empty folder, tried to run the Hide 'n' Seek.jar file. Windows 7 64-bit

char68 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:19pm

I like the idea; it was fun to drag the people over to the closet before being caught. I do wish the "Game Over" screen returned the player to the main menu though :)

xandy says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:21am

wow. very hard. good ideas however. maybe add some indicators what's on the current floor.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:59am

Can't run it :(

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Not finished yet. I see the idea but come back in a bit with a full version!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]