August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Slime

by AstralCalculus - Jam Entry

You are a Slime, the last of your once proud race. Your dream is to one day slay the Hero who killed your family. Use the power of your EVO-Crystal to evolve into a form powerful enough to take revenge!

If you are using x64 and experience a crash to desktop, please try using the crash fix version instead. This version removes the settings menu and related code, so please try the original version first.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#65Overall(Jam)3.38
#82Innovation(Jam)3.15
#96Fun(Jam)3.08
#102Graphics(Jam)3.46
#114Theme(Jam)2.92
#128Audio(Jam)2.75
#904Coolness28%

Comments

fantasywiz54 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:06am

Amazing I really loved it.

Will Xyen says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:01pm

Game launches to nothing (process is running then crashes) seems to be an issue with x64 and LOVE

Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:16pm

@Will Xyen

:(

Both source and .exe versions have been tested on x64 and x32 Windows.

This may be related to:
https://bitbucket.org/rude/love/issue/383/windows-7-64-bit-crashes-with-loveexe

timtipgames says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 12:40pm

Wow, this is really nice (and worked for me on Win7 64bit)! Very minecraft-like graphics. Unfortunately the game is far too difficult for me. I could only defeat one goblin before dying. I also tried sneeking around to find more crystals before getting into a fight, but that didn't work out well. I think it is not so good that the melee attack doesn't have an animation, so its hard to tell if you ran out of crystals. Therefore magic works much better. Nevertheless, this game deserves much more attention! Great game! (I'll keep on playing for a while and will see if I can get rid of those nasty goblins)

thewiseguy99 says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 12:54am

I like this entry a lot. It took some time to get the hang of the combat but I thought this was top notch for an adventure game. This for me was very fun to play. Good job!

Sep 2, 2012 @ 1:15am

@timtipgames Thanks for the review! If you are having trouble, try sneaking around the edges of the map. You'll find some Wizards and Red Slimes which are easier to kill than the Goblins.

SFX says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 1:19am

It crashed for me on Linux x64. That makes me a sad panda.

Jungorend says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 2:33am

I love the look of the game! It's very nice having a full settings menu. (I use colemak keyboard layout)

Sep 2, 2012 @ 3:36am

@SFX I posted a crash fix .love above. Let me know if that corrects the issue for you. I'm not able to replicate this error on any of my computers.

Sep 2, 2012 @ 4:17am

Wow, impressive :D

triliyn says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 3:42pm

This looks like a really nice game! A couple issues, though:
1) the mouselook is REALLY FAST. I had trouble aiming at things.
2) It's a little hard to tell whether you're in melee range.
3) I really like the "storing three pieces of information as an rgb color" (and in fact I used this in my own game!), but in the beginning of the game your EVO crystal is too dark to make out anything.

Despite these, I had fun in my short playthrough (I didn't realize how low on health I was).

Sep 2, 2012 @ 5:23pm

@triliyn Thanks for your review!

1) Did you try adjusting mouse sensitivity in settings?
2) Agreed. I would have liked to have a melee animation.
3) Also true. We originally planned on having the Evo-Crystal steadily pulse (as in, become brighter, then fade back to regular colour) but weren't able to implement in time.

Glad you had fun! :) I'll be sure you check out your game, and be on the look out for RGB-as-data.

SFX says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 6:39pm

It works! An attack animation (or at least a unique attack sound) would have been helpful. Regardless, this is pretty nifty.

zx81 says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 9:13pm

Good mood, I loved the graphics, however the sounds weren't to my liking :( Overall a really good game, I have enjoyed it!

Misfit says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 12:23pm

I liked low-res art style. Raycasting caused a nice "retro" feeling.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]