August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Crystal of Evolution

by Dreauw - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-= Goal =-
Your goal is to protect the crystal of evolution.
For that, you will need to place towers.
Use arrow key to move the camera.
Select a tower at the bottom of the screen and click on the map to place
A tower cost few "PO" and take a few second to be ready
Press "Start Wave" button when you are ready


-= Controls =-
Arrow keys : Camera movement
Left mouse button : Place a tower
M : Mute
1/2/3/4/5/6/7 : Switch tower


-= Tools =-
- ActionScript 3 -> Language
- FlashPunk -> Library
- FlashDevelop -> IDE
- GIMP, MS Paint and Pyxel Edit -> Graphic
- FL Studio && as3sfxr -> Audio


-= Tips =-
After the second evolution, ennemies can come from the left and the right. The message at the top of the screen will tell you where the enemies come in the next wave. So be careful.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#120Audio3.22
#158Overall3.39
#183Fun3.18
#223Mood2.94
#237Graphics3.26
#368Humor2.07
#484Theme2.61
#573Innovation2.37

Comments

kirill says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:15am

A well-done tower defense.
Does not seem to go beyond evolution stage 3, right? (wave 1 it says for every wave).
Loved that there are so many types of enemies. Many things are animated (but not everything). Pretty blood particle effect.

Dreauw says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:49am

Thanks !
Yep, the stage 3 is infinite, the waves are randomly generated but wave after wave, the difficulty is increasing :)

michax says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:32pm

Nice looking with a lot of content! Fun TD.

MattTyson says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:20pm

Good Job.

Tt is well developed, there is a wide variety of content.

I'm a little sad that the ground is not randomly generated and the sky is a bit empty, but this is really good for 48 hours. (it could be more fantastic)

Anyway, nice work here ! Really !

Pixelulsar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:12pm

Cool, my only complaint is that the towers just magically hurt people, it would be cool if they shot out bullets or something.

LuizHGMonclar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:15pm

Liked the soundtrack! I liked the game overall, I think I've never played a platformer TD! I think it was a bit unfair that on the second evolution enemies came from "behind" the crystal too without any explanation :)

Great job! good game :D

Talslain says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:18pm

I always have liked a good tower defense and I enjoyed this one. Very addictive, had me hooked for quite some time, Only thing I noticed about it is there could be a sound for when the mobs are hit but this is only a small thing, in general a well done tower defense, I really enjoyed it.

gnx says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:50am

Basic tower defense game.
Graphical and audio presentation were nice, and there was definitely some strategy to buying the towers.

The tower effects themselves could've been more satisfying though.

danlthemanl says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:48pm

Nice job. :D

xhunterko says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:25pm

Well. I really don't like tower defense games. Cause, usually there is no win condition. Still though. This one looks nice, plays well. The only thing I found frustrating was the difficulty increase. It seemed that there wasn't enough cash to protect my crystal efficiently enough. Ended too quick. But nice otherwise.

Orni says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:29pm

liked it - the best tower defense type game I've played so far this ludum dare
well done, music was awesome as well :D

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:17am

Great tower defense game, It's always fun to see what comes next in these type of games, ended up spending a lot of time on third stage before realizing that was it

Porter says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 3:01am

Pretty neat TD. Very basic, but balanced enough to be fun. During the second evolution, wave 5 or so, the game tweaked out, skipped to a screen with a crystal, and I had no towers and died. I was then back on the start menu out of nowhere; pretty sure that was a bug.

dector says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 7:11pm

Cool graphics and sounds.

Miltage says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 7:31pm

After a few minutes of the first level I thought that was all there was to the game. I was pleasantly surprised when it evolved to the second stage.

Graphics were simple, but got the job done fairly well. Nice grid based design. The music was also really nice.

The AI and tower placing all worked perfectly. I felt that the levels were too long though. After the 10th wave in the second level I had 2000PO, nowhere to build and was basically just hitting 'Start Wave' waiting for the next evolution.

Sep 2, 2012 @ 4:53pm

Basic but pretty well done tower defence. You should have added more visual feedback, at first I didn't notice that my towers are even hurting enemies, and the towers could have had somekind of building animation when they were being set up. At first I thought the game was very simple, but good thing you added those new evolution stages, keeps thing bit more interesting.

pardue says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 11:23pm

Nice art and sound, pretty fun game :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]