Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

SPECIES

by alwaysinbeta - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Humans have evolved into 2 separate species. The aggressive, dominant species are keeping the good natured species imprisoned underground working for them. You lead the rebellion!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#198Humor2.63
#459Fun2.64
#476Audio2.08
#512Mood2.37
#577Overall2.59
#619Graphics2.25
#702Theme1.79
#715Innovation1.93

Comments

thewiseguy99 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:16pm

Fast moving game. Controls and concept very easy to grasp. Good job!

dekart says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:03pm

Pretty easy gameplay & control

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:11pm

Particle effects in an otherwise very boxy 2d platforming shooter? xD

I got stuck in a wall a couple of times and the collisions didn't feel right in general. The jumping also needs some work I think. It feels too linear and when jumping I like to feel the gravity slow my down and then pull me back.

The silly characters were amusing, but why are those red guys always so grumpy?? They could learn a thing or two from the mustachioed men.

quill18 says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:13pm

Fun game, nice fire effects!

evilseanbot says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 3:43am

I really pegged the mustachioed guys as the kinder, gentler species. How wrong I was.

Everythings kinda wonky, but its got a certain charm. I felt like the bullets should go for longer though.

Jeremias says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 8:43pm

Hi! This is my feedback for you:

- Collision system works not perfect: Sometimes you get stuck in a wall without falling.
- An enemy should react to shootings. E.g. on screen 2, you can kill both enemies without they shoot at you.
- Screen 4 is too heavy. The enemies attack the player without having a chance to dodge or kill them fast enough
- Starting from the beginning is a bit frustrating. So you should make a spawnpoint system or something like that
- What does the sound means at the beginning of a new level part?

Keep on and make a post-compo-version!

Sep 1, 2012 @ 8:59pm

I like the framerate. Unique for browser games. The rate at which one enemy could kill you was somewhat ridiculous, but the length of the game made up for it to a degree. Parts of it were very frustrating. Lots of points for humor; the mustache made it. The theme was very loosely tied in, though.

Moops says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 11:26pm

I like that everything exploded.

AuxiliumGames says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 12:49am

Cool fire effects! The physics could use some work overall, but fun to play!

YSelf Tool says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 12:49am

Not bad, but not as solid as a jump&run-shooter should be. It's easy to get stuck in a wall/the ground, but nonetheless fun to play and as hard as it should be!

pjchardt says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 12:53am

Like the fast paced nature of the game and the exploration. However the enemies seemed far to difficult, I kept dying and felt like I could never experience the game.

pereubu says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 11:40am

rofl, insanely hard for me :D

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 6:44am

This game, has a lot of potential. But seems like a prototype at its current stage.

savethejets1 says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 6:38pm

Sweet, fun stuff! I like the fire effects.

kato9 says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 5:11pm

Nice effort! Could use a little more polish, but the basic gameplay is there for sure. It seemed a little hard, but I was able to beat it so maybe not!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]