Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX

ANNOUNCEMENT BAR! I tell you event things here, but only sometimes.


Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

The Voynich Experiment - Wan & Almudys - 48 Hour Compo Entry

* 26/04/2014: Unfortunately, the original game made in 48hrs does not work anymore in modern browsers. I only maintained the post-compo version - which has more levels and is compatible with Firefox.

_______________________
THE GAME

The Voynich Experiment is a game that takes place in the scientific manuscripts of a mysterious 1600s scientist. Resolve the puzzles made of cells & science as the truth of evolution is revealed to you...
Tip: finish the game to unlock an additional kitten-themed level!

_______________________
POST-COMPO VERSION

Since I couldn't fit in a lot of the ideas I had for the game, I'm continuing to make new content when I feel like it. Currently the post-compo version has:
* 8 new levels
* 2 new cell types
* A level selection screen
* Some bugs and unclear things fixed
If I eventually find that the gameplay has enough potential, maybe I'll turn this into a real game!

_______________________
LINKS

Soundtrack: http://soundcloud.com/silexwan/ld24
Timelapse: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jhjHe0FHlEg

View Wan & Almudys's journal. | View all entries by Wan & Almudys

Ratings

Overall4.34
Coolness75%
#5Audio4.13
#11Mood4.05
#19Fun3.84
#23Theme4.08
#30Graphics4.21
#75Innovation3.63
#105Humor3.09

Comments

Aug 26, 2012 @ 9:32pm

Wow, this is the most amazing entry I've played yet. The design was super, the gameplay was great, too. Kittens were awesome! :D

JonRB says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 10:39pm

Love it! I like the whole concept and the graphics are really well done. I did struggle a bit with learning to do things on my own but it's relatively intuitive!

Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:04am

I have just now managed to pick myself up from the floor after a good five minutes of laughing various body parts off.

You deserve a medal.

Skulls says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:33am

Great game, but when I played it firefox went up to 51% CPU usage about half way through. I switched to chrome but shifting my size with v didn't seem to work. I can tell it's a good game though just wish I could play it properly :(

Nick Knowlson says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:36am

Best music, period. The rest of it is great too but I especially loved the music.

You're the only one I've given 5 stars across the board to, congrats!

hnjslater says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:38am

Very good. First game I've played and wanted to finish so far. I would recomend chrome/chromium. I started off in firefox and it was waaay to slow to play on my laptop.

dvdking says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:38am

Graphics, story, gameplay, everything was great.
It must be something bigger in future.

Wan says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:39am

@Skulls: Indeed the game is laggy with Firefox unfortunately, mainly because of the libs I used. Regarding the controls, it's not "v" but "down arrow", I didn't notice the symbol ambiguity, sorry!

kidanger says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:35pm

Very nice ! It's cool you added a bonus level.

vilya says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:35pm

Brilliant! Love the look, the music, the unobtrusive tutorials, everything. The only complaint is that it's a little tricky to position yourself over the narrow holes so you can drop through. Everything else: brilliant!

Kralle says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:35pm

Lags on third level when using chrome, didnt work with ie

aschearer says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:44pm

Great game. As others have said the music was a great choice. I also thought the faux diary was a nice touch. (Though you should go through and fix the many typos it contains.) The gameplay itself was OK. I would like to see some more interesting puzzles, though, which really make the player think. There were also a handful of bugs with the collision detection, especially when rotating the cells. But all in all I thought this was a great entry, nice work!

arzi says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:59pm

Quite amazing, I love the atmosphere of the game. Very nice art too, and an extra point for the hidden level ;)

MortalWombat says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:07pm

I liked it even though it's quite rough around some edges (e.g. the collision detection edges ;)).

The one thing it lacks, in my opinion, is some interesting level designs and a proper ending (apart from the "improper" ending which was lovely :D).

Lovely audio and graphics, though!

Joker says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:26pm

Great art, interesting gameplay. It's terribly laggy in firefox though.

Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:44am

Aside from the graphics, sound, and over-all mood. I also liked the gameplay mechanics. Although simple, they still forced me to stop and concentrate. Now that's a beginning of a good puzzle game. Looking forward to seeing more of this in the future!

tdsmale says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:51am

Best I've played so far! :)

zx81 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:49pm

with i.e. & firefox not working.

One of the most interesting games, although Ive had some problems with starting the game. The music is really good.

cappelnord says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:58pm

epic good. Favourite so far.

BumpkinRich says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:56pm

Thanks Wan. Really enjoyed playing through your experiment. Really lovely mood.

flyingbear says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:26pm

A very nice puzzle game, I'd like to see it expanded in the future. Maybe a different control for rotate, the game didn't respond well to me pressing down+left+right together and would only rotate me like 25% of the time.

Zed says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:57pm

It won't load for me, just gets stuck on 'loading libraries', which is really sad because, from the looks of things, it's amazing.

saguaro says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 5:48pm

Great game! I'd love to see this one expanded.

yosh says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 11:41pm

Well that's an amazing HTML5 game. I really really liked the hand-written style of the graphics, put in that a old-fashion scroll.
Good job!

raohmaru says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 10:33pm

This game is amazing!!

Haddy22 says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 10:10pm

Fantastic! Great job- the design was inspired- the evolution theme fit 5/5 and I love the old paper element fitting seamlessly into the BG on the page. Very cool game- nice 1

Igor Silva says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 10:59am

great, the history is amazing, the graphics is very good, congratulations, i loved this game

deepnight says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 5:20pm

That's a really impressive work for a 48h game :) The overall art is great and level design is good. I especially liked the music, works great!

Good job :)

frogmaster says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 7:04pm

Everyting is so delicious in this game: humor, fun, graphics, audio, attitude to theme! Fantastic!

Ronny says ...
Sep 19, 2012 @ 4:39pm

This menu music sounds a lot like star wars :D Currently playing seems very very cool.

Sep 21, 2012 @ 7:21pm

Well, that was really fun to play. I love the art style of the paper textures, the combination idea and the music is just wonderful.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]