August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Flitter-Flatter

by aeveis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

|||||ORIGINAL|||||EDIT|||||ORIGINAL SOURCE

EDIT: My web link will be my link for edits I make after the 48-hour compo. So you can still play the original at the windows link... but the "more fun" version is at the web link.
-More balanced gameplay (less grinding)
--upgrades are cheaper and don't multiply with lvls
--now only need all gems before going to boss (before you need max upgrades)
-UI clarification
--you can see what lvl of evolution you're at
-replayable with previous upgrades
-If you really need to ] to add Fleurs

Tools Used:
Engine: Flixel
Art: Gimp
Sound: OpenMPT
IDE: FlashDevelop
Other: frutil (my own utility library for some math functions) https://github.com/aeveis/frutil

Flitter Flatter:
A basic exploration/dungeon sort of game.
The level is very simple... a prototype level I guess.

controls: WASD and mouse to aim
To attack to need to rapidly press different move keys on the keyboard, like vibrating.
Aiming is sort of soft as you control a swarm.

Sort of trying to question the player's motives.....
.... could be too subtle though.

Also no time for playtesting... I guess the Internet will be my playtesters.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#46Graphics4.13
#87Mood3.38
#91Overall3.57
#131Innovation3.47
#145Fun3.28
#164Audio3.03
#239Theme3.24
#361Humor2.08
#582Coolness48%

Comments

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:44am

The controls are a bit rare for me, but the movement is smooth and love the graphics! Thanks!

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:49am

I like the idea, and the execution was mostly good. After about ten minutes, however, the grinding repetition it took to see that final area was annoying. The final area was good, but it was hard to equal the expectations built during the grind before it. Just a little more variety or some stronger pacing and this would be really cool.

aeveis says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:26am

Thanks so far! Noted about the grinding.

Th3dz says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:24pm

Very cute little game. Graphics looks great.

TheSheep says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:30pm

A little bit grindy, but nice idea and execution.

kyyrma says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:02pm

Took me a while to understand that to attack I sort of had to swing my mouse towards the enemies. I wonder why you decided on having the player bash WASD to ready attacks? It felt unnecessary and really made the grinding feel even more repetitive.

Not to say that the game wasn't nice. Just a bit rough around the edges! The art is a big plus.

aeveis says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:55pm

I wanted a nice analog to what the flits were doing. Since they are or starting to swarm I felt that pressing different keys emulated riling up the helper flits to swarm.

For me just pressing a button to attack felt too disconnected to what the flits are actually doing. I guess maybe I can do something with the mouse instead? Since aiming is soft anyway. hmm.....

Also tried toning down the grinding again by removing the multipliers from the upgrades.

Thanks!

My Milked Eek says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:23pm

Cool game. A bit grindy indeed, but still good fun.

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:19pm

Cool stuff.

Syarahsy says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 8:36am

Cute final boss, but agree with the others: too much grind. It also took a little too long to figure out what I was suppose to be doing. Perhaps some explanation about the flits would help.

jplur says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 5:06pm

Insanely cute, I enjoyed it a lot. Didn't think it was too grindy (well maybe for a LD game where we don't want to spend too much time with all the other entries)

Was kind of sad I beat it without upgrading much, could definitely be taken further in the post compo, maybe with finite blue dots to eat.

Great work!

ggiraldez says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 3:54pm

I had a lot of fun with this. Graphics are excellent. It takes a bit getting used to the controls. My only complain is that the background music gets tiring after a while.

mohammad says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 1:28am

pretty hard.
i didn't get very far so i wont give a bad rating.

Raptor85 says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 2:22am

really really grindy after the initail part, takes forever of just entering, exiting, and getting everything in the world again, at least 30 trips to get all the evolutions you need to face the boss. It wouldn't be as bad if the world was larger and more to explore but you're literally just sweeping through the same area, killing everything, resetting it with your door and doing it again.

The swarm controls of mashing the keys to make them swarm was pretty un-intuitive, tbh i think it detracted from the game, would have been more fun if they were just always swarming, also when you started to get higher level upgrades on their "aggressiveness" they actually became less effective at doing damage due to how spread out they are, making it easier to get hit and taking longer to kill things. The graphics, sound, and final boss were very nice.

Jacic says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 3:15am

Fun game, very polished! :)

Sep 3, 2012 @ 10:47am

I like the graphics, but the progress of game seems a little slow to me.

Zelen3d says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 1:51am

Really nice gameplay. the post-compo version is especially well balanced, but once you update your speed alot, your swarm gets out of control and aiming doesn't do nothing anymore.

amidos2006 says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 4:24pm

amazing entry one of my best :)

01010111 says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 11:58pm

This is one of my favorite LD entries so far - the concept could be built upon (I wish you would!), and I didn't mind the grind so much. Nice work - the style was really cute and refreshing!

Thomas Bowker says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 10:38am

Very nicely done

Qaterknan says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 11:45am

Nice but I don't like the vibrating mechanics.

alvivar says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 1:37pm

The wed edited version is my favorite!

airdeck says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 3:48pm

love it, one of my favorites so far

madflame991 says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 1:58pm

Although spinning around in circles to enter rage mode can get the best of my fingers..the game is really cute and addicting. The graphics are polished and I haven't seen this game mechanic before. Good job!

RawBits says ...
Sep 11, 2012 @ 5:25am

Hey! This one is good. I like how it plays although it was hard to find out. I liked the graphics and the music as well but it gets boring after the 10th time you play through the same level... you need to make some more.

I think aiming is pointless when they are angry or excited they just all over the place. I was getting the hurting sound sometimes when there wasn't any monsters around and I did not hurt. Lastly I think you should indicate somehow when the boss being hit.

Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]