August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Mash

by MadcoreTom - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ferdi works in a monster breeding lab, but they evolve rather quickly and have taken over
His boss wants him to kill them all, except for a few breeds.
Each section shows the goal breed and the number
You must have the exact number, and kill the other monsters
Don't worry, they can't hurt you

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#107Innovation3.54
#119Theme3.58
#120Humor3.00
#134Mood3.15
#261Overall3.17
#291Graphics3.13
#321Fun2.88
#443Audio2.19
#570Coolness49%

Comments

professaur says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:21am

Ferdi is the best!!!! Please make more games staring Ferdi, this one was heaps fun!

SpectreNectar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:18pm

Really really neat ^^
Loved it, although slightly stiff

TinyHat says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:30am

I like the concept, but would have appreciated better animations ^^

darokin says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:50am

That was fun ! I had difficulties at first to let them 'evolve' but when you have it, it's cool !
Really fit the theme perfectly in my opinion. Nice overall, I remember to have seen your post with the 'Ferdi' spritesheet when you first had the idea. Good work.

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:57pm

Fun game :D looks like he is doing something rude to them :P

Skulls says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:12am

A group at my local jam had an idea like this although they didn't manage to finish it. An interesting idea although I felt a lot of the game was just killing monsters you didn't want. Fit the theme perfectly.

Switchbreak says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:19am

Oy, finally won. This game was awesome! It was really frustrating in the end how hard it was to get the monsters to follow me and to do what I wanted - that last level took me probably like 20 minutes. Would have been nice if I had some kind of "follow me" monster call or something. Still though, a great idea that works pretty well.

SusanTheCat says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 3:18pm

Unable to run: Exception: java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/madcoretom/ld/evolution/launch/AppletLauncher : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

SusanTheCat says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 3:25pm

Updated Java on my computer -- works now

zx81 says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 2:28pm

Good game altthought needs a bit more work on!!

lekochen says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 2:37pm

Very creative and interesting mechanic. Well done!

monsieur_nez says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 12:10am

Nice animation!

kibertoad says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 1:11pm

Absolutely loved theme and art, wish there was more gameplay to it! Please make a full game from it :).

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]