August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Think a Bit

by acsantana - Jam Entry

Lifestory of a bit that just learnt to think and it's perceiving that his world can be made of much higher possibilities!

!!!>>>This is not a stable build of the game! This was originally a internal release for testing!
Unfortunately, the last has more game crashing bugs than this one! (crucial parts of the game still unreachable in this one, though =( )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#57Theme(Jam)3.33
#136Innovation(Jam)2.83
#171Graphics(Jam)2.92
#200Overall(Jam)2.67
#218Fun(Jam)2.25
#1080Coolness14%

Comments

LemonTree says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:21am

nice game, but very hard to jump.

jovoc says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:18am

Nice idea, I wanted to see the higher bit depths gameplay but I had a lot of trouble with the platforming controls. Unfortunately I think most players are going to miss the coolest looking parts of the game, find a way to put that up front.

Skulls says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 8:49am

Platforming controls felt like I was on ice the whole time, then I got stuck on the third level by a grey block against a wall. Is the point that there are errors in game as well as out or something?

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:02am

Good interpretation of the theme.
The music is really nice and fits well.
Do you plan to make a postCompo version with the complete game ?

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 12:44pm

This is really testing my patience ... I'll keep on trying for a while. I want to see the later levels ;)

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 12:53pm

OK I guess I can't reach the later levels, can I? I collected all thingies that I could, grew a bit when I collected the seventh out of six(?) and couldn't progress. I have to agree that the controls are really a bit frustrating sometimes. I enjoyed the jumping though, when I just kept pressing UP. Looked like I'm on the moon. I really would have liked to play further (although it took me a lot of trials to "finish" the first level). I had a good laugh when the first screen contains a "NullPointerException Overflow". I never had a NPE Overflow, but I can Imagine how that feels ;)

acsantana says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 10:00pm

@timtipgames @Colapsydo @Skulls ! Great thing you had a good time with this preview!! This is a build from the middle of the jam! It's missing some already implemented sprites and broken badly in some parts... so you can't get to the higher levels , sorry! The last build was more complete but was broken at the very beginning! We were going to use Ludum Dare's rule that allows fixing bugs that makes the game to stop at important moments or broken things from the last minute but the programmers got a little lazy after the 72h!
We may try to fix the last version this weekend or in the beginning of the next one , but if we don't we'll make a post compo version with more features later!

BenW says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 4:35pm

I honestly couldn't get past the first section because the controls felt so floaty. I constantly missed platforms and slid into things I didn't want to because I had too much inertia. Love the mood though.

johnfn says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 8:40pm

Very good audio and graphics. VERY frustrating controls though. There was this pill where you had to make 3 jumps onto 1x1 boxes and I swear it took me like 5 minutes to get the little guy to not slide off of one of the boxes and get the pill. Then I died somewhere else :P I'd like to see this game continued, with better controls and more levels :D

pardue says ...
Sep 18, 2012 @ 12:30am

A little frustrating but overall a really cool idea. I would like to play something finished! :)

acsantana says ...
Sep 18, 2012 @ 5:54pm

Unfortunately our platform controller was broken and we had to rewrite it in the middle of the competition... the hurry made some lots of other things to brake! LOL
The build at the time the competition ended had better controls, as well a 8 bit level , a painted 2D level , a 3D level and a special level / ending . We didn't put that version to be played because new bugs had appeared and the game was stopping even earlier... We are just gathering free time to fix it , though. So we might release a post compo version soon ! :D

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]