August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Disease

by lesterpig - 48 Hour Compo Entry

IMPORTANT : Easy version was added a few hours AFTER compo deadline. It fixes many and many bugs and is easier than compo version.

__________________________________________________________

You're a bacterian, and your objective is to kill the body who is your host.
You start in the leg, and you must finish in the brain :)

Controls :
- Arrows keys to move
- Left click to attack
- DEL to mute music

Works great on chrome.
! Need flash and javascript !

___________________________
Tips:

- Get DNA to level up.
- Beware of white globules !
- From level 2, you can kill them (if you have power)
- From level 3, you can destroy strategic areas (like heart) to kill your host
- The body is quickly vaccinate : you must destroy or evolve quickly too !
- If body's level alert reaches 7, you kill him.

Good luck ! :)
___________________________

I've created the rendering engine, but it was very long, so I haven't got any time to test my game...
Works with Jquery, SoundManager2, Php and a SQL database.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#187Audio2.94
#327Theme3.00
#488Mood2.41
#559Humor1.52
#608Graphics2.28
#680Innovation2.03
#691Coolness42%
#701Overall2.22
#741Fun1.63

Comments

Follett says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:39am

This was weird to say the least. Was really buggy, I kept being thrown back to the first room. Still fun though, good work!

TheSarcastic says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:05pm

A bit confusing...

eyehawk says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:07pm

Nice concept, music and graphics, but yeah it was too buggy for me to play - I kept getting flicked back and forth between rooms.

Zener says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:07pm

I like the idea, a bit boring until you get some fire power.

Rob says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:08pm

Nice game, but I often felt disorientated with the bug issues

lesterpig says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:09pm

If it is very very very buggy, you can play into the "Easy version", which contain less bugs ;)
Thanks for feedback and ratings !

MrDanH says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:18pm

Interesting idea, but rather slow paced early on. I also found it a bit hard getting through the one-square-wide gaps in the later levels. Nice ambient music.

jujule says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:28pm

I think I would have enjoyed it much much much more with a map. Also, the pace is a little slow for my taste, especially in an exploration game.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:01pm

The music is really nice.
The idea of racing against the immune system is interesting but the slowness of the action when exploring doesn't serve the cause.
It's also quiet frustrating to pass near an enemy and loosing life even without contact.

pknowles says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 2:29pm

Great intro and music. A bit slow but good potential, especially when the maps get a bit more cramped an interesting.

Datw says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 4:39pm

The game is really buggy when changing maps, and the controls (arrows + mouse) weren't enjoyable (I would prefer wasd and mouse). But I liked it a lot. The game is big, something that is missing in LD games, IMHO. I couldn't finish it though...I somehow took damage, but I never visually touched any of the white globes :(

agersant says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 5:52pm

Nice work!

Pros:
- Huge world
- Music

Cons:
- Many empty maps
- DNA collected when a "level up" is ready gets wasted

AaronYip says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 8:28pm

I would have really appreciated a better sense of progression and goals--maybe as simple as the background changing, cut down on transitional screens (that don't really have a purpose except to make the world bigger), or even a minimap. Something that promises exciting rewards are just around the bend.

After a while, I just didn't feel like wandering anymore (and having to release the arrow key with every screen) and stopped playing. From the other comments, it seems that I sadly missed out on many more interesting gameplay mechanics. :(

pjchardt says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 3:16am

Great music and mood.

pardue says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 3:39am

The music is really good, the graphics are neat, I did play the non-buggy version as well. Nice concept.

timtipgames says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 1:00pm

I think it takes far to long to reach rooms where something is going on. The slope room (the one with the endless-S shape that is already on the far left screenshot) was a torture ;) I wish one wouldn't have to wait so long for something to happen. And given the travel-speed it's really merely waiting. Really a pity because I liked the graphics-style and the really good music a lot. I wish this was a more exiting experience :)

Ditto says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 1:21pm

This game gives a really good vibe, eventhough I would prefer if there was some more action : P Music is pretty epic!

JonathanG says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 6:16pm

The game has quite a SNES Zelda feel to it, even the music! It's a shame that for the first few screens there isn't much to do. I like the messages in the top telling you how to play :)

RipX says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 9:48pm

VERY buggy but I was still able to kind of get around. I thought that the large environment was nice. The music was pretty good too (provided a nice atmosphere). Was put off slightly by the pace of the game, it felt a little like I was grinding just to move. But I still enjoyed it.

DaveDobson says ...
Sep 18, 2012 @ 10:36pm

I didn't see this when rating games (I quit after 100 rated), but I saw your comment on the low rating on audio - I think the music was quite good, but it was subtle, and the rest of the game doesn't have much audio in it. The overall experience was pretty slow and dull - lots of wandering around without much happening - so the quality of the audio (which is high for music but not so much for effects) doesn't really feel in-your-face the way it would if more was going on. The game is ambitious and looks good - just not that much happening to pump up the excitement, and the low audio rating is probably related to that.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]