August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Crystalbots - Moon Defense

by rynti - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Changes in the Post-Compo Build:
* Fast forward functionality (Press [SPACE] for 3x speed)
* Enhanced Visuals for building (Semi-transparent preview of the building is shown)

Please do NOT let your rating be influenced by those changes if you plan to play the Post-Compo build.


You're on the moon and try to obtain crystals for your technology.

To all players: I'd really appreciate comments with feedback, so even if you only got a few words to say or an idea that may be stupid to share, tell me about them! Every comment makes me happy as well as gives me a source to see where to improve. So, if you read this and aren't planning to comment, you should be ashamed of yourself! :o

There are a two eastereggs ingame, if you've played a Konami-game you know one and if you know the fact that Gabe Newell hates the number "three", you can guess them. (Or look into the source code ;P)

Attention: I didn't create the assets used for the eastereggs, so don't let your rating get influenced by those!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#36Fun3.74
#83Overall3.61
#106Audio3.30
#179Graphics3.45
#210Mood2.96
#456Theme2.68
#469Humor1.81
#507Innovation2.55

Comments

Sakuyan says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:26am

I really had fun playing this

mdkess says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:03am

Looks good - you built a full game here. The game was enjoyable and enticing, if a bit slowly paced for my taste. Overall, great work! Also, yay ponies!

rynti says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:07am

Thanks for your feedback, happy to hear that someone saw that easteregg ;)

turkwise says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:13am

Really well polished. Could use a way to speed up time.

johnfn says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:43am

This is a good start. The game felt solid and it's a nice step towards the TD/RTS genre (it's a little of both, I guess?).

Some stuff for improvement: I need more feedback when placing towers, like maybe transparent visuals? Also, can we speed up that timer somehow? Or just get rid of it and count down the number of monsters left?

Other than that, I like it!

rynti says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:27am

Published a Post-LD build with fast forward functionality and enhanced visuals for building, thanks to your great feedback! Keep commenting :)

Jeremy1080 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:38am

Great game! I loved the style of it, I too am a fan of TD style games :)

Bemmu says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:06am

Really enjoyed playing. It took a while to realize that you can scroll. Also when it said "sorry you lost", I could never figure out WHY I lost. I did notice there were both cyan and green things you could place, perhaps we are supposed to protect the green ones?

Keevor says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:13am

I beat it! a good balance of challenge and fun. I love it!

Keevor says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:26am

also, 1st easteregg. Awww yeah!

rynti says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:37am

Another hint for the 2nd easteregg: Type 3, uncapitalized. I hope people get it now ;)

@Keevor: I'm sooo glad you liked the balancing, I really thought a lot about how difficult I should make it and I tweaked quite a bit, I personally liked the result and I'm happy you're sharing my opinion ;)

@Bemmu: I actually wanted to create a bit of an intro with an explanatory help, but didn't have time for that. I guess I could make the reason for losing more obvious by moving the camera to the destroying crystal extractor (The "green thing" ;D) and play a bit of an explosion animation before showing the game over screen. I'll see if I'm able to obtain motivation for digging back into the code and implementing that^^

Anyways, I'm happy to see that people really enjoy this game!

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:29pm

I generally don't like this kind of games, but I enjoyed this one :)

benderbinary says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:58pm

Really fun TD variation.

Sep 2, 2012 @ 5:17pm

This was pretty good, I would suggest speeding it up but looks like you have already done that in post-compo version.

Syarahsy says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 7:10am

Tower defense! yay! Levels were different enough to offer varying challenges. I had fun!

kato9 says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 11:43pm

Really nice work. Could use a little more variety in terms of enemy types/behavior, but overall a very solid TD style game (especially for 48 hours!)

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 10:39am

Great.
May be adding more time for some "mission", it's a bit frustrating to build a set up and when big aliens arrive, the game just stop because of time.
Is the music randomly generated ?

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]