Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Species - mappum - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a sort of "horror platformer". It started out as a shooter where you are fighting off random mobs that breed and evolve, but I realized I couldn't pull that off well enough. I changed it to a shooter platformer, but realized making it scary was more fun than making it a good shooter.

It ended up kind of like Slender 2d, so I made the backstory be how the Slenderman was created.

The actual level was hurriedly made in the last few hours, so you don't really need to "beat" it for the full experience. The real feature is the mood set by the darkness and the slenderman appearing and startling you.

View mappum's journal. | View all entries by mappum

Ratings

Coolness56%
#14Mood3.96
#177Overall3.37
#265Innovation3.12
#284Graphics3.14
#286Audio2.65
#300Fun2.92
#444Theme2.71
#481Humor1.78

Comments

cacciatc says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:14am

The walking sound got a little annoying. You did a great job building tension with the lighting.

turkwise says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:22am

Not a whole lot to do but you pulled off the mood pretty well. I agree with cacciatc about the lighting.

Senekis says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:24am

Great job!
When the lights first came out I just kept walking and then I got like "Where did that thing came from?. Ok, let's just keep moving." A few seconds after "OMG, it's walking!"

I really enjoyed this game!

Brucef says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:38am

This actually did frighten me a little bit (in a good way)! I liked it. One thing that was annoying, game mechanic wise, was that I sometimes had trouble going up/down ladders. maybe that was just me though. well done, mate

pjchardt says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:39am

Agree with others, the tension is really nice. The lighting really set a nice mood, I especially enjoyed having to move my flashlight to read the text. Other than the mood, I don't think there is too much here, but sounds like you changed game mechanics a few times.

mappum says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:39am

@Brucef: Yeah, I had been meaning to fix that, but it isn't in my code, it's in the game engine I used.

Desi Quintans says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:49am

Is there anything to do after you turn the lights back on, or are you just boned for all eternity with the Slender Man right outside the door and all? :p

rynti says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:49am

Awesome! Even though the walking sounded like techno to me, the atmosphere was great. However, as soon as I noticed he doesn't harm me even if I run into him, the fear was gone... That should've been improved (Like in Slender where you die if you stay too long near him). The aprupt ending however was a bit disappointing, but hey - 48 hours! ;)

Btw. you should've used a different shadowing system. Even though something like this is used for 3D games, for 2D there are more effective and - which is more important - more beautiful, without those horrible pixel artefacts. (For instance have a look at this: http://forums.tigsource.com/index.php?topic=8803.0)

madpew says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:51am

Liked the game. I wished there were more ambient sounds / music to enhance the mood even more. Ladders are "strange" and break the mood a little. But overall I likes this game! Well done.

Baburo says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:34am

Cool idea. I loved the flashlight, even though, would've been cool to see a small area around the player with the flashlight. The creatures were cool and scary :D. Ladders didnt really work for me though, climbing them was really a pain.

juaxix says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:04pm

A lot of work, btw not my kind of favorite game, i gave it a few minutes :)

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:18pm

Wow, once the lights went out I think my heart stopped for a second - it had great atmosphere for a ludum dare game!

axcho says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:03am

I liked the mood, but found the awkward movement distracting. Later on, the pacing felt broken by how long it took to walk around, while my hand started to hurt. I also found it removed a lot of fear once it seemed that I couldn't actually get hurt.

braingale says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:05am

Definitely heavy on the mood, I got scared once or twice. Navigating ladders was not so friendly though, as was reading a few of the messages with my flashlight.

mdkess says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:05am

Great! I love the flashlight, and it's amazing that a game can actually be scary without a ton of graphical effects. Good pacing, my two criticisms: the game needs an ending, and the platforming section was a bit annoying (although not unforgivingly so). In any case, a very solid entry. Great work!

minism says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:05am

I really like the atmosphere in this game. Nicely done

Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:10am

Great game, but it was scary D:

timtipgames says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:09am

Agree that the walking sound gets a little bit annoying. I really liked the "slenderman is watching you without eyes" thing. It accomplished to actually shock me once when it suddenly appeared next to me. The sound for it was fitting very well i find. The lighting effect has some rough edges that would need some attention imho. Overall: It was fun to play, and I played it to the end :)

GreaseMonkey says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:28am

OK, first time I can be bothered rating something this LD. I don't know why, but there we go.

I'm going to rank this highly for graphics, primarily because you actually bothered to put lighting in. More games need that sort of lighting :/

Another place this ranks highly is mood. It's bad enough without sound D: D: D:

Which brings me to sound. I eventually turned it on... Basically, it works. It'd be nice to have a bit more variety, though.

I wouldn't exactly call this game "fun"; I'd rather call it "interesting". But seeing as there's no "interesting" category, I'm going to rank it in the "fun" category... Virtually no replay value, but definitely kept me playing to the end.

Innovation... I would say that the level design was actually quite boring. I usually suck at ranking this category, though.

Didn't spot much in the way of humour, so marking it N/A.

If there were a technical score, I would probably give it 4 stars: it seems to run in suprisingly smooth bursts on a single-core IA32 on Firefox 13, but the physics just feel wrong.

Definitely worth playing once.

Raptor85 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:35am

i take it it ends when you restart the power system? The game itself was good and the collisions themself worked well (seriously, most other entries i've tried you clip through walls, get stuck in floors, etc) with two somewhat major issues, jumping is like i'm wearing rocket boots on the surface of the sun i go up so fast and come back down so fast, makes it REALLY hard to control the jump. the other is the LADDERS, it's nearly random whether you sucessfully make it all the way up or down a ladder since you seem to simply lose gravity while on them. Other than that most of the rest is superb, especially the lighting effects.

I like how the guy doesnt instantly kill you too, lol, you can just totally brofist him as you walk by and keep on your business, i tried to die and the screen didnt even start to get staticy for a good 10-15 seconds. also, no, you cannot jump on his head to kill him like a goomba :/ I like how you did the effect of him only moving when not in the light also.

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 3:53am

Wow! Just wow. I started playing this and thought it was going to be a cool game and it kinda had a portal-esque vibe until *wham* light out! When that first slenderman sidled up to me and screeched I damn near hit the roof. It was, and I'm not kidding, utterly terrifying. I was scared the whole time I wandered through the empty rooms, always panicked and swaying my flashlight in every possible direction to avoid another confrontation.

When I got to the end I told Cake she had to play it, and she was scared too. We both loved the atmosphere and my god did you get the scary parts right. Amazing job you did :)

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:04am

Great job. Excellent job building up tension with level design and scaring the player. This is yet another reminder to me that I should never play Slender D:

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:10pm

Unfortunatly the audio ruined it for me, as well as the platforming section (out of place in that kind of game, and wayyy too "goofy")

Good entry, but could have been a great one.

jujule says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:25am

Like everybody else, I was really frightened end I enjoyed it but in my opinion, placement of the flash light was a show stopper when I reached the platform part. It was just frustrating.
I'd be really to give it another try with this flashlight problem solved.

Teknik says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:10pm

i loved the lighting idea, for a 2d game it was great. it was implemented really well.

lathomas64 says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 10:51pm

Is there any way to avoid or change the ending or are you doomed for that to happen?

zx81 says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 2:05pm

Really good idea. Keeping to the theme. I have enjoyed playing it.

Sep 6, 2012 @ 12:11am

JESUS BLOODY CHRIST OH GOD WHAT WAS THAT


Good work, is what I'm trying to say :)

kddekadenz says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 5:26pm

The flashlight effect was kinda cool, but it was too short and not really scary. Graphics are ok, the setting is too common in my opinion.

robcozzens says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 6:41pm

That was pretty creepy! Great job!
The ladders were tougher to use than they should have been.

Pierrec says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 7:28pm

It creeped me out!
I took some time realizing they couldn't harm me...they couldn't, right ?
I get stuck in the end...I suppose I finished the game. Not sure. At least they didn't get me

kato9 says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 11:01pm

Nice atmosphere, very cool flashlight lighting effect. Gave me a good scare too! Ladders are kind of broken, but other than that I enjoyed it.

vilya says ...
Sep 10, 2012 @ 12:45am

I was really confused by how it just stopped when you got the power back on; I think it needs a proper ending. Other than that, great job - extremely atmospheric.

sfernald says ...
Sep 10, 2012 @ 7:16am

Effective narration and tension pulled me through this game to the finish even if the platforming and ladder system was a bit annoying. To me mood is one of th most important things and you got that in spades here! Great job.

Ken Reismann says ...
Sep 10, 2012 @ 11:28pm

Not very good as a platformer (those ladders, man!) but I loved the horror aspect. Please work more on this after the compo!

nseward says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 6:03pm

I really enjoyed this. Good job on the raytracing.

goerp says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 7:41pm

Ha, this game me a fright! On a platformer! There are some great mechanics here. The flashlight is interesting although I found it very frustrating when trying to jump on small platforms. The stairs might need some tweaking too. Otherwise: very good!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]