August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Living Worlds

by ghRibacki - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are in a starship on the surface of a living planet where mountains multiply with rules based on Conway's Game of Life. Falling stars are corrupting the mountains and you need to eliminate them until the stars stop falling.

Control mode 1 (default, press '1' key):
- Shoot with the space bar;
- Move forward with the up arrow key;
- Move backwards with the down arrow key;
- Turn left with the left arrow key;
- Turn right with the right arrow key.

Control mode 2 (press '2' key):
- Aim with the cursor;
- Shoot with the main click;
- Move forward with the W key;
- Move backwards with the S key.

Rules:
- Eliminate all the corrupted mountains before the time goes out;
- New corrupted mountains will appear from falling stars and proliferate to nearby mountains.

Game over conditions and results:
- If there is no corrupted mountain on the planet, it will be filled with healthy mountains and you win;
- If there is at least one corrupted mountain on the planet, it will be filled with corrupted mountains and you lose.

This game is dedicated to my beloved girlfriend for all the love and support I can always count on.

Contact:
http://ghribacki.tumblr.com
Twitter: @ghRibacki

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#193Graphics3.40
#199Innovation3.24
#399Mood2.58
#408Fun2.72
#421Theme2.79
#442Overall2.85

Comments

aare says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:38pm

I really like the visual style of the game - it is simple, but very estetic.
It is not running very smoothly on my laptop but it has the dual radeon vide card so it might be the case,

djtjj says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:51pm

I'm a huge fan of Conway's Game of Life, so seeing it used in any way (specifically) when talking about evolution) is awesome.

For so odd reason the whole game-world was dark whenever I wasn't shooting.

tastive says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:15pm

Cool concept. Seconded about the coolness of using CGoL.

kevincorrigan says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:37pm

It wouldn't load on my computer, well, it loaded a blank screen.

Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:00am

I really liked the way the player felt they were moving across the surface of an orb; very nice. Like djtjj though, the screen was very dark for me.

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:21pm

I'm sorry to hear some of you are having problems with the game. Maybe it has something to do with the OpenGL version used (1.1 and 2.0). I don't have time to look too much into it and I don't have ways to test it (it works ok on my computer), so if you guys could tell me which OS and Java version you're using, maybe I can do something. If you can figure out if there is some exception happening (on the Java console) it would help a lot too.

I'm sorry for the bugs. =(

galman says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:01pm

Wow! Amazing idea, I also really like the use of Conway's game of life :-)

Benjamin says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 4:51am

I also had problem with light. Only working when there's at least one shot on screen. The game itself was playable but most of the time you end up destroying everything instead of taking time to aim at corrupted mountains.

Walt says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 9:04pm

worked fine on my machine.
needs more player guidance in my eyes, hard to tell where there's something to shoot and not much of a challenge there. main challenge here is rather orientation and there you're not doing much to make the player feel his progress.
technically a nice effort and generally a nice idea, i think.

Sep 4, 2012 @ 1:34pm

Just a quick message to say congrats on getting that far in Dash Dash Dash! Will check your game out tonight :)

Sep 4, 2012 @ 9:54pm

Enjoyed playing the game, sadly I don't think I won any time, got red mountains each time but it was an interesting take on the theme, as many have already said, nice integration with Conway's game of life, very fitting!

I'm not sure if there was any audio or if my version of java may have had issues but that and perhaps a scoring system or sorts would add greater replayability.

Overall a nice game which imho deserves some more time post gamejam work for the ideas to be explored further.

mohammad says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 3:51pm

I've heard of this game and wanted to play it.
Apparently it makes no sense but I REALLY liked the effort you put into here. You didn't use any engine to program your game, THAT...Must take guts! Just Java and your brains! Was random but worth playing.

PaulSB says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 10:39pm

Interesting one! I found it nigh-on impossible to keep on top of the rotten mountains but the visual style was very cool. Could have done with some camera rotation maybe.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]