August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Cave Creature

by defiantburrito - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Cave Creature is a simple RPG where you take control of a cute cave dweller, and slowly evolve him into the highest lifeform of the continent!

- Gain stats!
- Grow horns!
- Grow a tail!
- Explore a giant world map!
- Kill all the pink blobs!!!

There is no ending, so just level up until you get bored. :)

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#300Theme3.09
#428Fun2.68
#440Humor1.88
#440Mood2.50
#488Graphics2.59
#504Overall2.73
#556Innovation2.41
#618Coolness46%

Comments

DaveDobson says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:34am

This was fun! I like the gameplay; the world seemed huge. I wish there were a more convenient way to heal than running back to the cave, or that you didn't lose all your XP when dying, because that got a little frustrating. It was fun to run around and kill stuff, though. Nice work!

Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:47am

Interesting and a large area to play in.

evilseanbot says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:34am

There's something I like about the little guys eyes.

I think its hard to make running around doing short range attacks fun, but it is easier to make being a peculiar person scurrying around your cave fun. Maybe more complex cave scurrying?

Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:38am

Nice work. Combat seemed a little tricky as there didn't seem to be a way to avoid being hit back which meant I always needed to go and top up my health. Amazingly large world though and a good use of the theme. Well done.

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:33pm

I love how you can choose what upgrades :D

Pixelulsar says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:24am

I liked how large the world was, but I found it hard to do combat because it was hard to dodge enemies attacks. I liked the upgrade system.

feyleaf says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:59am

Starting off was a little challenging, but exploring the world map was rather breathtaking. My character didn't last very long before being clobbered, but the game is worth another play through later to see how far I can go.

gregdevice says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:15am

Like the large outside world. I'll have to keep playing to see what I can evolve into.

Richard Matey says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:56pm

Yeah, actually pretty fun and has the core flow of a good RPG. The world and scope is impressive for the time to make this. Couldnt find any way to replenish my health while out of the cave.

Sep 7, 2012 @ 5:30am

I wish there was more meat to the combat, especially since healing wasn't very obvious. Maybe some longer short range attacks, something like Realm of the Mad God, could give you some more involving combat mechanics. Even just separating attack direction and movement direction into to two different control sets would help a ton. Other than that, I really enjoyed it. I really loved how big the world felt, and taking the time to build a mini map feature is really cool too.

sev_inf says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 5:39am

Needs more work on combat system, I keeped returning to heal area after each 1-2 fights.

timtipgames says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 5:40am

Same here, got a little bored from the combat after a while. Also was missing some way to heal or avoid being hit more reliably. In my opinion, it doesn't matter how trivial the goal in the game might be, but you should set one.

infernet89 says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 9:59am

I found very strange the difference of graphics between the starting area and the rest of the world, but it's a nice game anyway.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]