Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Game Console Story

by Eldaryze - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I'm pleased to present my 3rd Ludum Dare entry but my 1st compo ! So, Game Console Story is a grow game. As this name implies, you'll make choices that directly affect the evolution of game consoles. You start with the Atari 2600, how far will you get to go...?

List of tools:
- FlashDevelop as Main IDE for HaXe programming using HaXeFlixel.
- VUE, for the game design.
- Photoshop and Paint for the graphics.
- Audacity and some speech software.
- Bfrx the essential and amazing sound effects tool.
- For the musics, I make a MIDI file from Python code. Then i convert it in ogg, mp3 or wav.

Don't hesitate to leave a comment, even if it's only to say you have tested the game: it is really cool to get feedback and that way, i'll can also rate your game. ;)

NB: Timelapse coming soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#83Theme3.71
#89Humor3.15
#157Audio3.08
#223Mood2.94
#296Innovation3.04
#341Overall3.04
#388Graphics2.88
#503Fun2.54
#641Coolness45%

Comments

Pierrec says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:32pm

Haha! At first we wanted to make a Grow-like with board-games, so I'm glad you've made this one!
It would be cool to know which button we can click and which we can't, also, the dialogs windows (between two console) were all blank. Is tha normal ?

Eldaryze says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:24pm

I had some internet problems and hosting issues. So the game you played wasn't the last version... Sorry for that, i hope you'll take the time to try it again. ;)

Pierrec says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:02pm

NOW IT'S A SOLID ENTRY!
Yay! History!
Yay! Humor!
The last version was made during the 48h right ? Because now I want to give you way more stars ^^

Pierrec says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:05pm

Oh...And where is the Mega-CD ?! Megadrive+CD should make the mega-CD! I have to take some stars back! (just kidding)

Eldaryze says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 4:17pm

Yes, this version was made during the 48h : i just had uploading issues.
Indeed, it lacks a lot of content : writing was more difficult than I thought, I hadn't enough time in just 2 days...

Jamin says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 3:37am

And if I put pop tarts in my N-Gage... I could get a Nyan Cat.

MurrayL says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 3:25pm

Pretty cool in its own way. I'd like to know which buttons are able to be clicked or not, though.

zx81 says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 3:27pm

I really like everything about the computers&consoles history.
Good job!

Eldaryze says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 3:53pm

@MurrayL & Pierrec: a special sound is played when trying to click a button that doesn't work. Much of the game is, I think, in testing combinations.

Spotline says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 4:14pm

Haha nice concept !

Khayet says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 5:09pm

Really nice concept and subject! It's missing some content of course like Megadrive + CD = Sega CD. The speech samples are a great idea!

SusanTheCat says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 5:11pm

I didn't know if I was trying to recreate history or make my own.
Interesting game.

csanyk says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 8:55pm

One of the more interesting entries. It's less a game and more an interactive infographic.

evilseanbot says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 5:16am

I like the concept. I'd like to play a similar game that is a bit more organic: Grabbing licenses, finding sweet price points, jumping on trends at the right time and whatnot.

jfroco says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 3:30am

Interesting. Nice music and gfx. Kudos for using Haxe!!!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]