August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Dawn

by SteelRaven7 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is Dawn! A game about self discovery and stuff. The controls and mechanics are up to you to discover yourself. (Hint: They are not complicated at all.) ((Unless you're on dvorak.)) (((Spoiler for dvorak people: theyarezandxandc)))

*See if you can find the secret easter egg also! It's pretty damn cool and explosive!*

Also, kudos if you figure out the movie that is referenced throughout the game.

EDIT: Discovered there is a way to fall out of the world. It's not intended, but I'll leave it in for funsies. It's not gamebreaking anyway, since it doesn't happen unless you're asking for it.

EDIT2: Added a link to a Let's Player / Walkthrough on youtube. I encourage y'all to try to beat it entirely without it though.

Like this game? Consider following me on twitter: @SteelRaven7 <3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#75Graphics3.90
#122Overall3.49
#160Mood3.08
#162Humor2.80
#183Innovation3.28
#199Theme3.35
#272Audio2.68
#336Fun2.85

Comments

MrOtton says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 10:05pm

This is so cool :D I really like the style

Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:53am

Pretty cool, but the whole "figure them out yourself" thing for the controls was annoying. I like the style though, and it plays well.

SteelRaven7 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:03am

Fair enough, I added a little control spoiler for the people using dvorak and azerty and whatnot, or those that simply are in a hurry.

eyehawk says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:52am

Nice graphics and style. It would be nice to have the controls though.

adventureloop says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:01am

I cant play on ox x lion. The app has died and is still bouncing with a force quit. Style looks nice though.

Desi Quintans says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:03am

Haha, great ending! Your art style is fabulous, and it played like an old-school point and click almost.

madpew says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:06am

Nice game, hard to find Z on german keyboard layout. I think I made it to the end (if that smoky stone is the end). Could be a great game if you continue working on it.

SteelRaven7 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:14am

Thanks for all the comments guys! I'd like to point out that the controls are rebindable if you download the Windows or OSX executables if you're having trouble with them.

Adventureloop, That's too bad, had someone else having the same problem yesterday. Not sure what I can do about it though since I'm using Unity :(.

Baburo says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:44am

Cool graphical style. Couldn't get past the guy with a stick, tried throwing the nut and the stick at him, but nothing.

pereubu says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:51am

very nice game, i really liked the way you added the theme to the gameplay

Misericorde says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:53am

Awesome !
I just got bored a bit at the begining, the time to learn the basics, but the endind was totally worth it.
It's a very clever way to use the theme and make a great reference.

Markavian says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:14am

Was a bit of a challenge to get past the punching guy, and I felt a bit lost hunting for materials, but you put enough visual hints in to help me along. I liked the mechanic of crafting new items from your inventory, that was novel :)

TobiasNL says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:19am

When I started yout game I had a film in mind and it actually turned out to be just that film, 2001: A space oddeysee! Nailed it!:P (yes, I've completed your game). Anyway, lovely graphical style, really. Gameplay was smooth and responsive, and the usage of the theme was brilliant. Job well done sir!

juaxix says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:49pm

I liked but how it is supposed to beat the enemy? I'm hitting with stick but he is inmortal

Vordux says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:50pm

I liked the style and the way you combined the elements of 2D and 3D, as others said however, the figuring out the controls made it frustrating. I can understand this was part of the design choice, but perhaps it would have been good to relay this information to the player in another manner that fitted with your concept.

Graphics were fun, I liked the texture, reminded me of Doom in some places for some reason.

Animations were funny as well.

Good job.

michax says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:57pm

Nice style. Thought i didn't figure out what to do to proceed. Will try later.

Nickolai51 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:15pm

That was awesome! Good work!

siondream says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:13pm

The 2D cardboard style on a 3D world looks great. I figured out the controls but didn't know what to do, sorry :-(

Ragzouken says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:15pm

I couldn't work out how to get past the other person, or to use my inventory :( It looks pretty though!

SpectreNectar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:37pm

That was sure tricky but I made it =)
Well made game but kind of non intuitive

Ditto says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:44pm

The ending was great! ^^ It took some time to figureout what Z actually did, but other then that, this game was awesome! :D

davidllanos22 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:04pm

Loved the graphics on this one! I could not get a torch to see what's inside the cave :C

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:19pm

Same as davidllanos22, can't figure out how to make a torch. :[

SteelRaven7 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:58pm

Davidllano22, DustyStylus. Assemble your stuff and muse on the problem :3.

SteelRaven7 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:59pm

Oh, and search for semi-hidden areas. Also: Grass.

Maxium says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:04pm

Graphics were good, but you should probably put in the controls next time...

Cell says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:36pm

One of the highest ratings i have given out, good work dude.

fruitfly says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:07pm

love the visual style of a somewhat "2 1/2 D" Jump-and-Run. I have to remember this for a future LD myself :-)
i dig the palm swinging with the wind!

like some others: no fan of "find out the controls for yourself". even though if you say it is not hard, think from the perspective of someone that knows nothing of the game: how do I know I have found all controls. it is always the feeling of playing the game and not having discovered all features; at least for me.

but visually a great game!

SteelRaven7 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:20pm

"it is always the feeling of playing the game and not having discovered all features; at least for me."

That's exactly what I was aiming for :). About the controls not being hard to find was the fact that they are lined up beside each other on the keyboard. I realized that many players don't have the patience to try finding them, so I added a control list (with the keys only, not the functions) on the webpage to facilitate for these people.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:38pm

Really cool! Ending was great!

NostraDamon says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:20pm

Great idea and gameplay!

Zccc says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:24pm

So nice! Good job!

LuizHGMonclar says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:36am

I'm really enjoying discovering the stuff. I actually discovered the first by accident, and the item fell right behind the first enemy so I had to restart, lol! D:

Great job!

danlthemanl says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:17am

Cool art! Controls were fine but I couldn't figure out what to do for the first guy...

daydalus says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:55am

Well done - thought the 2D + 3D style graphics were very unique and stylish. Had some trouble figuring out what to do, but thats the fun of it I suppose. Great work on this one -

Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:22am

LOL way to end it :) And definitely agree - the art style was awesome!

thewiseguy99 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:50am

nice 2.5d game but was hard to get a feel for the game. I had a lot of trouble with the guy you encounter right away. thanks for the game

Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:34pm

nice game :)

imef says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:37pm

I love the style! The graphics are just amazing!

juaxix says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:19pm

Hey, i would like to review my game, since the last time you played it has some changes, and now i send you a big salute from the other part of the world!
:D

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:21pm

Very well done, enjoyed figuring out what needed to be done :)

kato9 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:34pm

I like the visual style a lot. The puzzles are good, but the method to craft items is too convoluted, I would have given up if I hadn't read some of the comments.

My game was also inspired by a certain Kubrick movie, but more towards the end of it then the beginning :)

X-0ut says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:46am

First 10 minutes was frustrating could not work out what I had to do. Watched part of the LP and it made sense. The gfx are nice, quite technical for the time frame also.

Thurig says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:00am

Nice game! I like the ending.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:54pm

First, don't know how to interact with things is bad, but the good looking graphics make you continue anyway.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:57pm

I like the style. The game was insanely difficult, I completed none of it myself, after spending >5 minutes on each obstacle. Thought the "sitting down to think" mechanic was long winded, could have just had an instant reaction and it would have been better.

Teknik says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 4:21pm

Odd choice to make the player figure out the controls, but I liked the crafting mechanics and graphics a lot, music was good too, wish there was more!

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Sep 10, 2012 @ 2:55am

I like the combination of platforming with adventure game logic. The "figure them out yourself" did come off a little crass.

Cyboot says ...
Sep 11, 2012 @ 9:01am

nice game, neat graphics and great ending

good job!

goerp says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 12:08pm

Lovely graphics (the character looks like a character out of the Tick comics). Good puzzles, sounds were good. The thinking was an interesting new game mechanic and was well thought of (thinking takes time), but was not really intuitive for me (wating for so long). Cool ending .
This one has it all.
Really good, I'm curious what you will do next.

Misfit says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 1:15pm

Cool. I like this 2D/3D art style. Good job!

Pierrec says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 1:46pm

Very good game, but I had to look for some spoilers in the comments to finish the game. I think the thinking process is a bit too slow, I got stuck a long time just because I wasn't patient enough.

matheod says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 10:20pm

Wow, amazing graphics. But thinking make lots of time ... need to see the solution to understand i have to wait more.

Codexus says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 6:09pm

I usually like adventure games but the controls made the game rather hard to enjoy. Why not go with a standard point and click system?

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]