Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Wormelution - cappelnord - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made with Love2D. The game is about evolution, which is basically life, which is basically eat enough to find the best partner and have progeny. Your graphic card needs to support shaders and your machine shouldn't be to shabby in general. Have fun!

Controls:
Arrow keys - Move around
Hold down Left Shift - Flirt/mate
Space - Dash
S - Statistics

If your Energy runs low you'll loose Health and can die.

The Game easily gets out of Balance after some evolution cycles but well, it's a 48 hours game. Source code is a bigger mess than last time. Programming with classes isn't so bad after all ...

View cappelnord's journal. | View all entries by cappelnord

Ratings

Coolness100%
#13Theme4.25
#32Mood3.74
#36Audio3.68
#46Overall3.74
#75Graphics3.90
#145Fun3.28
#164Innovation3.35
#396Humor2.00

Comments

Beyamor says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:58am

It ran on Windows 7 for me. The background illumination was neat. After I ate a green dude, I never saw another one, which, I suppose, is natural selection at work.

headchant says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:41am

Slick graphics, very 'designery' and polished! Love the statistics and the mating sounds.

MattHartley says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:48am

Very fun, great gamaplay and graphics

Vordux says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:16pm

As others said, polished game, clean controls and style.

Good incorporation of the theme, an enjoyable experience, an intelligent design that forces the player to think about how they should interact with the ai to progress.

Dakota says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:19pm

Nice Mix of gameplay and graphical. All in All a very nice Game.

turnip says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:35pm

The mechanics and simulation were great, but it needs some sort of goal to keep you playing.

Karel says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:35pm

I really like this one a lot. Probably the best one I've tried so far. Nice work!

Lucariatias says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:36pm

Brilliant! Lovely art style, very nice sound effects and music. Felt really smooth to control and great fun to play. It's a little like Spore, but still very innovative in itself. For 48 hours, this is amazing!

DGoodayle says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:29pm

Loved it :)

Jeremias says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:32pm

Great, smooth atmosphere created with your visual style, the background music and the soundeffects.

Was fun to play, but I wished it had more variations in the attributes which can be changed, like specific "spells".

Nic job at all :)

Ragzouken says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:23pm

Quite entertaining, and a good idea for the theme :)

samoojamies says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:34pm

Wow, nice mood.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:37pm

Amazing graphic and sound design, almost realistic evolution simulation. Very well done :-)

vigrid says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:12pm

Wonderful music. Feels like a very complete game, even though the gameplay could be easily made more complex and engaging. Graphics does its job. Convert it to a phone game! Great take on the theme, too.

fhoenig says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:07am

My favorite part are the hearts. Really cute. Up rating on mood too for sure.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:34am

Very nice production. I like the art style in this and the sounds are nice and ambient. Perhaps needs more of a goal as already mentioned. Great entry though, well done.

cominu says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:16am

I love it!:D

Benjamin says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:20am

Nice work on audio it really give the game a personnal touch. The pink glowing + heart fx is a cool FX for flirting.

hansolo says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:43am

I couldn't play it on my PC, window is opening but only with a white screen.
Whatching the video was fun, wish I could play it..

cappelnord says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:59am

@hansolo I wish I could help you but I don't have a Windows machine at hand and without an error message it's kind of impossible to find a solution :-( You could install Love2D and try the Linux/Love2D Version if this works.

Wan says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:14pm

Clever one! There are big Spore influences here but the gameplay remains original, and mood of the game quite unique thanks to the nice sound landscape and good graphics.

Ths main downside is that the evolution feature seems to lack some balance, since I always end like... short, and heavy... it's hard to find someone worth mating with ;) On the opposite I found the combat aspect of the game pretty fun.

Overall it remains a solid entry, congrats.

michax says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:26pm

Smooth gameplay and nice graphics! And most important fun to play.

TinyPlatypus says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:07pm

Really interesting, nice graphics and smooth, polished gameplay!

vilya says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:22pm

I think the balance was a bit off - energy seemed to run down too quickly while just moving about, so chasing after the green guys for food was a bit pointless. I think you also have to repeat the same action (flirt, bump, etc) too many times to get a result. Adjust that & I think you'd have a pretty compelling game, because the basic mechanics are pretty sound.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:03pm

Very nice, this kind of evolution by flirting is a clever idea!

timtipgames says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 3:35pm

I don't know what it is, but I just made love with it! I really love the concept. The shaders are really nice and I like how the mechanics work. I wish it was easier to see if a mating would be beneficial, because sometimes I fell in love with a worm that looked good, but it turned out it was a really bad influence for me (but isn't that how it goes ;)). Overall: A really nice entry.

monsieur_nez says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 11:51pm

Good idea, remind me the beginning of spore

ggiraldez says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 7:36pm

(I come from your comment in my game) This is great! Love the graphics, sounds and background music. The flirting/mating idea is very interesting. I didn't like the controls much, but my opinion is obviously biased ;)

Sep 4, 2012 @ 8:59pm

Whoa, this was really cool. Nice concept and very well done. There could perhaps have been some objective other than just mate and grow, but nice job anyway.

csanyk says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 12:54am

One of the best that I've played out of this LD. Really well done.

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]