August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Project "E"

by RobProductions - 48 Hour Compo Entry

PROJECT "E"
*READ*

Non-Kongregate web player:

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/53757030/ProjectE.html

PLEASE IF YOU ARE EXPERIENCING LAG CHECK THE OPTIONS IN THE PAUSE MENU.

YOU CAN CHANGE THE SENSITIVITY IN THE PAUSE MENU.

It is optimal to play with the downloaded version.

CONTROLS:
W, A, S, D - Move
Mouse - Look
Space - Jump

DESCRIPTION:
Years in the future, you are one of the remaining humans in a strange world that is not your own. In order to save the human race, you must evolve... evolve into something bigger and better than ever before. Use evolution (and your brain) to your advantage. Good luck.

This is the first puzzle game I've made ever, hope you enjoy! :)

HINT: (if you need it)
Blue time warps give you level 2
Yellow give you level 3, etc.
Smaller levels allow you to fit in tight spaces
Larger levels allow you destroy larger cubes

PLAYTHROUGH/WALKTHROUGH BY DONTBENOOBISH:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V0sx9CVmi8M

TIMELAPSE NOW UP: (ACTION PACKED)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TqBdtfpMUvo&feature=channel&list=UL

THANKS FOR THIS WONDERFUL REVIEW BY RAW MEDIA:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y8vU6HL9OWE&feature=channel&list=UL

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#106Audio3.30
#145Mood3.11
#220Innovation3.20
#229Overall3.23
#273Humor2.36
#373Theme2.90
#379Fun2.78
#435Graphics2.73

Comments

SteelRaven7 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:20pm

It felt like a couple of the puzzles required some unecessary backtracking, and they were pretty straightforward, but that's a nice puzzle mechanic you got going on!

I think the level design could've gained from some baked lighting, since the flat shading doesn't really convey the 3d space all that well.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:40pm

Thanks for playing! I did bake the lighting, but in order to keep the shadows from making the floor completely blue, I tilted the sun to almost 90 degrees. Sorry about that!

fruitfly says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:25pm

there is a nice mood to the game. i guess it is the "snow-flakes"; feels like winter and I love winter :-)

Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:31pm

Yes I tried to give it a "cool" feeling! =] Thanks for playing, glad you enjoyed it!

Vordux says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:37pm

The overall idea behind the game is really good, it could make for a well fleshed out puzzle game if it was refined with extra mechanics.

Good game, good thought behind and also nice music and sound effects!

Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:44pm

Love the puzzle mechanics. Had to figure out how everything worked, I thought the warps where taking you to another place.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:20pm

Thanks! I probably should've added a better tutorial system. If you need help, you can check out the walkthrough (link above) or the hint text.

aare says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:46pm

Animation of evolving is confusing, it always take me a few sec to realise where am I (yes I know, in the same place as before, but anyway confusing :P).
Also the level design is strange, at least for me as it requires coming back to already visited places.
Games like portal, or q.u.b.e. acustomed me to "dashing" through the game and never go back to previous points :P

Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:10pm

Made you use your brain didn't I? :P Sorry about that! (I wasn't planning on making a puzzle game)
Thanks for playing!

LuizHGMonclar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:42pm

Man, I really liked the Level Design. It took some time for me to understand what was going on but once I did, it was just straight forward :) Great job!

Please consider inserting an Y-Axis inversion button (I'm asking this on every 3d game I play lol!)

Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:47pm

THERE IS ONE! :D Check the options in the pause menu! (I know I got a complaint last time so I added it this time around)

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:30am

I really like the size-changing concept!

Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:25pm

Thanks, but I feel graphically it could've been better.

Ragzouken says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:20pm

The jumping about when you evolve was really disorienting - I thought I was trapped in a tunnel but I was actually accidentally walking back to the start for a long time! Toning down that jump, plus some graphical variation could really help that. The footstep noise was quite annoying after a while.

The level was quite good, except sometimes you had to back track too far to shrink yourself after solving a puzzle that needed you to be big.

leafo says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:42pm

I enjoyed the timelapse :)

Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:52pm

Thanks for the comments! (Yes I worked very hard on the timelapse :D )

And if you haven't seen it yet, reader, WE'LL GET YOU. YOU'LL SEE. YOU'RE GOING TO WATCH THAT TIMELAPSE. :P

juaxix says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:07am

The kitten is the boss? XD
I like the game logic of changing size like eating a cookie in Alice from Wonderland haha
It's funny

Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:56pm

Thanks for playing! (Spot the kitten!) ;)

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 12:11am

Interesting, very interesting... I like this thing. The idea of mankind naturally evolving to become hugantic is a bit peculiar, but hey, it works. The soundtrack was a bit actiony for a puzzle game, and the grey walls often blended with other gray wall to the point of invisibility, but those are my only complaints.

Aug 31, 2012 @ 12:33pm

Glad you enjoyed!

Sep 3, 2012 @ 10:51am

Absolutely LOVE the music. It's a wonderful track!

The game-idea is solid too. Graphics are adequate.

Gameplay and level-design could use a bit tweaking, though. It doesn't really become clear what is happening, and the text-explanations is way too fast, cryptic and doesn't help.

Sep 3, 2012 @ 2:56pm

Thanks for playing! I know I couldn't really get the effect of growing to work without breaking the game. (Falling through the floor) And I had planned for the text to be more ominous but I guess I didn't add enough... emotion maybe.

vilya says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 1:34am

I like the puzzle mechanic you've got there & it fits the theme really well. Great to see a well implemented tutorial too!

I thought the movement speed was a bit low and it's disorienting getting thrown into the air when you pass through an evolution gate.

Overall though, definitely a thumbs up from me!

mohammad says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 4:39am

hey man really liked your game was cool liked the concept and all keep it up!

lekochen says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 3:12pm

Love the music.

mohammad says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 11:31pm

@Puzzlem00n
We can always change back :3

RawBits says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 11:51pm

Hey! Pretty nice First Person Puzzler you made! :D I liked it. A little slow for me as I was playing Quake III intensly back then. Good gfx, particles are going through the walls though. You even have very good music. My blood pressure went up a lot on the jumping part because of it. :)

Sep 6, 2012 @ 9:16pm

Thanks everyone! Glad you enjoyed! <3

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 6:43am

Very nice music and atmosphere. I felt like Godzilla when I was very large and crushing the angry blocks. The particle effects got a bit repetitive after a while.

timtipgames says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 12:19pm

This was fun playing! I agree with some of the comments, it was a bit too easy and some backtracking parts made me wish there was a sprint-key :) Beside that, the simple and clean style together with the good music created a nice trip :) Good job!

Sep 17, 2012 @ 10:09pm

Glad you liked it! :D Yeah the backtracking was the easiest way to add a puzzle element to the game :3

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]