August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Candy Hill

by CaptainIcy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So... this is my game. :P I just ran out of time (as usual) and didn't get to complete my full vision for this game. It's got some bugs, couple of things that really hinder the experience including a kinda game-breaking problem, but it is avoidable.
Anyway, submitting it now since I don't want to be a loser and postpone for the Jam. :3

The theme was Evolution so I took it at its simplest form.

In this game you're on an erm... Candy Hill, and you control a little ball. As you collect various candy you get bigger (you "evolve"), but you are also constantly shrinking, so keep collecting the candy to keep going. You also should be wary to not let the ball get too big, as you will lose if you get to a certain size. (It will say "Warning!" if you're close to losing) You also lose if you let the ball get too small, too, of course. ;)

All in all, I'm happy I participated in LD24. Learned a bit, had a lot of fun, didn't sleep (xD), and came out alive with a pretty good little game. Could be much better, yes. Rushed, yes. I will keep working on it and release an enhanced version sooner or later.

Enjoy, hope you all enjoyed LD24.

Controls:
Move: Left/Right Arrows
Jump: Space/Up
Goal: Collect candy to let the ball get larger, don't let it get too big and of course, not too small or you lose. Also, don't collect the evil tomatoes or the ball's size will decrease quite a bit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#150Humor2.86
#215Fun3.10
#221Audio2.83
#235Mood2.92
#291Graphics3.13
#432Overall2.87
#536Innovation2.47
#628Theme2.17

Comments

ASOT says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:09am

Hahah. More fun than I expected! The stacks of fruit definitely show themselves after it's too late to do anything about it though. Wonderful physics and pretty graphics.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:09am

Loved the nyancat shooting through. You did an awesome job with the art and feel of the game, just needs some more time to clean up gameplay and bugs.

Yngar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:13am

But I love tomatoes!

mutuware says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:15am

Don't like the dying when getting too big!

annachristie says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:30am

I really like the concept you have here. Lovely graphics and the music is nice enough. :) A couple of glitches, like tomatoes generating too suddenly to dodge or generating too closely together to jump over. But overall, this is really entertaining, even addicting, little game!

CaptainIcy says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:44pm

Thanks, everyone. I did like the art style I went with!
And yes, lack of time to finish it is what made it not quite as good as it could've been. Needed to fix the collisions between the candy/tomatoes too, but lack of time... ;)

Just noticed a new bug that got past me somehow. When you lose and you "play again", as soon as you collect a powerup after that you cannot jump very high at all. So it's best to refresh the page and reload the entire game to get the most out of your multiple plays… Working on fixing that bug in a new version.

CaptainIcy says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:10pm

Hmm, that's weird. Seems I was wrong about this bug. It was of my own doing in my post-LD project, haha. It's perfectly fine in the LD48 version above. So disregard that bug report...

Zakalicious says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:55pm

One word. Nyan cat

nuria says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:05pm

Nice little game, I like the graphics and the randomness. I think all candies should have the same basic design, though. When the tall one appears you don't know if it's good or bad at first. Also, it should be the other way around, you should avoid candy and eat tomatoes! :p

LuizHGMonclar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:30pm

Lol for Nyan Cat! I liked it, dude, just wish the controls were a little tighter. The ball feels too heavy :}

Good job!

Toby says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:35pm

The cat is AWESOME!

kirill says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:47am

Nice game. Liked the audio.

brother.byto says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:53pm

Nice little game.

First i thought, the ball is only shrinking when rolling, or moving in general, but the shrinking depends on the time.

And tomatoes are not that evil ;)

cadin says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:10pm

This turned out to be pretty fun once I got into it. My high score was 1188. Nice job!

goffmog says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 11:56am

Lovely little game, well done, nice to see a level of polish too - I have to start making simpler games in future.

MurrayL says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 4:46pm

Dave says: Fun little game! The music was nice. Only thing I found was that the ball controls felt a little floaty.

azurenimbus says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 9:18pm

I felt a certain desire to go to the grocery store and acquire some unhealthy products after playing this game.

It's fun, and you did well not to give up the 48h (I, on the other hand, am a "loser" and did just that... in the end the game turned out incomplete anyway :D). If you're at all interested, my suggestion is working on tighter controls for the ball, to make it less frustrating.

See you next time!

pardue says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 12:00am

Pretty fun game, although I hate to see tomatoes vilified :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]