August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Future Rabbit

by airdeck - Jam Entry

My first Ludum Dare entry!

Controls:

Use A & D to run forward and backwards. Press W to jump up and S to jump down. Collect as many carrots as possible while avoiding collecting turnips. Your evolved ears let you hear different vegtable in the ground. Items that are too deep will be unidentifiable, but if you further evolve your ears you'll be able to hear deeper. Look out for crabs roaming the tunnels - the space bar shoots laser from the rabbit's eyes. Collect Science Carrots to upgrade your features. Access the features upgrade window by pressing Enter/Return.

About:

The game takes place in the future where rabbits have evolved into the dominant species. Almost every graphic is a unique, individual cross-stitch, except for one or two simulated UI pieces.

Development: Eric Decker
Graphics (Cross Stitch): Erin Gregory

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#10Graphics(Jam)4.48
#41Mood(Jam)3.40
#45Overall(Jam)3.53
#60Humor(Jam)3.00
#78Innovation(Jam)3.16
#96Fun(Jam)3.08
#121Theme(Jam)2.85
#208Audio(Jam)1.45

Comments

Glamdring says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:50am

Holy wow this game is adorable. Also fun. Also well-made. A+, will play again.

TravisChen says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:51am

The cross stitch is brilliant! Awesome idea.

nseward says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:55am

I adore this game. It was simple to play but I just wanted to keep playing.

axcho says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:25am

Awesome graphics! :D I like the simplicity of the gameplay, the nice way it fits together. And the cute humor of the story and setting is nice too.

eli says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:30am

Love the graphic style and the concept!! Needs challenge beyond being able to tap space quickly.

Ragzouken says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:55am

The graphical idea is great! Black turnips are a little hard to see though.

dick_claus says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:12pm

This game is addictive. And it took me 10 restarts to realize how to kill crabs. Space bar was mentioned in middle of the text. But who does read texts in games?
But anyway it's awesome.

Skulls says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:37am

Art style was very original and appealing to the eyes. I felt like I needed a turbo like they have on some controllers to really shoot those eye beams and I dislike having to repeatedly tap spacebar to shoot. Evolution mechanic was cool too.

alvivar says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:05am

Awesome art!

Switchbreak says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:07am

I really love the way the game looks. The jump up/down animations seem to be off center from the running sprite which is really confusing until you start adjusting for it. I wish there was more to do to fight the crabs besides run straight towards them shooting.

michax says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:04am

Awesome idea with graphics style! Enjoyed gameplay as well. Smooth.

bobiniki says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 3:46pm

Wow great graphics!!!

Sep 1, 2012 @ 7:03pm

Awesome game, brilliant cross-stitch graphics and the gameplay was pretty fun. Nice idea that your skills don't reset when dying.

thewiseguy99 says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 11:17pm

What a cute game! Love the cross stitch graphics. Very cool. Fun gameplay, smooth controls. Most enjoyable. Great job!

Sep 3, 2012 @ 5:12am

Oh my god the world needs more cross stitch games!
My best score was 114 carrots and 39 crabs dead.
I enjoyed the sunrise and sunset, a simple but cool touch.
The story didn't fit well with the actual game, but that's forgivable. Best game I've played so far, even without sound.

evilseanbot says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 6:34am

Kudos to using an interesting medium. The upgrades besides the first couple hearing ones seem a little unrewarding.

Huitre says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 4:25pm

Nice idea for graphics, but I hoped that would be a bit more exploited... like really being in a canvas and not just replacing pixels by cross stitch. Next time !

Misfit says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 4:39pm

This art style is awesome.

vilya says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 4:48pm

Wow, brilliant art style! Nice simple game mechanics, easy to understand and play. Shame there was no sound - when you mentioned being able to hear the carrots deep underground, I thought there'd be some sound effects for them. But overall it's a great package - I'm really impressed!

cadin says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 6:17pm

Love the cross-stitch graphics. Great idea. The gameplay is a little too easy. And it really needs sound. Nice work!

Puzzlem00n says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 8:29pm

Cross-stitch should definitely stay for the next game. Very memorable. At first, I forgot all about upgrades, and just let my science carrots sit there. Then, I read the instructions again and went "OH!" So I played it again, and it seemed like a much better game already.

By the way, I noticed one time that a turnip generated right on top of a carrot, occupying the same space. I figured you'd like to know about that glitch.

tcstyle says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 8:47pm

Awesome idea for the visuals. The gameplay is also pretty nice but get's a little boring quite fast.

Zccc says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 9:17pm

Great visual idea... And it's fun to play.

jplur says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 9:29pm

amazing graphics, you should use the cross stitch thing in more projects!

marudziik says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 12:22am

The looks are stunning. Amazing. The gameplay could use some more variety, but it's a great entry anyway. Great piece of work!

RosyPenguin says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 3:58am

Very refreshing art style, I love it! Only complaint I have is I wish there was a color distinction between the text for picking up carrots and picking up turnips.

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 4:47am

Really cute game!!! Although I found the sharp contrast of the stitching to be a bit visually overwhelming sometimes, I think it's adorable to have made a game based off of that aesthetic! The game itself was fun. I had a lot of fun just spam pressing the shoot bar and trying to evolve my bunny. Maybe you can have some sort of limiter to the shoot button, since I just kept twitch-pressing it throughout the game haha. Great work! It looks lovely!

bvanschooten says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 6:35pm

Great work! I always wondered what a cross-stitched game would look like. The stitchwork looks pretty seamless, which I thought would be hard to get right. I found the gameplay gets boring quickly however, it needs just a little extra strategy element.

Jedi says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 9:52am

Using cross-stitch for a game is brilliant! It's obvious that a lot of work went into this, in a lot of areas! Kudos for pulling it off!
The text effect is so good that the first time I saw the first instruction page, I thought, "Oh wow, I can't believe somebody stitched together this WHOLE PAGE of text!" ;)

I also like the obvious thought that went into the gameplay; like how you keep your upgrades after dying, and how turnips don't affect your science carrots, so you can choose to ignore the "score" at first and just grab every black carrot.

I know a TON of work went into it, but this game is not without it's flaws, and I wouldn't be giving you good feedback if I just said what I love. Especially if you want to take this game farther, and I hope you do. Here's what I didn't like:

By leaps and bounds, my biggest complaint is the ground texture. I know that's going to be hard to hear: I can tell how much work went into it and I really like how it's made from random tiles and therefore, isn't a repeating pattern. However, it's totally visually overstimulating!

It's also the only graphic that has a pixel-perfect edge and not the ragged, cross-stitch edge that the other graphics had. So it ruins the overall cross-stitch illusion that's otherwise present.

Another visual complaint is that your game doesn't use VSYNC, so I can see the level being redrawn and it's quite distracting, particularly when the rabbit starts running faster. I would guess that all of those background tiles are slowing the framerate down.

I also felt that upgrades didn't have enough appreciable improvement, particularly the eye upgrade.

Lastly, the game is really hard to get into and understand everything that's going on, for some reason. You can't really grasp it from reading the instructions first and you really have to go back to the instructions after playing it to get everything. I actually didn't realize I was missing something until I read Puzzlem00n's comment.

Please don't let my complaints discourage you because overall, you did an amazing job!

Mago says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 12:02pm

The graphic style is awesome and game is awesome too! Great Job!

Pierrec says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 6:35pm

Wow.
We thought we were badasses by making a game in stop-motion, but you're the true badasses. This is really impressive! The game is good, not excellent, but just good enough to be enjoyed, but seriously...WHO CARES ? It's a game in cross-stich! I would love it even it the gameplay were horrible!
Reminds me Six Shots of Whiskey...obviously because it's made with cross-stich too (http://nifflas.ni2.se/?page=Miscellaneous )
Seriously, congrats!

BNeutral says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 4:15am

The graphics are lovely.
Although, it would have probably been easier to recolor the fabric digitally somehow, I can't believe you actually did the cross stitch.

repstyle says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 12:41pm

Really cute graphics in this game.

But, i played enough to don't entertained all the game and after i become frutated because the 2nd King Crab can't be killed.

Why ? I molested my spacebar to shoot at maximum rate all along the game (exhausting yeah) and the 2nd crab killed me.

Conclusion, you probably invested many times in very nice graphics but the gameplay suffer of this to keep us playing.

And i can't see the relationship with the theme.

Andy Go says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 1:40pm

Beautiful ...

juaxix says ...
Sep 14, 2012 @ 6:47pm

All looks like cloth, I end up with a strange desire of seeing a world being tailored, with crabs and rabbits and queens :)

Lacutis says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 5:37pm

The art in this game was obviously great. Having to hit spacebar repeatedly to shoot was kind of a pain. The concept was good although I think it was loosely coupled to the evolution concept. Really good for your first ludum entry. Keep it up!

frogmaster says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 8:13am

I really like the graphics. Great idea!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]