August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

MuTaTrIs

by yosh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Everyone knows the world-famous Tetris.

What if blocks could change over time? What if those blocks were... mutating?

Be careful while making lines, now the rules are changing!

A line containing a GREEN square will add something on the next block pattern... and a line containing a RED square will remove a part of the next block pattern.

Note that any modified pattern will REMAINED CHANGED until the next mutation!!

Review your strategies and do the best score.

PRESS 'SPACE' TO ROTATE THE BLOCK.
PRESS 'ARROW KEY' TO MOVE LATERALLY ('DOWN' TO FALL FASTER)
PRESS 'P' TO PAUSE THE GAME.
PRESS 'R' TO RESTART.

This game was written in HTML5/Javascript/CSS3.
(No specific framework nor library, it's my home-made engine).

============================================
PLEASE READ BELOW:

Known issues:
- Doesn't work with Firefox (yet), please see below if you want to learn more and why not try to help me out
* - The Firefox version will load the game even if the musics and sounds are not (this can result in no musical effects while playing)
- Black/White screen on startup (it's actually the loading screen)
- Can be very laggy on some computers (the code will be compressed soon)
- No menu/title

Feel free to report any bugs or problems you met :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#124Audio3.21
#124Overall3.48
#127Innovation3.48
#140Fun3.30
#146Theme3.50
#362Mood2.66
#387Humor2.04
#388Graphics2.88

Comments

Leebo86 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:12pm

Sounds really interesting, but the game didn't load for me. Using Firefox 14.0.1

yosh says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:34pm

Thanks for the feedback. This problem appears on non-chrome browser so far.

I think it's something wrong with the music file sizes. The loading script sometimes abort for no reason. I have to figure out what's wrong with it.

Leebo86 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:51pm

I tried opening it on Chrome and got the same thing. My Chrome says it's up-to-date. Maybe it's my computer?

gnx says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:07pm

Nice spin on classic tetris. Sideways motion is a bit too sensitive, I had some trouble lining up my pieces even with single key presses.

Loaded fine for me in Chrome/win7.

Nile says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 10:59pm

Loaded fine for me in the latest version of Chrome in Ubuntu 11.10. Interesting spin on tetris but it didn't seem like the mutations did very much. Cool concept though.

yosh says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 2:12am

Ok guys I switched the audio library to Buzz (http://buzz.jaysalvat.com/) that I should have REALLY used before.

Firefox doesn't support MP3, therefore I'm using the OGG format, however, I still have HTTP 206 status. (And not anymore with Safari).

I will try to find a workaround for Firefox users (the best I can imagine so far is to play it locally with .wav music files). I'll let you know soon.

Also @gnx: I reduced the sideways motion a little bit :)

Thanks for the feedback and enjoy!

yosh says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 2:28am

Just figured out that there's an issue with Buzz and Firefox >.<
https://github.com/jaysalvat/buzz/issues/13

yosh says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 3:44am

Updated this entry with a Firefox online version (music are loaded while the game is running). Sorry for the inconvenience :)

clowerweb says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 6:27am

Thanks for this great game! Very fun, I'm enjoying it a lot. Bookmarked!

Evil Cult says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 7:10am

Nice solid game. I agree with the sideways motion being a bit too sensitive but other than that this is really well polished and quite fun :)

eyehawk says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:17am

I liked the music and the background - it's an interesting take on an age old formula. If you could do a little bit more with the mutation twist I think the game would be even better. As it was I thought it was ok, but not compelling enough to play for long.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 9:05am

I though tetris could be nasty but this MuTaTris is even more.
Concept idea is clever, and the realisation is great.
It miss maybe some kind of little animation showing the evolution of the block pattern.

Definitively working better on Chrome.

juaxix says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 1:22pm

27 lines until the genetics break my tetris XD
I love tetris as any human being, if you update the generation algorithm to make blocks with more compatibility with the board, it would be a very addictive game :)

Leebo86 says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 4:07pm

Yay, finally got to try it out! Pretty sweet. =)

dj_pale says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 11:05pm

Nice implementation, good difficulty scaling. Nice with real sounds and music as well.

Wan says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 11:26pm

Nice variation of the good old Tetris!

Compared to usual implementations, the controls here might feel a bit "heavy" (nb: played on FF), otherwise it's all good. It's pretty fun to see the shapes progressively turning into a huge mess.

csanyk says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 11:52pm

Really awesome game. I get the mutation but I don't know that it actually evolves. Still, it's very well done and fun to play.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 11:53pm

Wow! Innovative take on an old classic.

yettatore says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 11:56pm

This Tetratroll is awesome! Good destroy-make!

zakchaos says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 11:57pm

Easily one of the best entries i've played yet. Wow, subtle and brilliant interpretation of the theme, and genius innovation on a classic, Well done!

Zelen3d says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 1:31am

This is like tetris with WTF blocks! Nice concept and nice game. To prevent lag you should probably have an option to disable the background radial gradient.

firehand94 says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 1:54am

A great spin on my favorite game

magicdweedoo says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 1:59am

very nice idea !

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 2:23am

Nice game! I didn't realize how the pieces changed over time until I played it. It makes everything a lot more challenging!

Extra points for making-off picture. =D

DaveDobson says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 2:42am

Interesting game. My first mutation was the long pieces, which was really bad - made the game near-impossible! Well programmed, looks sharp, music good. I don't really think this is an improvement over regular Tetris, but it's an interesting idea, and fits the theme in a way. Nice work.

Benjamin says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 3:21am

This is brillant.
I was unsure but music is changing when you reach the top of the screen isn't it ?
It lacks interactivity on the evolution mechanic. I have to make line to survive so red and green dot could as well be triggered at random it would not change the evolving rate.
Maybe a bomb dot that destroy green and red dot when triggered on line would give me the feeling I can control it.
And also in late game you really need to know the shapes of your 6 pieces. So you don't wait forever for a line that don't exist anymore :)

-- best score 2369 --

Sep 3, 2012 @ 3:28am

Very cool game! My only complaint is that the (awesome) background music was very quiet! An interesting take on the theme!

Sep 5, 2012 @ 7:13am

Interesting twist for Tetris! It played very well, I didn't have problem with the controls, also, the music was great!

And apparently I still suck at playing Tetris, argh.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]